Quantcast
subscriber help

artisanal film reviews | by maryann johanson

The Keeper of Lost Causes (Kvinden i buret) and The Absent One (Fasandraeberne) movies review: good clean nasty Nordic noir

Fri Apr 15 2016, 03:48pm | 2 comments

Big Eyes movie review: painted into a corner

Wed Apr 06 2016, 10:18pm | 7 comments

Camp X-Ray movie review: all of us behind bars

Mon Jan 18 2016, 05:16pm | 40 comments

Black or White movie rating: yellow light

Mon May 25 2015, 06:52pm | 0 comments

Top Five movie review: funnyman black-and-blues

Thu May 07 2015, 05:52pm | 1 comment

Still Alice movie review: a true horror movie

Tue Apr 28 2015, 03:40pm | 7 comments

The Town That Dreaded Sundown movie review: self-slashing

Wed Apr 15 2015, 09:08pm | 4 comments

John Wick movie review: deadly dancing

Fri Apr 10 2015, 05:08pm | 12 comments

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night movie review: blood pressure

Tue Mar 31 2015, 07:48pm | 4 comments

The Grand Budapest Hotel movie review: best exotic nonsense

Wed Mar 11 2015, 03:54pm | 4 comments

Kill the Messenger movie review: all the news that’s fit to quash

Fri Mar 06 2015, 01:23pm | 3 comments

Ida movie review: alas poor Poland?

Mon Mar 02 2015, 02:28pm | 5 comments

Beyond the Lights movie review: blitz the glitz

Sat Feb 28 2015, 09:06pm | 6 comments

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) movie review: winged infamy

Tue Feb 24 2015, 05:43pm | 35 comments

Maps to the Stars movie review: kill it with fire

Mon Feb 23 2015, 12:18pm | 8 comments

The Tale of the Princess Kaguya movie rating: green light

Sun Feb 22 2015, 09:02am | 7 comments

Song of the Sea movie rating: green light

Sat Feb 21 2015, 06:03pm | 0 comments

Foxcatcher movie review: the rich are different

Thu Feb 19 2015, 09:24pm | 0 comments

Virunga documentary review: no walk in the park

Wed Feb 18 2015, 09:41pm | 0 comments

Leviathan movie review: you can’t fight city hall

Wed Feb 18 2015, 01:22pm | 1 comment

Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me documentary review: music hath power

Tue Feb 17 2015, 12:40pm | 5 comments

Last Days in Vietnam documentary review: withdrawal symptoms

Thu Feb 12 2015, 08:54pm | 0 comments

Two Days, One Night movie review: on the coins of a dilemma

Wed Feb 11 2015, 03:58pm | 7 comments

Selma movie review: the march of time is slow

Fri Feb 06 2015, 06:17pm | 2 comments

Tales of the Grim Sleeper documentary review: just listen

Tue Feb 03 2015, 06:54pm | 2 comments

Pelo Malo (Bad Hair) movie review: how to destroy a child

Fri Jan 30 2015, 01:36pm | 2 comments

Big Hero 6 movie review: how to train your robot

Wed Jan 28 2015, 09:38pm | 8 comments

Pump documentary review: it’s a gas

Mon Jan 26 2015, 09:45pm | 1 comment

The Gambler movie review: to bet, or not to bet?

Thu Jan 22 2015, 08:40pm | 1 comment

Exodus: Gods and Kings movie review: whites only

Wed Jan 21 2015, 02:50pm | 73 comments

Whiplash movie review: music as a savage beast

Fri Jan 16 2015, 08:36pm | 12 comments

American Sniper movie review: a pawn in the game, misplayed

Wed Jan 14 2015, 10:08pm | 78 comments

Unbroken movie review: where war movies have gone before

Sat Dec 27 2014, 03:21pm | 5 comments

Annie movie review: abandoned child

Wed Dec 17 2014, 08:39pm | 5 comments

Wild movie review (London Film Festival)

Mon Dec 15 2014, 02:05pm | 21 comments

Merchants of Doubt documentary review: capitalism kills

Thu Dec 11 2014, 10:43pm | 2 comments

Electricity movie review (London Film Festival)

Thu Dec 11 2014, 08:18pm | 0 comments

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies movie review: there and back again… at last

Wed Dec 10 2014, 05:27pm | 75 comments

Penguins of Madagascar movie review: it’s cheezey-dibble-icious

Fri Dec 05 2014, 05:00pm | 7 comments

Black Sea movie review: pirates of the Crimea

Fri Dec 05 2014, 02:16pm | 2 comments

Eastern Boys movie review: pretty boy

Fri Dec 05 2014, 12:10pm | 17 comments

Bonobo movie review: of monkeys and (wo)men

Thu Dec 04 2014, 03:11pm | 2 comments

Pioneer movie review: there will be oil

Wed Dec 03 2014, 09:33pm | 2 comments

The Way He Looks movie review: love is all-seeing

Wed Dec 03 2014, 07:20pm | 0 comments

Get Santa movie review: Shawshank Christmas

Wed Dec 03 2014, 03:45pm | 22 comments

Delusions of Guinevere movie review: girl least likely

Mon Dec 01 2014, 09:29pm | 0 comments

Antarctica: A Year on Ice documentary review: totally cool

Mon Dec 01 2014, 11:01am | 8 comments

Hockney documentary review (London Film Festival)

Fri Nov 28 2014, 05:06pm | 4 comments

Before I Disappear movie review: barely there

Thu Nov 27 2014, 03:33pm | 4 comments

Paddington movie review: please look in on this movie, thank you

Wed Nov 26 2014, 05:00pm | 27 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest