Quantcast
subscriber help

artisanal film reviews | by maryann johanson

gendered abuse I have received

Tue Nov 22 2016, 12:21am | 131 comments

a guide to the design and organizational makeovers here

Wed Nov 16 2016, 12:25am | 6 comments

this is not a safe space for Trump supporters

Mon Nov 14 2016, 10:32am | 17 comments

not capable of anything beyond sputtering outrage at the moment

Fri Nov 11 2016, 07:46am | 21 comments

is the text too small at this site?

Sun Oct 30 2016, 03:37pm | 18 comments

I’m neck-deep in London Film Festival…

Tue Oct 11 2016, 10:34pm | 2 comments

if you are a subscriber through Tinypass…

Tue Sep 27 2016, 02:43pm | 7 comments

from Facebook: what direct-to-VOD means to me…

Tue Sep 20 2016, 06:14pm | 0 comments

happy 19th birthday to Flick Filosopher!

Thu Sep 08 2016, 05:06pm | 15 comments

working on a redesign of the site…

Fri Sep 02 2016, 11:28am | 7 comments

I’m very behind on reviews

Thu Aug 04 2016, 04:00pm | 30 comments

from Facebook: and these are just the people who didn’t give up on Harry Potter and the Cursed Child tix

Thu Aug 04 2016, 03:47pm | 0 comments

the pioneering women of documentary film

Tue Jul 12 2016, 07:05pm | 1 comment

from Facebook: day in the life of a film critic in 2016

Thu Jul 07 2016, 01:42pm | 17 comments

taking a break for a few weeks

Sat Jun 11 2016, 09:58am | 4 comments

from Facebook: help me at least earn back the licensing fee I paid for the superheroine silhouette?

Thu Jun 02 2016, 12:24pm | 3 comments

from Facebook: pfft, I shushed Glenn Close at an LOTR press screening

Sun May 29 2016, 09:06pm | 2 comments

from Facebook: the only way that the Angry Birds movie succeeds

Fri May 13 2016, 08:33pm | 4 comments

Where Are the Women? T-shirts… now for guys!

Thu May 12 2016, 11:54pm | 4 comments

Where Are the Women? wrapup essay in two alt-weekly newspapers

Thu May 12 2016, 06:18pm | 2 comments

Where Are the Women? T-shirts!

Wed May 11 2016, 09:57pm | 15 comments

from Facebook: why I won’t have reviews for a bunch of new UK releases this week

Mon May 09 2016, 08:19pm | 2 comments

from Facebook: what am I, chopped liver?

Fri May 06 2016, 09:52pm | 16 comments

racist, sexist comments may be deleted without warning

Sat Apr 23 2016, 09:31am | 3 comments

from Facebook: walk like an Elizabethan

Sat Apr 23 2016, 09:14am | 0 comments

from Facebook: CGI to turn white actors Asian, because this is Hollywood in 2016

Fri Apr 15 2016, 06:40pm | 6 comments

rewatching My Big Fat Greek Wedding (the tweetening)

Sun Mar 20 2016, 11:50pm | 6 comments

from Facebook: I narrowly avoided a Reddit pile-on

Sat Feb 13 2016, 04:44pm | 2 comments

from Facebook: my brain is on fire

Sat Jan 30 2016, 04:26pm | 1 comment

rewatching Star Wars: the prequel trilogy (the tweetening)

Sat Jan 09 2016, 01:41am | 3 comments

rewatching Star Wars: the original trilogy (the tweetening)

Sat Jan 09 2016, 01:34am | 2 comments

from Facebook: “faith-based” films are no fun for an atheist

Tue Jan 05 2016, 09:39pm | 23 comments

from Facebook: join me for screening+Q&A on Frozen River Dec 15th

Wed Nov 25 2015, 11:28am | 2 comments

from Facebook: I’m getting emails like this all the time

Tue Nov 24 2015, 05:47pm | 3 comments

from Facebook: I’ll never understand Hollywood PR

Tue Nov 17 2015, 04:04pm | 5 comments

from Facebook: working on developing my superpowers…

Tue Nov 17 2015, 04:02pm | 0 comments

listen to my panel discussion at Underwire Festival

Tue Nov 17 2015, 08:20am | 3 comments

sorry for the light posting this week…

Thu Nov 12 2015, 02:51pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: one week to go till my Underwire panel…

Fri Nov 06 2015, 04:39pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: I’ll be at Mumsnet Blogfest on Nov 21st

Fri Oct 30 2015, 04:28pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: come see me at Underwire Festival in November

Fri Oct 23 2015, 09:24pm | 0 comments

from Facebook: listen to me podcast about bests and worsts from this year’s London Film Festival

Thu Oct 22 2015, 08:25pm | 1 comment

from Facebook: London Film Festival turns film critics into early birds

Tue Oct 13 2015, 06:41pm | 0 comments

minimal posting through September 27th

Fri Sep 18 2015, 04:04pm | 5 comments

today is the 18th anniversary of the launch of Flick Filosopher

Tue Sep 08 2015, 04:35pm | 12 comments

meet the “clucking hen” with “feminist fish-gills”

Sun Sep 06 2015, 08:58pm | 2 comments

from Facebook: I dreamed of Stephen Colbert…

Sun Sep 06 2015, 08:39pm | 4 comments

things I learned from this summer’s movies

Sat Sep 05 2015, 06:20pm | 21 comments

if you want to talk about a movie or TV show I haven’t posted about…

Sat Sep 05 2015, 05:22pm | 21 comments

from Facebook: my birthday present to myself

Wed Aug 19 2015, 03:29pm | 14 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest