Quantcast
subscriber help

artisanal film reviews | by maryann johanson

Miss Sloane movie review: what a piece of work is she

Mon Dec 05 2016, 10:59pm | 0 comments

Chi-Raq movie review: sex as a weapon of peace

Thu Dec 01 2016, 08:38pm | 0 comments

A United Kingdom movie review: a love that changed the world

Fri Nov 25 2016, 06:29pm | 6 comments

The Uncondemned documentary review: the horrors of Rwanda, on trial

Mon Nov 07 2016, 05:34pm | 0 comments

Before the Flood documentary review: DiCaprio takes celebrity climate-change advocacy to a new level (#LFF2016)

Wed Nov 02 2016, 12:54pm | 0 comments

Michael Moore in TrumpLand movie review: hope and humanity in a dark hour

Mon Oct 31 2016, 08:14pm | 2 comments

You’ve Been Trumped and You’ve Been Trumped, Too documentaries review: Donald Trump is no friend to “the little people”

Mon Oct 31 2016, 01:56pm | 11 comments

#LFF2016: A Date for Mad Mary, Chasing Asylum, The Dreamed Ones

Tue Sep 20 2016, 06:41pm | 0 comments

Starving the Beast documentary review: the deliberate dumbing down of the American university

Fri Sep 09 2016, 10:35pm | 3 comments

The Purge: Election Year movie review: soylent green is Donald Trump!

Fri Aug 26 2016, 12:04pm | 3 comments

The Childhood of a Leader movie review: the history of the world, part Europe

Fri Aug 19 2016, 08:34pm | 2 comments

Jason Bourne movie review: Bourne again, but why?

Tue Jul 26 2016, 02:19pm | 5 comments

Weiner documentary review: the unchecked narcissism of politics

Thu Jul 07 2016, 09:53pm | 3 comments

Our Kind of Traitor movie review: ordinary everyday spies

Thu Jun 30 2016, 10:18pm | 0 comments

Independence Day: Resurgence movie review: Precis of Report on Readiness of Planet YD56201.3 to Join Galactic Alliance

Wed Jun 29 2016, 09:59pm | 16 comments

Time to Choose documentary review: yes, it’s another movie about global warming

Fri Jun 03 2016, 09:24pm | 2 comments

Captain America: Civil War movie review: the consequences of superpowers

Fri Apr 29 2016, 09:43pm | 39 comments

Requiem for the American Dream and The Divide documentaries review: economic inequality for all

Wed Apr 27 2016, 08:51pm | 2 comments

Eye in the Sky movie review: in the eyes of 21st-century warriors

Fri Apr 15 2016, 09:43pm | 10 comments

Ran (4K restoration) movie rating: green light

Fri Apr 01 2016, 11:42am | 2 comments

Zootropolis (aka Zootopia) movie review: creature feature

Thu Mar 24 2016, 03:14pm | 24 comments

The Brainwashing of My Dad documentary review: pushing back against Fox News

Fri Mar 18 2016, 10:26pm | 1 comment

Risen movie review: when habeas corpus gets weird

Fri Mar 18 2016, 04:02pm | 19 comments

The Divergent Series: Allegiant movie review: walled in by reality

Thu Mar 10 2016, 08:54pm | 3 comments

London Has Fallen movie review: agitprop security theater

Wed Mar 02 2016, 02:53pm | 35 comments

The Act of Killing and The Look of Silence documentaries review: when horror doesn’t destroy humanity

Mon Feb 29 2016, 03:39am | 5 comments

Freeheld movie review: lovers *and* fighters

Fri Feb 19 2016, 04:59pm | 0 comments

Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom documentary review: Occupy Kiev

Wed Feb 17 2016, 11:39am | 2 comments

What Happened, Miss Simone? documentary review: this is what happened

Tue Feb 16 2016, 05:46pm | 2 comments

Cartel Land documentary review: the war on drugs can have no winners

Tue Feb 16 2016, 04:42pm | 3 comments

13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi movie review: American mercenary

Fri Jan 29 2016, 03:43pm | 69 comments

Our Brand Is Crisis movie review: unearned (and unneeded) sentiment

Wed Jan 27 2016, 09:49pm | 0 comments

The 33 movie review: swallowed up by the earth

Wed Jan 27 2016, 05:11pm | 2 comments

Lost in Karastan movie review: lost indeed

Fri Jan 22 2016, 12:46pm | 0 comments

A Perfect Day movie review: war is hellacious

Fri Jan 15 2016, 08:40pm | 3 comments

Spotlight movie review: all the pope’s men

Wed Jan 06 2016, 09:36pm | 4 comments

Pawn Sacrifice movie rating: red light

Wed Dec 23 2015, 03:51pm | 4 comments

The Big Short movie review: first thing we do, let’s kill all the bankers

Tue Dec 22 2015, 08:07pm | 9 comments

Spooks: The Greater Good (aka MI-5) movie review: game of moles

Mon Nov 30 2015, 09:20am | 10 comments

Bridge of Spies movie review: the lawyer who went out in the Cold War

Fri Nov 27 2015, 05:18pm | 0 comments

Black Mass movie review: men behaving badly… again

Wed Nov 25 2015, 05:03pm | 0 comments

Trumbo movie review: liberal Hollywood? ha!

Thu Nov 19 2015, 05:16pm | 7 comments

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2 movie review: breaking the blockbuster

Mon Nov 16 2015, 02:05pm | 10 comments

He Named Me Malala documentary review: teach your children well

Fri Nov 06 2015, 01:06pm | 0 comments

Truth movie review: when journalistic truth is ugly (#LFF2015)

Thu Nov 05 2015, 03:23pm | 3 comments

Run movie review: all the unrest of Ivory Coast, all in one man (#FilmAfrica festival)

Wed Nov 04 2015, 12:40pm | 0 comments

Difret movie review: reshaping the world for women

Mon Oct 26 2015, 05:13pm | 6 comments

Suffragette movie review: then they fight you (#LFF2015)

Wed Oct 07 2015, 10:08pm | 52 comments

How to Change the World documentary review: the path to Greenpeace

Tue Sep 15 2015, 04:57pm | 5 comments

Welcome to Leith documentary review: when hate comes to town

Thu Sep 10 2015, 05:25pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest