Quantcast
subscriber help

artisanal film reviews | by maryann johanson

Best and Most Beautiful Things documentary review: hacking “normal”

Thu Dec 08 2016, 10:35am | 0 comments

Lo and Behold, Reveries of the Connected World documentary review: digital crazy quilt

Tue Nov 29 2016, 09:47pm | 0 comments

Nanny Culture documentary review: not exactly Mary Poppins

Thu Nov 24 2016, 01:06pm | 0 comments

The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble documentary review: stronger and (more danceable) together

Fri Nov 18 2016, 04:05pm | 0 comments

The Uncondemned documentary review: the horrors of Rwanda, on trial

Mon Nov 07 2016, 05:34pm | 0 comments

The Eagle Huntress documentary review: badass girl is badass even without embellishments to her story (#LFF2016)

Thu Nov 03 2016, 06:15pm | 0 comments

Before the Flood documentary review: DiCaprio takes celebrity climate-change advocacy to a new level (#LFF2016)

Wed Nov 02 2016, 12:54pm | 0 comments

Michael Moore in TrumpLand movie review: hope and humanity in a dark hour

Mon Oct 31 2016, 08:14pm | 2 comments

You’ve Been Trumped and You’ve Been Trumped, Too documentaries review: Donald Trump is no friend to “the little people”

Mon Oct 31 2016, 01:56pm | 11 comments

#LFF2016: Ma’ Rosa, Pyromaniac, All This Panic

Thu Sep 29 2016, 02:24pm | 0 comments

#LFF2016: A Date for Mad Mary, Chasing Asylum, The Dreamed Ones

Tue Sep 20 2016, 06:41pm | 0 comments

The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years documentary review: yeah yeah yeah

Thu Sep 15 2016, 12:44pm | 13 comments

Starving the Beast documentary review: the deliberate dumbing down of the American university

Fri Sep 09 2016, 10:35pm | 3 comments

Floyd Norman: An Animated Life documentary review: meet the “wise old man” of Disney

Fri Aug 26 2016, 09:23pm | 1 comment

Miss Sharon Jones! documentary review: get up, get on back up

Fri Jul 29 2016, 06:57pm | 2 comments

Love Between the Covers documentary review: respect for romance

Wed Jul 13 2016, 04:33pm | 4 comments

Weiner documentary review: the unchecked narcissism of politics

Thu Jul 07 2016, 09:53pm | 3 comments

Raiders!: The Story of the Greatest Fan Film Ever Made documentary review: it belongs in a cinema!

Fri Jun 17 2016, 04:57pm | 1 comment

Time to Choose documentary review: yes, it’s another movie about global warming

Fri Jun 03 2016, 09:24pm | 2 comments

Requiem for the American Dream and The Divide documentaries review: economic inequality for all

Wed Apr 27 2016, 08:51pm | 2 comments

The Syndrome documentary review: baby with the bathwater

Mon Apr 18 2016, 02:10pm | 3 comments

The Brainwashing of My Dad documentary review: pushing back against Fox News

Fri Mar 18 2016, 10:26pm | 1 comment

The Act of Killing and The Look of Silence documentaries review: when horror doesn’t destroy humanity

Mon Feb 29 2016, 03:39am | 5 comments

Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom documentary review: Occupy Kiev

Wed Feb 17 2016, 11:39am | 2 comments

What Happened, Miss Simone? documentary review: this is what happened

Tue Feb 16 2016, 05:46pm | 2 comments

Cartel Land documentary review: the war on drugs can have no winners

Tue Feb 16 2016, 04:42pm | 3 comments

Racing Extinction documentary review: the asteroid this time is humanity

Wed Feb 10 2016, 02:18pm | 40 comments

Where to Invade Next documentary review: finding the American dream everywhere but America

Tue Feb 09 2016, 08:33pm | 14 comments

The Hunting Ground documentary review: why you have no idea how bad rape is on campus

Mon Feb 08 2016, 01:08pm | 11 comments

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts (88th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 01 2016, 03:32pm | 0 comments

Monkey Kingdom documentary review: growing up in the jungle

Thu Jan 21 2016, 02:16pm | 0 comments

Janis: Little Girl Blue documentary review: the painful soul of the music

Thu Dec 03 2015, 07:19pm | 2 comments

Sherpa documentary review: go tell it on the mountain (#LFF2015)

Wed Dec 02 2015, 05:32pm | 1 comment

He Named Me Malala documentary review: teach your children well

Fri Nov 06 2015, 01:06pm | 0 comments

How to Change the World documentary review: the path to Greenpeace

Tue Sep 15 2015, 04:57pm | 5 comments

Welcome to Leith documentary review: when hate comes to town

Thu Sep 10 2015, 05:25pm | 0 comments

Precinct Seven Five (aka The Seven Five) documentary review: badfellas

Thu Aug 13 2015, 04:00pm | 10 comments

A Lego Brickumentary documentary review: brick by brick

Fri Jul 31 2015, 05:42pm | 0 comments

Best of Enemies documentary review: “the practice of malice”

Fri Jul 24 2015, 01:14pm | 4 comments

The Salt of the Earth documentary review: photographing the human condition

Fri Jul 17 2015, 11:28am | 0 comments

Amy documentary review: how the music dies

Tue Jun 30 2015, 02:57pm | 2 comments

That Sugar Film movie review: sugar size me

Fri Jun 26 2015, 02:41pm | 3 comments

2015 Sundance Film Festival Award-Winning Shorts review: the best of the best

Wed Jun 10 2015, 05:02pm | 1 comment

Forbidden Films: The Hidden Legacy of Nazi Film documentary review: the power of propaganda

Mon Jun 01 2015, 04:48pm | 14 comments

The Man Who Saved the World documentary review: no nukes

Fri May 15 2015, 07:05pm | 1 comment

The Emperor’s New Clothes documentary review: working-class wonk

Fri Apr 24 2015, 01:51pm | 8 comments

Boom Bust Boom documentary review: monkeys with money

Tue Mar 31 2015, 03:11pm | 3 comments

Dior and I documentary review: haute couture undressed

Fri Mar 27 2015, 01:16pm | 1 comment

Dreamcatcher documentary review: how to get off the streets

Fri Mar 06 2015, 03:38pm | 1 comment

Virunga documentary review: no walk in the park

Wed Feb 18 2015, 09:41pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest