Quantcast
subscriber help

artisanal film reviews | by maryann johanson

Chi-Raq movie review: sex as a weapon of peace

Thu Dec 01 2016, 08:38pm | 0 comments

Moana movie review: the hero with a thousand faces finally has a female one

Tue Nov 22 2016, 01:02pm | 7 comments

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie review: reparo movens ad imaginem

Thu Nov 17 2016, 10:22pm | 21 comments

Girls Lost (Pojkarna) movie review: girls found

Fri Nov 04 2016, 01:01pm | 0 comments

Trolls movie review: you can’t stop the cute

Fri Oct 28 2016, 08:04pm | 3 comments

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children movie review: infodump, the movie

Sat Oct 01 2016, 04:10pm | 14 comments

Blair Witch movie review: more like blah witch…

Wed Sep 14 2016, 12:33pm | 4 comments

Kubo and the Two Strings movie review: quest for family

Mon Sep 12 2016, 01:25pm | 11 comments

Robinson Crusoe (aka The Wild Life) movie review: castaway… you know, for kids!

Tue Sep 06 2016, 10:18pm | 8 comments

Zoom movie review: zoom out

Thu Sep 01 2016, 02:37pm | 13 comments

Pete’s Dragon movie review: big friendly dragon

Mon Aug 08 2016, 08:51pm | 11 comments

The Legend of Tarzan and Free State of Jones movies review: enough with the white saviors

Mon Aug 01 2016, 04:53pm | 21 comments

Ice Age: Collision Course movie review: where is a mass extinction when you need one?

Mon Jul 18 2016, 02:37pm | 9 comments

Ghostbusters movie review: boo yeah!

Tue Jul 12 2016, 08:05pm | 95 comments

Now You See Me 2 movie review: now you don’t

Fri Jul 08 2016, 07:19pm | 8 comments

The Secret Life of Pets movie review: dogs and cats living together…

Tue Jul 05 2016, 06:01pm | 3 comments

The BFG movie review: that sense of wonder where it all went wrong

Thu Jun 30 2016, 12:29pm | 3 comments

Warcraft: The Beginning (aka Warcraft) movie review: guest review by a white male teenage nerd from 1987

Mon Jun 06 2016, 02:24pm | 277 comments

Gods of Egypt movie review: those whom the gods wish to punish, they force to watch this movie

Sat May 28 2016, 07:20pm | 12 comments

Alice Through the Looking Glass movie review: a mirror cracked

Tue May 24 2016, 09:32pm | 6 comments

Welcome to Happiness movie review: leave it in the closet

Fri May 20 2016, 10:16pm | 0 comments

The Angry Birds Movie movie review: what the shell?

Mon May 16 2016, 03:52pm | 128 comments

Miles Ahead movie review: where the music takes you

Fri Apr 22 2016, 02:09pm | 3 comments

The Brand New Testament (Le tout nouveau testament) movie review: the divine feminine

Mon Apr 18 2016, 04:15pm | 1 comment

The Jungle Book movie review: welcome to the jungle

Thu Apr 14 2016, 09:36am | 4 comments

The Huntsman: Winter’s War movie review: snow what?

Thu Apr 07 2016, 10:46pm | 11 comments

Zootropolis (aka Zootopia) movie review: creature feature

Thu Mar 24 2016, 03:14pm | 24 comments

Risen movie review: when habeas corpus gets weird

Fri Mar 18 2016, 04:02pm | 19 comments

Huevos: Little Rooster’s Egg-Cellent Adventure (Un Gallo con Muchos Huevos) movie review: a cock and balls story

Wed Mar 16 2016, 07:37pm | 2 comments

The Mermaid (Mei ren yu) movie review: the biggest movie on the planet you haven’t heard of

Fri Mar 11 2016, 07:59pm | 13 comments

The Boy and the Beast movie rating: yellow light

Thu Mar 03 2016, 02:02pm | 25 comments

Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Road Chip movie review: born to be mild

Wed Feb 10 2016, 09:16pm | 0 comments

Deadpool movie review: origin story with a potty mouth

Tue Feb 09 2016, 08:02pm | 108 comments

When Marnie Was There movie review: girls have adolescent angst too

Wed Feb 03 2016, 05:00pm | 12 comments

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts (88th Academy Awards) review

Fri Jan 29 2016, 09:29pm | 0 comments

Boy & the World movie review: urban chaos and color

Thu Jan 28 2016, 06:29pm | 14 comments

Snoopy and Charlie Brown: The Peanuts Movie (aka The Peanuts Movie) movie review: good grief

Wed Dec 16 2015, 10:17pm | 12 comments

The Forbidden Room movie review: leave it locked

Fri Dec 11 2015, 12:42pm | 1 comment

Krampus movie review: holiday horror

Mon Dec 07 2015, 04:44pm | 11 comments

The Good Dinosaur movie review: bad dinosaur, bad

Tue Nov 24 2015, 04:04pm | 41 comments

The Hallow movie review: misses the forest for the trees

Fri Nov 13 2015, 03:37pm | 1 comment

Tales of Halloween movie review: buckets of blood, and lots of laughs

Sun Nov 01 2015, 08:09pm | 0 comments

The Vatican Tapes movie review: to the devil with it

Fri Oct 30 2015, 01:58pm | 1 comment

The Last Witch Hunter movie review: burn it at the stake

Wed Oct 21 2015, 09:49pm | 5 comments

Goosebumps movie review: stick with the books (#LFF2015)

Wed Oct 21 2015, 06:17pm | 5 comments

Hotel Transylvania 2 movie review: check out and never return

Fri Oct 16 2015, 06:52pm | 6 comments

Pan movie review: a disaster of fantastically epic proportions

Wed Oct 14 2015, 01:14pm | 25 comments

The Messenger movie review: voices from the other side

Wed Sep 16 2015, 03:03pm | 1 comment

Sinister 2 movie review: baloney Boogeyman

Fri Aug 21 2015, 07:56pm | 7 comments

Molly Moon and the Incredible Book of Hypnotism movie review: you are getting very angry…

Thu Aug 13 2015, 01:30pm | 21 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest