Quantcast
subscriber help

artisanal film reviews | by maryann johanson

curated: Why Him?

Wed Nov 16 2016, 05:33pm | 2 comments

from Facebook: Hollywood forces women to literally phone it in

Wed Oct 05 2016, 08:46pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: a difference in how men and women are depicted onscreen

Tue Sep 06 2016, 03:17pm | 1 comment

from Facebook: yes, women want to direct blockbusters

Sat Aug 13 2016, 02:05pm | 3 comments

from Facebook: difficult actors vs difficult actresses

Fri Aug 12 2016, 12:14pm | 5 comments

from Facebook: when male film journalists mistake talking about their boners for lucid, informative, intelligent discussion about movies

Thu Jul 07 2016, 08:13pm | 7 comments

from Facebook: TV continues to be so white, so male

Thu Jun 09 2016, 02:44pm | 1 comment

from Facebook: no, it is not “the year of the woman” at Cannes

Wed May 18 2016, 06:10pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: the Directors Guild of America is a white boys’ club

Wed May 04 2016, 04:50pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: women directors not getting support across Europe

Wed May 04 2016, 04:49pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: British women filmmakers react to the Directors UK study

Wed May 04 2016, 04:48pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: Directors UK survey finds women make up only 13.6% of British film directors

Wed May 04 2016, 04:46pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: Stana Katic was forced out of Castle

Mon Apr 25 2016, 10:05pm | 9 comments

from Facebook: when women get kicked out of their own franchises

Fri Apr 22 2016, 10:08pm | 8 comments

from Facebook: men talk more in movies, even in movies about women

Wed Apr 13 2016, 10:45pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: Hollywood’s forgotten feminist crusaders

Mon Feb 29 2016, 09:18pm | 3 comments

from Facebook: women are simply not valued in Hollywood

Fri Feb 26 2016, 07:44pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: what it’s like in Hollywood if you‘re not a straight white man

Thu Feb 25 2016, 10:09pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: rage against the pop culture misogyny

Thu Feb 11 2016, 10:20pm | 5 comments

more men I am officially tired of being asked to sympathize with in movies

Wed Jan 13 2016, 10:01pm | 247 comments

why does the Sicario Region 1 DVD cover art make it look like Benicio Del Toro is the star of the film?

Wed Dec 23 2015, 02:40pm | 34 comments

from Facebook: the secret meeting to fix gender inequality in Hollywood

Fri Dec 11 2015, 08:45pm | 1 comment

from Facebook: the most offensive explanation yet for the lack of women in Hollywood power

Fri Dec 11 2015, 01:13pm | 4 comments

from Facebook: white men dominate Hollywood

Fri Dec 11 2015, 01:12pm | 1 comment

from Facebook: in the silent era, half of all Hollywood films were written by women

Sat Dec 05 2015, 07:40pm | 1 comment

from Facebook: please stop making these kinds of movies

Fri Dec 04 2015, 10:22am | 2 comments

from Facebook: how women get erased from history, Hollywood edition

Wed Nov 25 2015, 10:18pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: women, make your own movies, and then be derided for it

Wed Nov 25 2015, 10:12pm | 4 comments

from Facebook: the women of Hollywood speak out

Fri Nov 20 2015, 09:56pm | 2 comments

from Facebook: how Hollywood keeps out women’s stories

Mon Nov 16 2015, 07:08pm | 1 comment

from Facebook: Leia aging gracefully — is it science fiction?

Wed Oct 21 2015, 10:23pm | 2 comments

from Facebook: why does Hollywood love heroic geezers?

Tue Aug 18 2015, 02:34pm | 5 comments

from Facebook: you can have chicks or nonwhite people in Star Wars, but not both

Tue Aug 18 2015, 02:31pm | 4 comments

four seven Mission: Impossible Rogue Nation posters, one woman’s ass

Fri Jun 05 2015, 10:59am | 60 comments

how to pretend a movie is not about a woman (because who likes Milla Jovovich anyway?)

Thu Jun 04 2015, 06:00pm | 2 comments

finally, someone is thinking of the men in Hollywood

Wed Apr 22 2015, 04:44pm | 9 comments

Where Are the Women? The Theory of Everything

Sun Feb 22 2015, 09:29pm | 7 comments

this is why Where Are the Women? is so necessary

Tue Feb 10 2015, 07:34pm | 4 comments

why do little girls like princess stuff so much?

Mon Feb 09 2015, 04:51pm | 68 comments

Where Are the Women? a feminist protest in film criticism [funded!]

Thu Dec 18 2014, 12:20am | 62 comments

how movies fail girls and women (fans and filmmakers alike)

Mon Nov 24 2014, 02:03pm | 46 comments

The Book of Life movie review: what’s a woman for?

Fri Oct 24 2014, 04:59pm | 90 comments

A Walk Among the Tombstones movie review: only mostly dead

Tue Sep 23 2014, 10:18pm | 10 comments

why do women wear sexy cosplay costumes, anyway?

Wed Aug 06 2014, 03:51pm | 151 comments

Very Good Girls movie review: sex negative

Fri Jul 25 2014, 09:19pm | 3 comments

the magic bullet for improving the number of women directors working in Hollywood

Thu Jul 24 2014, 02:00pm | 27 comments

women are faring very badly in the film industry…

Thu Jul 24 2014, 01:32pm | 4 comments

is Doctor Who sexist?

Tue Jun 03 2014, 03:38pm | 27 comments

man I am officially tired of being asked to sympathize with: Liam Neeson in A Walk Among the Tombstones

Mon Jun 02 2014, 05:04pm | 32 comments

A Million Ways to Die in the West movie review: “nice guys” need to shut up

Thu May 29 2014, 11:04pm | 107 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest