Quantcast
subscriber help

movies matter | criticism by maryann johanson

The Great Wall movie review: not to be torn down

Fri Feb 17 2017, 11:21am | 5 comments

XX movie review: women filmmakers bring a feminine bent to horror

Fri Feb 17 2017, 12:49am | 1 comment

Fifty Shades Darker movie review: where is the fantasy?

Tue Feb 14 2017, 11:13am | 36 comments

Prevenge movie review: baby bump off

Mon Feb 13 2017, 03:37pm | 1 comment

Strad Style documentary review: a heart full of violins (#Slamdance2017)

Wed Feb 08 2017, 08:18pm | 0 comments

The Lego Batman Movie review: give a minifig

Tue Feb 07 2017, 08:31pm | 17 comments

20th Century Women movie review: sometimes it’s hard to be a woman

Tue Feb 07 2017, 12:49pm | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 06 2017, 06:42pm | 0 comments

A Good American documentary review: 9/11 didn’t have to happen

Thu Feb 02 2017, 08:51pm | 24 comments

The Salesman movie review: marriage, Iranian style

Wed Feb 01 2017, 04:16pm | 0 comments

Denial movie review: a film for the resistance

Mon Jan 30 2017, 10:14pm | 0 comments

The White King movie review: a boy’s-eye view on dystopia

Thu Jan 26 2017, 10:26pm | 0 comments

Under the Shadow movie review: evil on the wind, and in the home

Thu Jan 26 2017, 08:18pm | 0 comments

Gold movie review: this mine is tapped out

Wed Jan 25 2017, 12:49pm | 0 comments

Split movie review: time for another round of “What the Hell Was M. Night Shyamalan Thinking?”

Tue Jan 24 2017, 08:16pm | 9 comments

Antarctica: Ice and Sky (aka Ice and the Sky) (La glace et le ciel) documentary review: how we know we are burning the planet

Fri Jan 20 2017, 08:54pm | 0 comments

The Founder movie review: look at what the golden arches hath wrought

Mon Jan 16 2017, 09:36pm | 4 comments

The Bye Bye Man movie review: don’t think it, don’t say it, don’t see it

Mon Jan 16 2017, 03:44pm | 9 comments

La La Land movie review: city of stars, shining just for us

Fri Jan 13 2017, 10:35pm | 11 comments

Zero Days documentary review: the code war has begun

Thu Jan 12 2017, 12:58pm | 5 comments

Silence movie review: not golden

Mon Jan 09 2017, 07:29pm | 22 comments

Live by Night movie review: criminal tedium

Thu Jan 05 2017, 08:43pm | 5 comments

Operation Avalanche movie review: to the moon?

Thu Jan 05 2017, 03:18pm | 10 comments

Monster Trucks movie review: what a car-tastrophe

Wed Jan 04 2017, 08:43pm | 7 comments

A Monster Calls movie review: the monster is within us all

Tue Jan 03 2017, 09:37pm | 11 comments

Collateral Beauty movie review: there is no beauty in this

Thu Dec 29 2016, 09:59pm | 13 comments

Passengers movie review: lost in sexist space

Sat Dec 24 2016, 10:56pm | 351 comments

Hidden Figures movie review: triumph of the black girl geeks

Thu Dec 22 2016, 08:56pm | 21 comments

Sing movie review: hey, kids, let’s put on a show!

Mon Dec 19 2016, 01:07pm | 3 comments

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story movie review: the high price of hope

Fri Dec 16 2016, 02:57pm | 31 comments

Office Christmas Party movie review: messtivities

Tue Dec 13 2016, 10:45pm | 3 comments

Best and Most Beautiful Things documentary review: hacking “normal”

Thu Dec 08 2016, 10:35am | 1 comment

Frank & Lola movie review: the pain of men (it’s all women’s fault)

Thu Dec 08 2016, 08:49am | 4 comments

Miss Sloane movie review: what a piece of work is she

Mon Dec 05 2016, 10:59pm | 1 comment

Sully movie review: he’s good people (and so is everyone else)

Fri Dec 02 2016, 06:24pm | 7 comments

Chi-Raq movie review: sex as a weapon of peace

Thu Dec 01 2016, 08:38pm | 0 comments

The Edge of Seventeen movie review: bleed for this

Thu Dec 01 2016, 02:53pm | 10 comments

Lo and Behold, Reveries of the Connected World documentary review: digital crazy quilt

Tue Nov 29 2016, 09:47pm | 1 comment

A United Kingdom movie review: a love that changed the world

Fri Nov 25 2016, 06:29pm | 6 comments

Bad Santa 2 movie review: been there, done that, licked the candy cane lasciviously

Thu Nov 24 2016, 02:52pm | 0 comments

Nanny Culture documentary review: not exactly Mary Poppins

Thu Nov 24 2016, 01:06pm | 0 comments

Moana movie review: the hero with a thousand faces finally has a female one

Tue Nov 22 2016, 01:02pm | 7 comments

Allied movie review: movie spies with delicious old-fashioned mystique

Mon Nov 21 2016, 02:08pm | 4 comments

A Street Cat Named Bob movie review: pussyfooting around reality

Fri Nov 18 2016, 09:35pm | 0 comments

The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble documentary review: stronger and (more danceable) together

Fri Nov 18 2016, 04:05pm | 0 comments

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie review: reparo movens ad imaginem

Thu Nov 17 2016, 10:22pm | 22 comments

Moonlight movie review: the empathy machine in action (but only if you’re watching)

Wed Nov 16 2016, 04:44pm | 16 comments

Bleed for This movie review: entirely bloodless

Mon Nov 14 2016, 08:28pm | 1 comment

Arrival movie review: how to talk to aliens and expand your consciousness

Tue Nov 08 2016, 10:11pm | 70 comments

Fire Song movie review: finding a path through a broken world

Tue Nov 08 2016, 02:33pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest