Quantcast
subscriber help

movies matter | criticism by maryann johanson

new and ongoing cinema releases, UK/Ire, from Apr 21

Fri Apr 21 2017, 09:51pm | comments off

new and ongoing cinema releases, US/Can, from Apr 21

Fri Apr 21 2017, 09:44pm | comments off

2016’s films ranked

Fri Apr 21 2017, 09:33pm | 29 comments

Finding Fatimah movie review: dating while Muslim

Fri Apr 21 2017, 09:07pm | 0 comments

Clash (Eshtebak) movie review: the view from inside social upheaval

Fri Apr 21 2017, 02:54pm | 0 comments

Letters from Baghdad documentary review: Gertrude Bell, the original Lawrence of Arabia

Fri Apr 21 2017, 12:32pm | 2 comments

Raw movie review: girly gory allegory

Wed Apr 19 2017, 02:22pm | 1 comment

The Lost City of Z movie review: archaeology was his religion

Tue Apr 18 2017, 10:26pm | 4 comments

new and ongoing dvd & vod releases, US/Can, from Apr 18

Tue Apr 18 2017, 03:45pm | comments off

new and ongoing dvd & vod releases, UK/Ire, from Apr 17

Tue Apr 18 2017, 03:41pm | comments off

Free Fire movie review: guns a-boring

Mon Apr 17 2017, 10:02pm | 2 comments

The Handmaiden movie review: the women pushing back against misogyny, thwarted by their own film

Fri Apr 14 2017, 05:49pm | 19 comments

Fast & Furious 8 (aka The Fate of the Furious) movie review: notes from the critics’ ward

Wed Apr 12 2017, 10:09pm | 18 comments

God Knows Where I Am documentary review: into her mind

Mon Apr 10 2017, 04:58pm | 0 comments

The Belko Experiment movie review: team-killing exercise

Mon Apr 10 2017, 01:20pm | 4 comments

Going in Style movie review: pabulum and circuses

Fri Apr 07 2017, 07:54pm | 0 comments

City of Tiny Lights movie review: mushy modern noir

Thu Apr 06 2017, 05:06pm | 3 comments

Aftermath movie review: a series of unfortunate events

Thu Apr 06 2017, 01:52pm | 1 comment

Their Finest movie review: keeping calm and carrying on making movies

Wed Apr 05 2017, 02:08pm | 5 comments

Snowden movie review: the system’s self-correction

Mon Apr 03 2017, 09:47pm | 0 comments

Carrie Pilby movie review: how to be an intellectual romantic

Fri Mar 31 2017, 09:30pm | 0 comments

Smurfs: The Lost Village movie review: how do you solve a problem like Smurfette?

Fri Mar 31 2017, 04:22pm | 38 comments

Bokeh movie review: blurry, lonely lives at the end of the world

Thu Mar 30 2017, 06:22pm | 2 comments

The Void movie review: retro monsters, alien mystery

Wed Mar 29 2017, 10:09pm | 1 comment

Ghost in the Shell movie review: more like ghost in the meh-chine

Wed Mar 29 2017, 12:59pm | 107 comments

CHiPs movie review: they promised chip would happen, and it did

Mon Mar 27 2017, 10:22pm | 15 comments

Dig Two Graves movie review: and bury this deep

Fri Mar 24 2017, 09:59am | 0 comments

Another Mother’s Son movie review: punching Nazis, mom style

Thu Mar 23 2017, 06:52pm | 3 comments

T2 Trainspotting movie review: GenX running out of steam but chugging on

Wed Mar 22 2017, 09:31pm | 0 comments

Mean Dreams movie review: Paxton et justitia

Sun Mar 19 2017, 08:05pm | 0 comments

Personal Shopper movie review: shadows of sorrow

Fri Mar 17 2017, 04:37pm | 0 comments

Get Out movie review: yes all white people

Thu Mar 16 2017, 09:17pm | 33 comments

Beauty and the Beast (2017) movie review: ever just the same, never a surprise

Tue Mar 14 2017, 06:34pm | 269 comments

The Ottoman Lieutenant movie review: erasing the past with sleight of cinematic hand

Fri Mar 10 2017, 06:34pm | 46 comments

The Chamber movie review: hell and high water

Fri Mar 10 2017, 03:37pm | 2 comments

Catfight movie review: punches not pulled

Thu Mar 09 2017, 08:57pm | 1 comment

Kong: Skull Island movie review: ape-ocalypse now

Mon Mar 06 2017, 03:45pm | 9 comments

My Life as a Zucchini (aka My Life as a Courgette) movie review: nutritious, filling, and delicious

Mon Mar 06 2017, 12:10pm | 0 comments

The Last Laugh documentary review: punching Nazis (with comedy)

Fri Mar 03 2017, 04:48pm | 8 comments

Viceroy’s House movie review: are we condemned to repeat this?

Thu Mar 02 2017, 02:29pm | 0 comments

Logan movie review: wounded Wolverine, dangerous beast

Mon Feb 27 2017, 10:08pm | 31 comments

Patriots Day movie review: blurry portrait of a city

Mon Feb 27 2017, 05:33pm | 1 comment

my picks for tonight’s 89th Academy Awards (the Oscars for 2016’s films)

Mon Feb 27 2017, 05:10am | 17 comments

A Cure for Wellness movie review: it ails me

Fri Feb 24 2017, 03:39pm | 6 comments

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Thu Feb 23 2017, 06:09pm | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 20 2017, 04:46pm | 0 comments

The Great Wall movie review: not to be torn down

Fri Feb 17 2017, 11:21am | 8 comments

XX movie review: women filmmakers bring a feminine bent to horror

Fri Feb 17 2017, 12:49am | 4 comments

Fifty Shades Darker movie review: where is the fantasy?

Tue Feb 14 2017, 11:13am | 36 comments

Prevenge movie review: baby bump off

Mon Feb 13 2017, 03:37pm | 1 comment

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest