Quantcast
subscriber help

artisanal film reviews | by maryann johanson

The Act of Killing and The Look of Silence documentaries review: when horror doesn’t destroy humanity

Mon Feb 29 2016, 03:39am | 5 comments

Summer in February movie rating: red light

Tue Aug 12 2014, 10:48pm | 2 comments

Jeune & Jolie (aka Young & Beautiful) movie review: who says virgin/whore must be a dichotomy?

Thu Jun 05 2014, 03:50pm | 64 comments

The Punk Singer documentary review: rage against the misogyny

Fri May 23 2014, 01:47pm | 2 comments

Pantani: The Accidental Death of a Cyclist and The Armstrong Lie documentary review

Fri May 16 2014, 09:25pm | 2 comments

A Touch of Sin movie review: people’s uprising

Fri May 16 2014, 12:15pm | 2 comments

Touchy Feely rating: green light

Thu May 15 2014, 09:18pm | 9 comments

After Tiller rating: yellow light

Sun May 11 2014, 10:38pm | 0 comments

Like Father, Like Son rating: green light

Mon May 05 2014, 12:22pm | 2 comments

Escape from Tomorrow review: Mickey Mouse horror

Tue Apr 29 2014, 03:33pm | 1 comment

La Camioneta: The Journey of One American School Bus review: get on the bus

Thu Apr 03 2014, 12:46pm | 1 comment

Le Week-end review: la vie et le bonheur

Wed Apr 02 2014, 03:13pm | 1 comment

47 Ronin review: they’re not having much fun storming the castle

Tue Apr 01 2014, 02:02pm | 12 comments

The Past review: they are family

Wed Mar 26 2014, 11:52am | 1 comment

The Patience Stone review: a woman’s place

Tue Mar 11 2014, 10:10pm | 0 comments

The Broken Circle Breakdown review: a mournful tune

Tue Mar 11 2014, 07:20pm | 0 comments

Out of the Furnace review: brothers in yawns

Tue Mar 11 2014, 05:09pm | 2 comments

Lee Daniels’ The Butler (aka The Butler) review: civil-rights servant

Mon Mar 10 2014, 04:56pm | 0 comments

Short Term 12 review: life in the long term

Mon Mar 10 2014, 01:37pm | 2 comments

Drinking Buddies review: subtextual romance

Mon Mar 10 2014, 11:45am | 2 comments

Paranoia review: low anxiety

Thu Mar 06 2014, 08:06pm | 1 comment

Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa review: male privilege on parade

Sun Mar 02 2014, 09:59pm | 8 comments

The Great Beauty review: pretty ugly

Sun Mar 02 2014, 07:55pm | 73 comments

20 Feet from Stardom: raw real voices

Thu Feb 27 2014, 02:01pm | 8 comments

Cutie and the Boxer review: a canvas of her own

Wed Feb 26 2014, 11:12pm | 0 comments

Ernest & Celestine review: bear and mouse are friends

Wed Feb 26 2014, 04:00pm | 2 comments

The Book Thief review: don’t mention the war…

Tue Feb 25 2014, 11:47pm | 9 comments

Dirty Wars review: the self-perpetuating “War on Terror”

Mon Feb 24 2014, 07:50pm | 1 comment

The Wind Rises review: Jiro dreams of flying

Fri Feb 21 2014, 09:04pm | 61 comments

Easy Money and Easy Money: Hard to Kill review: easy money… isn’t

Wed Feb 19 2014, 05:26pm | 0 comments

The Invisible Woman review: sometimes it’s hard to be a woman

Fri Feb 07 2014, 12:55am | 2 comments

Gloria review: can you handle the truth?

Fri Jan 31 2014, 08:11pm | 3 comments

Labor Day review: Stockholm-syndrome romance

Mon Jan 27 2014, 06:48pm | 5 comments

Inside Llewyn Davis review: trying of the human spirit

Fri Jan 24 2014, 03:12pm | 17 comments

The Wolf of Wall Street review: legitimate businessman

Fri Jan 17 2014, 04:41pm | 19 comments

The Square review: power from the people

Fri Jan 10 2014, 04:18pm | 1 comment

Delivery Man review: return to sender

Fri Jan 10 2014, 12:40pm | 2 comments

Her review: Manic Pixel Dream Girl

Mon Jan 06 2014, 09:01pm | 15 comments

Lone Survivor review: never get involved in a land war in Asia

Mon Jan 06 2014, 08:14pm | 3 comments

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty review: Ben Stiller’s excellent adventure

Mon Dec 23 2013, 10:04am | 16 comments

Saving Mr. Banks review: behold the unclassic curmudgeon

Fri Dec 20 2013, 04:18pm | 16 comments

Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues review: how news got broken

Tue Dec 17 2013, 03:04pm | 6 comments

Walking with Dinosaurs: The 3D Movie review: where is an extinction-level event when you need one?

Mon Dec 16 2013, 01:08pm | 52 comments

American Hustle review: the humor, it burns

Fri Dec 13 2013, 10:28pm | 7 comments

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug review: are we there yet?

Fri Dec 13 2013, 04:29pm | 38 comments

Homefront review: ridiculous yet predictable yet kinda fun

Mon Dec 02 2013, 08:33am | 2 comments

Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom review

Wed Nov 27 2013, 11:22pm | 3 comments

Dom Hemingway review

Tue Nov 26 2013, 11:54pm | 0 comments

Carrie review: women who hate women

Tue Nov 26 2013, 11:03pm | 5 comments

Parkland review (London Film Festival)

Thu Nov 21 2013, 01:26pm | 4 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest