Quantcast
subscriber help

movies matter | criticism by maryann johanson

T2 Trainspotting movie review: GenX running out of steam but chugging on

Wed Mar 22 2017, 09:31pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing dvd & vod releases, US/Can, from Mar 21

Tue Mar 21 2017, 10:04pm | comments off

new and ongoing dvd & vod releases, UK/Ire, from Mar 20

Tue Mar 21 2017, 08:48pm | comments off

Mean Dreams movie review: Paxton et justitia

Sun Mar 19 2017, 08:05pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing cinema releases, US/Can, from Mar 17

Fri Mar 17 2017, 09:01pm | comments off

new and ongoing cinema releases, UK/Ire, from Mar 17

Fri Mar 17 2017, 08:59pm | comments off

Personal Shopper movie review: shadows of sorrow

Fri Mar 17 2017, 04:37pm | 0 comments

2016’s films ranked

Thu Mar 16 2017, 09:55pm | 29 comments

Get Out movie review: yes all white people

Thu Mar 16 2017, 09:17pm | 22 comments

Beauty and the Beast (2017) movie review: ever just the same, never a surprise

Tue Mar 14 2017, 06:34pm | 140 comments

The Ottoman Lieutenant movie review: erasing the past with sleight of cinematic hand

Fri Mar 10 2017, 06:34pm | 46 comments

The Chamber movie review: hell and high water

Fri Mar 10 2017, 03:37pm | 2 comments

Catfight movie review: punches not pulled

Thu Mar 09 2017, 08:57pm | 1 comment

Kong: Skull Island movie review: ape-ocalypse now

Mon Mar 06 2017, 03:45pm | 8 comments

My Life as a Zucchini (aka My Life as a Courgette) movie review: nutritious, filling, and delicious

Mon Mar 06 2017, 12:10pm | 0 comments

The Last Laugh documentary review: punching Nazis (with comedy)

Fri Mar 03 2017, 04:48pm | 8 comments

Viceroy’s House movie review: are we condemned to repeat this?

Thu Mar 02 2017, 02:29pm | 0 comments

Logan movie review: wounded Wolverine, dangerous beast

Mon Feb 27 2017, 10:08pm | 29 comments

Patriots Day movie review: blurry portrait of a city

Mon Feb 27 2017, 05:33pm | 1 comment

my picks for tonight’s 89th Academy Awards (the Oscars for 2016’s films)

Mon Feb 27 2017, 05:10am | 17 comments

A Cure for Wellness movie review: it ails me

Fri Feb 24 2017, 03:39pm | 6 comments

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Thu Feb 23 2017, 06:09pm | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 20 2017, 04:46pm | 0 comments

The Great Wall movie review: not to be torn down

Fri Feb 17 2017, 11:21am | 8 comments

XX movie review: women filmmakers bring a feminine bent to horror

Fri Feb 17 2017, 12:49am | 4 comments

Fifty Shades Darker movie review: where is the fantasy?

Tue Feb 14 2017, 11:13am | 36 comments

Prevenge movie review: baby bump off

Mon Feb 13 2017, 03:37pm | 1 comment

Strad Style documentary review: a heart full of violins (#Slamdance2017)

Wed Feb 08 2017, 08:18pm | 2 comments

The Lego Batman Movie review: give a minifig

Tue Feb 07 2017, 08:31pm | 17 comments

20th Century Women movie review: sometimes it’s hard to be a woman

Tue Feb 07 2017, 12:49pm | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 06 2017, 06:42pm | 0 comments

A Good American documentary review: 9/11 didn’t have to happen

Thu Feb 02 2017, 08:51pm | 24 comments

doc ‘Chasing Asylum’ has background on Trump’s “dumb deal”

Thu Feb 02 2017, 01:26pm | 0 comments

The Salesman movie review: marriage, Iranian style

Wed Feb 01 2017, 04:16pm | 2 comments

Denial movie review: a film for the resistance

Mon Jan 30 2017, 10:14pm | 0 comments

The White King movie review: a boy’s-eye view on dystopia

Thu Jan 26 2017, 10:26pm | 0 comments

Under the Shadow movie review: evil on the wind, and in the home

Thu Jan 26 2017, 08:18pm | 0 comments

Gold movie review: this mine is tapped out

Wed Jan 25 2017, 12:49pm | 0 comments

Split movie review: time for another round of “What the Hell Was M. Night Shyamalan Thinking?”

Tue Jan 24 2017, 08:16pm | 17 comments

Antarctica: Ice and Sky (aka Ice and the Sky) (La glace et le ciel) documentary review: how we know we are burning the planet

Fri Jan 20 2017, 08:54pm | 0 comments

The Founder movie review: look at what the golden arches hath wrought

Mon Jan 16 2017, 09:36pm | 4 comments

curated: Trump’s inauguration, or an episode of ‘The Twilight Zone’?

Mon Jan 16 2017, 04:41pm | 1 comment

The Bye Bye Man movie review: don’t think it, don’t say it, don’t see it

Mon Jan 16 2017, 03:44pm | 9 comments

La La Land movie review: city of stars, shining just for us

Fri Jan 13 2017, 10:35pm | 14 comments

curated: Octavia Spencer knows how to pay it forward

Fri Jan 13 2017, 12:18pm | 0 comments

Zero Days documentary review: the code war has begun

Thu Jan 12 2017, 12:58pm | 5 comments

Fox’s ‘Exorcist’ series is deeply creepy (Season 1 open thread)

Tue Jan 10 2017, 07:39pm | 4 comments

curated: ‘Veep’ star Timothy Simons’ epic takedown of “elite Hollywood” nonsense

Tue Jan 10 2017, 12:10pm | 0 comments

curated: did a 1950s TV Western predict Donald Trump?

Tue Jan 10 2017, 12:08pm | 32 comments

curated: the most sexist thing I’ve heard yet in the wake of Carrie Fisher’s passing

Mon Jan 09 2017, 08:30pm | 9 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest