Quantcast
subscriber help

artisanal film reviews | by maryann johanson

Chi-Raq movie review: sex as a weapon of peace

Thu Dec 01 2016, 08:38pm | 0 comments

Victoria movie review: no cutting to the chase here

Wed May 25 2016, 02:35pm | 3 comments

These Final Hours movie review: armageddon a hint of emotion

Thu May 05 2016, 09:24pm | 0 comments

Love & Mercy movie review: strange vibrations

Wed Apr 06 2016, 05:58pm | 2 comments

A Walk in the Woods movie review: ramble on and on

Mon Apr 04 2016, 02:04pm | 7 comments

True Story movie review: lies and the lying liars who tell them

Thu Mar 31 2016, 03:51pm | 0 comments

Irrational Man movie review: the measure of a man’s midlife crisis

Tue Mar 22 2016, 09:13pm | 0 comments

Hot Pursuit movie review: nice rack and ruin

Mon Mar 21 2016, 01:53pm | 9 comments

Huevos: Little Rooster’s Egg-Cellent Adventure (Un Gallo con Muchos Huevos) movie review: a cock and balls story

Wed Mar 16 2016, 07:37pm | 2 comments

Grandma movie review: the wisdoms of age and youth

Tue Mar 15 2016, 05:52pm | 6 comments

The D Train (aka Bad Bromance) movie review: when idiot men can do no wrong

Mon Mar 14 2016, 10:02pm | 2 comments

Dope movie review: not your typical high-school comedy

Mon Mar 14 2016, 07:56pm | 0 comments

Aloha movie review: hello, and good-bye

Thu Mar 10 2016, 05:11pm | 4 comments

Little Boy movie review: faith-based bomb

Wed Mar 09 2016, 11:47am | 38 comments

The Act of Killing and The Look of Silence documentaries review: when horror doesn’t destroy humanity

Mon Feb 29 2016, 03:39am | 5 comments

Theeb movie review: a tiny slice of the Great War, through a child’s eyes

Sun Feb 28 2016, 06:35pm | 0 comments

Youth movie rating: red light

Sun Feb 28 2016, 12:08pm | 1 comment

Mustang movie review: the “wife factory”

Fri Feb 26 2016, 09:37pm | 3 comments

Anomalisa movie review: maximal mundanity

Thu Feb 25 2016, 09:39pm | 2 comments

Son of Saul movie review: how to remain human

Wed Feb 24 2016, 08:14pm | 1 comment

My All American movie review: football fundamentalism

Wed Feb 24 2016, 05:03pm | 0 comments

Rock the Kasbah movie review: whitemansplaining, the movie

Mon Feb 22 2016, 02:14pm | 4 comments

Woodlawn movie review: Jesus is an Alabama football fan, obvs

Sun Feb 21 2016, 07:39pm | 15 comments

The Green Inferno movie review: kill it with fire

Sat Feb 20 2016, 05:58pm | 8 comments

Freeheld movie review: lovers *and* fighters

Fri Feb 19 2016, 04:59pm | 0 comments

Secret in Their Eyes movie review: it should have remained untold

Wed Feb 17 2016, 04:59pm | 0 comments

Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom documentary review: Occupy Kiev

Wed Feb 17 2016, 11:39am | 2 comments

What Happened, Miss Simone? documentary review: this is what happened

Tue Feb 16 2016, 05:46pm | 2 comments

Cartel Land documentary review: the war on drugs can have no winners

Tue Feb 16 2016, 04:42pm | 3 comments

Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Road Chip movie review: born to be mild

Wed Feb 10 2016, 09:16pm | 0 comments

Racing Extinction documentary review: the asteroid this time is humanity

Wed Feb 10 2016, 02:18pm | 40 comments

Where to Invade Next documentary review: finding the American dream everywhere but America

Tue Feb 09 2016, 08:33pm | 14 comments

The Hunting Ground documentary review: why you have no idea how bad rape is on campus

Mon Feb 08 2016, 01:08pm | 11 comments

When Marnie Was There movie review: girls have adolescent angst too

Wed Feb 03 2016, 05:00pm | 12 comments

Regression movie review: no thanks for the memories

Tue Feb 02 2016, 04:52pm | 3 comments

Boy & the World movie review: urban chaos and color

Thu Jan 28 2016, 06:29pm | 14 comments

Our Brand Is Crisis movie review: unearned (and unneeded) sentiment

Wed Jan 27 2016, 09:49pm | 0 comments

The 33 movie review: swallowed up by the earth

Wed Jan 27 2016, 05:11pm | 2 comments

Monkey Kingdom documentary review: growing up in the jungle

Thu Jan 21 2016, 02:16pm | 0 comments

Jem and the Holograms movie review: rock ’n’ roll fantasy

Wed Jan 20 2016, 03:22pm | 12 comments

Carol movie review: flung out of space

Thu Jan 14 2016, 10:19pm | 15 comments

The Danish Girl movie review: sometimes it’s hard to be a woman

Wed Jan 13 2016, 07:30pm | 7 comments

The Hateful Eight movie review: all hat, no cattle

Mon Jan 11 2016, 03:55pm | 30 comments

Spotlight movie review: all the pope’s men

Wed Jan 06 2016, 09:36pm | 4 comments

Captive movie review: prisoner of boredom

Tue Jan 05 2016, 09:05pm | 5 comments

Do You Believe? movie review: nope

Tue Jan 05 2016, 04:05pm | 8 comments

War Room movie review: to the Devil with it

Mon Jan 04 2016, 10:05pm | 82 comments

90 Minutes in Heaven movie review: God-awful

Mon Jan 04 2016, 08:08pm | 6 comments

The Revenant movie review: an extreme walk in the woods

Mon Dec 28 2015, 12:42pm | 14 comments

Joy movie review: a mess to be mopped up

Sun Dec 27 2015, 08:17pm | 8 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest