Quantcast
subscriber help

we got movie sign | by maryann johanson

how not to get on a critic’s shit list

Mon May 22 2017, 07:14pm | 1 comment

‘Alien’ may be feminist, but not because it’s about rape

Sat May 20 2017, 12:08pm | 0 comments

a few thoughts on ‘Big Little Lies’ (and open thread)

Mon May 15 2017, 06:21pm | 3 comments

hilarious British comedy ‘Mindhorn’ now streaming on US Netflix

Sun May 14 2017, 04:59pm | 0 comments

I think I’ve fixed the mobile problem

Fri May 05 2017, 07:57pm | 3 comments

gendered abuse I have received

Fri Apr 28 2017, 12:21pm | 135 comments

ads now appearing in Disqus threads (updated)

Thu Apr 13 2017, 01:01pm | 12 comments

my picks for tonight’s 89th Academy Awards (the Oscars for 2016’s films)

Mon Feb 27 2017, 05:10am | 17 comments

new @FlickFilosopher Twitter feed

Wed Feb 01 2017, 10:00pm | 0 comments

me trying to write in 2017

Tue Jan 31 2017, 03:17pm | 3 comments

it’s the hope I can’t stand…

Fri Jan 20 2017, 04:09pm | 26 comments

embedded Facebook posts suddenly not working

Thu Jan 19 2017, 09:26pm | 1 comment

I urge you to watch PBS Frontline’s ‘Divided States of America‘ tonight

Tue Jan 17 2017, 10:13pm | 0 comments

Fox’s ‘Exorcist’ series is deeply creepy (Season 1 open thread)

Tue Jan 10 2017, 07:39pm | 4 comments

when I see fanboy sites gossiping…

Tue Jan 10 2017, 06:23pm | 0 comments

still loving ‘The Man in the High Castle’ (Season 2 open thread)

Fri Jan 06 2017, 04:48pm | 2 comments

OFCS 2016 awards winners announced

Tue Jan 03 2017, 10:30pm | 7 comments

still disappointed by Sherlock (“The Six Thatchers” open thread)

Mon Jan 02 2017, 04:13pm | 19 comments

I’m on BBC World Service’s “The Arts Hour” on New Year’s Day

Sat Dec 31 2016, 03:04pm | 5 comments

still heartbroken over Doctor Who (“The Return of Doctor Mysterio” open thread)

Tue Dec 27 2016, 06:17pm | 39 comments

curated: ‘Arrival’ is the HeyUGuys online film critics’ best film of 2016

Sat Dec 24 2016, 05:09pm | 0 comments

AWFJ 2016 EDA Awards winners announced

Thu Dec 22 2016, 09:54pm | 0 comments

curated: ‘The Princess Bride’ named to National Film Registry

Fri Dec 16 2016, 03:43pm | 1 comment

a guide to the design and organizational makeovers here

Wed Nov 16 2016, 12:25am | 6 comments

this is not a safe space for Trump supporters

Mon Nov 14 2016, 10:32am | 17 comments

not capable of anything beyond sputtering outrage at the moment

Fri Nov 11 2016, 07:46am | 23 comments

is the text too small at this site?

Sun Oct 30 2016, 03:37pm | 18 comments

I’m neck-deep in London Film Festival…

Tue Oct 11 2016, 10:34pm | 2 comments

if you are a subscriber through Tinypass…

Tue Sep 27 2016, 02:43pm | 7 comments

from Facebook: what direct-to-VOD means to me…

Tue Sep 20 2016, 06:14pm | 0 comments

happy 19th birthday to Flick Filosopher!

Thu Sep 08 2016, 05:06pm | 16 comments

working on a redesign of the site…

Fri Sep 02 2016, 11:28am | 7 comments

I’m very behind on reviews

Thu Aug 04 2016, 04:00pm | 30 comments

from Facebook: and these are just the people who didn’t give up on Harry Potter and the Cursed Child tix

Thu Aug 04 2016, 03:47pm | 0 comments

the pioneering women of documentary film

Tue Jul 12 2016, 07:05pm | 1 comment

from Facebook: day in the life of a film critic in 2016

Thu Jul 07 2016, 01:42pm | 17 comments

taking a break for a few weeks

Sat Jun 11 2016, 09:58am | 4 comments

from Facebook: help me at least earn back the licensing fee I paid for the superheroine silhouette?

Thu Jun 02 2016, 12:24pm | 3 comments

from Facebook: pfft, I shushed Glenn Close at an LOTR press screening

Sun May 29 2016, 09:06pm | 2 comments

from Facebook: the only way that the Angry Birds movie succeeds

Fri May 13 2016, 08:33pm | 4 comments

Where Are the Women? T-shirts… now for guys!

Thu May 12 2016, 11:54pm | 4 comments

Where Are the Women? wrapup essay in two alt-weekly newspapers

Thu May 12 2016, 06:18pm | 2 comments

Where Are the Women? T-shirts!

Wed May 11 2016, 09:57pm | 15 comments

from Facebook: why I won’t have reviews for a bunch of new UK releases this week

Mon May 09 2016, 08:19pm | 2 comments

from Facebook: what am I, chopped liver?

Fri May 06 2016, 09:52pm | 16 comments

racist, sexist comments may be deleted without warning

Sat Apr 23 2016, 09:31am | 3 comments

from Facebook: walk like an Elizabethan

Sat Apr 23 2016, 09:14am | 0 comments

from Facebook: CGI to turn white actors Asian, because this is Hollywood in 2016

Fri Apr 15 2016, 06:40pm | 6 comments

rewatching My Big Fat Greek Wedding (the tweetening)

Sun Mar 20 2016, 11:50pm | 6 comments

from Facebook: I narrowly avoided a Reddit pile-on

Sat Feb 13 2016, 04:44pm | 2 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest