Quantcast
subscriber help

artisanal film reviews | by maryann johanson

A United Kingdom movie review: a love that changed the world

Fri Nov 25 2016, 06:29pm | 6 comments

Allied movie review: movie spies with delicious old-fashioned mystique

Mon Nov 21 2016, 02:08pm | 1 comment

Fire Song movie review: finding a path through a broken world

Tue Nov 08 2016, 02:33pm | 0 comments

#LFF2016: A Date for Mad Mary, Chasing Asylum, The Dreamed Ones

Tue Sep 20 2016, 06:41pm | 0 comments

cult classic film virgin: Sid & Nancy

Wed Aug 31 2016, 06:10pm | 1 comment

Black movie review: tragically bad

Fri Aug 19 2016, 03:53pm | 9 comments

Margarita with a Straw movie review: this ain’t no pity party

Tue Jun 14 2016, 06:43pm | 0 comments

Holding the Man movie review: grand romance, no qualifiers needed

Fri Jun 03 2016, 05:29pm | 2 comments

Me Before You movie review: romantic dramedy delusions

Wed Jun 01 2016, 04:27pm | 28 comments

Victoria movie review: no cutting to the chase here

Wed May 25 2016, 02:35pm | 3 comments

Black Mountain Poets movie review: rhyme and unreason

Fri Apr 01 2016, 05:03pm | 2 comments

Jane Wants a Boyfriend movie rating: red light

Fri Mar 25 2016, 07:11am | 0 comments

Irrational Man movie review: the measure of a man’s midlife crisis

Tue Mar 22 2016, 09:13pm | 0 comments

The Mermaid (Mei ren yu) movie review: the biggest movie on the planet you haven’t heard of

Fri Mar 11 2016, 07:59pm | 13 comments

Aloha movie review: hello, and good-bye

Thu Mar 10 2016, 05:11pm | 4 comments

Anomalisa movie review: maximal mundanity

Thu Feb 25 2016, 09:39pm | 2 comments

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies movie review: ironically, it has no brains

Fri Feb 19 2016, 08:02pm | 19 comments

Freeheld movie review: lovers *and* fighters

Fri Feb 19 2016, 04:59pm | 0 comments

Tumbledown movie review: letting go of the past

Fri Feb 05 2016, 05:44pm | 0 comments

Naz & Maalik movie review: best friends, and more

Thu Jan 21 2016, 04:36pm | 3 comments

Carol movie review: flung out of space

Thu Jan 14 2016, 10:19pm | 15 comments

The Danish Girl movie review: sometimes it’s hard to be a woman

Wed Jan 13 2016, 07:30pm | 7 comments

45 Years movie rating: green light

Thu Dec 24 2015, 05:16pm | 1 comment

The Perfect Guy movie review: dating blame

Wed Nov 18 2015, 12:45pm | 1 comment

Fathers & Daughters movie review: fit to be family tied

Fri Nov 13 2015, 08:39pm | 0 comments

Brooklyn movie review: across the ocean to find yourself

Wed Nov 11 2015, 04:17pm | 2 comments

The Longest Ride movie review: romantic bargaining

Mon Jul 20 2015, 09:20pm | 1 comment

Jackie & Ryan (aka Love Me Like You Do) movie review: in the moment

Fri Jul 03 2015, 12:55pm | 2 comments

Comet movie review: orbital decay

Fri Jul 03 2015, 09:42am | 1 comment

The Little Death (aka A Funny Kind of Love) and The Overnight movie review: sex tragi-comedies

Fri Jun 26 2015, 08:58pm | 0 comments

Everyone’s Going to Die movie review: black comedy among the blues

Wed Jun 24 2015, 07:55pm | 0 comments

Madame Bovary movie review: why woman why cry?

Thu Jun 11 2015, 06:18pm | 6 comments

In the Name of My Daughter movie review: suspenseless Riviera

Wed Jun 03 2015, 02:50pm | 0 comments

Strange Magic movie review: bad spell

Sun May 24 2015, 07:36pm | 9 comments

Moomins on the Riviera movie review: really old-fashioned adventure

Sat May 23 2015, 08:13pm | 2 comments

The Film Critic (El Critico) movie review: it stinks!

Wed May 20 2015, 03:41pm | 3 comments

Top Five movie review: funnyman black-and-blues

Thu May 07 2015, 05:52pm | 1 comment

The Age of Adaline movie review: time enough for love

Wed May 06 2015, 04:41pm | 2 comments

Boy Meets Girl movie review: a slightly kinder world

Mon May 04 2015, 08:57pm | 6 comments

Far from the Madding Crowd movie review: a woman’s choices

Wed Apr 29 2015, 02:30pm | 17 comments

Avengers: Age of Ultron movie review: mad science fiction

Thu Apr 23 2015, 01:17pm | 106 comments

A Little Chaos movie review: necessary fantasy

Fri Apr 17 2015, 05:17pm | 7 comments

The Last Five Years movie rating: red light

Thu Apr 16 2015, 08:21pm | 0 comments

Beyond the Mask movie review: assassin’s creed

Wed Apr 08 2015, 04:44pm | 49 comments

Spring movie review: she’s waaay out of his league

Fri Apr 03 2015, 09:28pm | 143 comments

While We’re Young movie review: 40 is the new 14

Thu Apr 02 2015, 01:03pm | 0 comments

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night movie review: blood pressure

Tue Mar 31 2015, 07:48pm | 4 comments

Wild Tales (Relatos salvajes) movie review: revenge served hot

Wed Mar 25 2015, 04:47pm | 8 comments

Suite Française movie review: enemy mine to love

Fri Mar 13 2015, 03:37pm | 7 comments

October Gale movie review: islands in the scream

Mon Mar 09 2015, 02:27pm | 3 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest