Quantcast
subscriber help

by maryann johanson, liberal movie person

The Founder movie review: look at what the golden arches hath wrought

Mon Jan 16 2017, 09:36pm | 4 comments

The Bye Bye Man movie review: don’t think it, don’t say it, don’t see it

Mon Jan 16 2017, 03:44pm | 5 comments

La La Land movie review: city of stars, shining just for us

Fri Jan 13 2017, 10:35pm | 11 comments

Zero Days documentary review: the code war has begun

Thu Jan 12 2017, 12:58pm | 5 comments

Silence movie review: not golden

Mon Jan 09 2017, 07:29pm | 21 comments

Live by Night movie review: criminal tedium

Thu Jan 05 2017, 08:43pm | 5 comments

Operation Avalanche movie review: to the moon?

Thu Jan 05 2017, 03:18pm | 10 comments

Monster Trucks movie review: what a car-tastrophe

Wed Jan 04 2017, 08:43pm | 7 comments

A Monster Calls movie review: the monster is within us all

Tue Jan 03 2017, 09:37pm | 11 comments

Collateral Beauty movie review: there is no beauty in this

Thu Dec 29 2016, 09:59pm | 13 comments

Passengers movie review: lost in sexist space

Sat Dec 24 2016, 10:56pm | 351 comments

Hidden Figures movie review: triumph of the black girl geeks

Thu Dec 22 2016, 08:56pm | 19 comments

Sing movie review: hey, kids, let’s put on a show!

Mon Dec 19 2016, 01:07pm | 3 comments

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story movie review: the high price of hope

Fri Dec 16 2016, 02:57pm | 31 comments

Office Christmas Party movie review: messtivities

Tue Dec 13 2016, 10:45pm | 3 comments

Best and Most Beautiful Things documentary review: hacking “normal”

Thu Dec 08 2016, 10:35am | 1 comment

Frank & Lola movie review: the pain of men (it’s all women’s fault)

Thu Dec 08 2016, 08:49am | 4 comments

Miss Sloane movie review: what a piece of work is she

Mon Dec 05 2016, 10:59pm | 1 comment

Sully movie review: he’s good people (and so is everyone else)

Fri Dec 02 2016, 06:24pm | 7 comments

Chi-Raq movie review: sex as a weapon of peace

Thu Dec 01 2016, 08:38pm | 0 comments

The Edge of Seventeen movie review: bleed for this

Thu Dec 01 2016, 02:53pm | 10 comments

Lo and Behold, Reveries of the Connected World documentary review: digital crazy quilt

Tue Nov 29 2016, 09:47pm | 1 comment

A United Kingdom movie review: a love that changed the world

Fri Nov 25 2016, 06:29pm | 6 comments

Bad Santa 2 movie review: been there, done that, licked the candy cane lasciviously

Thu Nov 24 2016, 02:52pm | 0 comments

Nanny Culture documentary review: not exactly Mary Poppins

Thu Nov 24 2016, 01:06pm | 0 comments

Moana movie review: the hero with a thousand faces finally has a female one

Tue Nov 22 2016, 01:02pm | 7 comments

Allied movie review: movie spies with delicious old-fashioned mystique

Mon Nov 21 2016, 02:08pm | 1 comment

A Street Cat Named Bob movie review: pussyfooting around reality

Fri Nov 18 2016, 09:35pm | 0 comments

The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble documentary review: stronger and (more danceable) together

Fri Nov 18 2016, 04:05pm | 0 comments

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie review: reparo movens ad imaginem

Thu Nov 17 2016, 10:22pm | 22 comments

Moonlight movie review: the empathy machine in action (but only if you’re watching)

Wed Nov 16 2016, 04:44pm | 16 comments

Bleed for This movie review: entirely bloodless

Mon Nov 14 2016, 08:28pm | 1 comment

Arrival movie review: how to talk to aliens and expand your consciousness

Tue Nov 08 2016, 10:11pm | 34 comments

Fire Song movie review: finding a path through a broken world

Tue Nov 08 2016, 02:33pm | 0 comments

The Uncondemned documentary review: the horrors of Rwanda, on trial

Mon Nov 07 2016, 05:34pm | 0 comments

The Accountant movie review: by the numbers but outside the lines

Fri Nov 04 2016, 05:26pm | 0 comments

Girls Lost (Pojkarna) movie review: girls found

Fri Nov 04 2016, 01:01pm | 0 comments

The Eagle Huntress documentary review: badass girl is badass even without embellishments to her story (#LFF2016)

Thu Nov 03 2016, 06:15pm | 0 comments

Before the Flood documentary review: DiCaprio takes celebrity climate-change advocacy to a new level (#LFF2016)

Wed Nov 02 2016, 12:54pm | 0 comments

Michael Moore in TrumpLand movie review: hope and humanity in a dark hour

Mon Oct 31 2016, 08:14pm | 2 comments

You’ve Been Trumped and You’ve Been Trumped, Too documentaries review: Donald Trump is no friend to “the little people”

Mon Oct 31 2016, 01:56pm | 11 comments

Aquarius movie review: home is where the fight is

Fri Oct 28 2016, 08:58pm | 0 comments

Trolls movie review: you can’t stop the cute

Fri Oct 28 2016, 08:04pm | 3 comments

Doctor Strange movie review: even Marvel is now tired of origin stories

Thu Oct 27 2016, 02:31pm | 82 comments

Ordinary World (aka Geezer) movie review: from manchild to midlife crisis

Wed Oct 26 2016, 07:12pm | 3 comments

Autumn Lights movie review: women make men feel things

Wed Oct 26 2016, 02:57pm | 0 comments

I, Daniel Blake movie review: this is our shame

Tue Oct 25 2016, 12:05pm | 2 comments

Keeping Up with the Joneses movie review: no, let them go

Mon Oct 24 2016, 03:52pm | 1 comment

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back movie review: don’t go back for the sequel

Wed Oct 19 2016, 04:45pm | 10 comments

Inferno movie review: let’s run through the museum!

Mon Oct 17 2016, 06:59pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest