Quantcast
subscriber help

artisanal film reviews | by maryann johanson

The Uncondemned documentary review: the horrors of Rwanda, on trial

Mon Nov 07 2016, 05:34pm | 0 comments

The Eagle Huntress documentary review: badass girl is badass even without embellishments to her story (#LFF2016)

Thu Nov 03 2016, 06:15pm | 0 comments

Aquarius movie review: home is where the fight is

Fri Oct 28 2016, 08:58pm | 0 comments

#LFF2016: Spaceship, Divines, Lupe Under the Sun

Tue Oct 04 2016, 08:17pm | 2 comments

#LFF2016: Ma’ Rosa, Pyromaniac, All This Panic

Thu Sep 29 2016, 02:24pm | 0 comments

#LFF2016: Down Under, Indivisible, Wild

Thu Sep 22 2016, 10:55pm | 0 comments

Black movie review: tragically bad

Fri Aug 19 2016, 03:53pm | 9 comments

Microbe & Gasoline movie review: adolescent angst (subtitled)

Wed Aug 03 2016, 05:14pm | 0 comments

Disorder (aka Maryland) movie review: security blank

Mon Jul 25 2016, 08:16pm | 4 comments

Train to Busan (Busanhaeng) movie review: delays due to zombies

Sat Jul 23 2016, 08:03pm | 16 comments

Parched movie review: women finding water in a desert of men’s making

Fri Jun 17 2016, 08:12pm | 0 comments

A Conspiracy of Faith (Flaskepost fra P) movie review: is God dead? or is he the killer?

Wed Jun 15 2016, 01:53pm | 0 comments

Margarita with a Straw movie review: this ain’t no pity party

Tue Jun 14 2016, 06:43pm | 0 comments

Sculpting Time: The Films of Andrei Tarkovsky movie retrospective review: tragedy, trauma, and torment, Russian-style

Fri May 20 2016, 04:57pm | 3 comments

The Brand New Testament (Le tout nouveau testament) movie review: the divine feminine

Mon Apr 18 2016, 04:15pm | 1 comment

The Keeper of Lost Causes (Kvinden i buret) and The Absent One (Fasandraeberne) movies review: good clean nasty Nordic noir

Fri Apr 15 2016, 03:48pm | 2 comments

Ran (4K restoration) movie rating: green light

Fri Apr 01 2016, 11:42am | 2 comments

Marguerite movie review: is ignorance bliss?

Thu Mar 31 2016, 11:17am | 1 comment

Huevos: Little Rooster’s Egg-Cellent Adventure (Un Gallo con Muchos Huevos) movie review: a cock and balls story

Wed Mar 16 2016, 07:37pm | 2 comments

The Mermaid (Mei ren yu) movie review: the biggest movie on the planet you haven’t heard of

Fri Mar 11 2016, 07:59pm | 13 comments

The Here After (Efterskalv) movie review: what price forgiveness?

Fri Mar 11 2016, 12:56pm | 0 comments

The Boy and the Beast movie rating: yellow light

Thu Mar 03 2016, 02:02pm | 25 comments

The Act of Killing and The Look of Silence documentaries review: when horror doesn’t destroy humanity

Mon Feb 29 2016, 03:39am | 5 comments

Embrace of the Serpent movie review: mild Amazonian odyssey

Sun Feb 28 2016, 10:39pm | 0 comments

Theeb movie review: a tiny slice of the Great War, through a child’s eyes

Sun Feb 28 2016, 06:35pm | 0 comments

Son of Saul movie review: how to remain human

Wed Feb 24 2016, 08:14pm | 1 comment

Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom documentary review: Occupy Kiev

Wed Feb 17 2016, 11:39am | 2 comments

Rams (Hrútar) movie review: brothers in farms

Fri Feb 05 2016, 09:17pm | 3 comments

When Marnie Was There movie review: girls have adolescent angst too

Wed Feb 03 2016, 05:00pm | 12 comments

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts (88th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 01 2016, 03:32pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Live-Action Shorts (88th Academy Awards) review

Fri Jan 29 2016, 08:08pm | 5 comments

A War (Krigen) movie review: the heat of battle and the cold light of day

Fri Jan 08 2016, 04:58pm | 0 comments

The Wave (Bølgen) movie review: disaster, Scandinavian style (#LFF2015)

Mon Nov 16 2015, 09:49pm | 0 comments

Run movie review: all the unrest of Ivory Coast, all in one man (#FilmAfrica festival)

Wed Nov 04 2015, 12:40pm | 0 comments

Difret movie review: reshaping the world for women

Mon Oct 26 2015, 05:13pm | 6 comments

Dukhtar movie review: giving voice to women who have none

Fri Oct 09 2015, 10:56am | 0 comments

The Second Mother movie review: cleaning house

Thu Sep 10 2015, 01:18pm | 0 comments

Of Girls and Horses movie review: wishes are horses

Fri Jul 31 2015, 01:16pm | 0 comments

13 Minutes (aka Elser) movie review: the ultimate what-if

Fri Jul 17 2015, 04:56pm | 2 comments

The Salt of the Earth documentary review: photographing the human condition

Fri Jul 17 2015, 11:28am | 0 comments

2015 Sundance Film Festival Award-Winning Shorts review: the best of the best

Wed Jun 10 2015, 05:02pm | 1 comment

In the Name of My Daughter movie review: suspenseless Riviera

Wed Jun 03 2015, 02:50pm | 0 comments

Forbidden Films: The Hidden Legacy of Nazi Film documentary review: the power of propaganda

Mon Jun 01 2015, 04:48pm | 14 comments

The Connection (La French) movie review: not-so-good fellas

Fri May 29 2015, 02:44pm | 1 comment

The Film Critic (El Critico) movie review: it stinks!

Wed May 20 2015, 03:41pm | 3 comments

The Man Who Saved the World documentary review: no nukes

Fri May 15 2015, 07:05pm | 1 comment

Girlhood and Honeytrap movie(s) review: mean girl streets

Fri May 08 2015, 04:07pm | 0 comments

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night movie review: blood pressure

Tue Mar 31 2015, 07:48pm | 4 comments

Wild Tales (Relatos salvajes) movie review: revenge served hot

Wed Mar 25 2015, 04:47pm | 8 comments

A Second Chance movie review: cops and fathers

Mon Mar 23 2015, 09:23pm | 2 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest