Quantcast
please donate

since 1997 | by maryann johanson

#Raindance2017: In Another Life, Hello Again, Maya Dardel

Sat Sep 30 2017, 07:16pm | 0 comments

#Raindance2017: Black Hollow Cage, Stuck, Mukoku

Thu Sep 28 2017, 10:23pm | 2 comments

My Pure Land movie review: meet a real-life heroine in a land that really doesn’t want her

Thu Sep 14 2017, 08:21pm | 1 comment

mother! movie review: from WTF to STFU

Mon Sep 11 2017, 04:30pm | 190 comments

God’s Own Country movie review: the cultivation of love

Fri Sep 01 2017, 02:42pm | 2 comments

La Soledad movie review: life and beauty among the ruins

Fri Aug 18 2017, 03:45pm | 0 comments

The Women’s Balcony movie review: men, cross women at your peril

Fri Jul 14 2017, 06:19pm | 6 comments

The Midwife (Sage femme) movie review: the birth pangs of midlife renewal

Sat Jul 08 2017, 06:58pm | 2 comments

Lost in Paris (Paris pieds nus) movie review: French kicks

Thu Jun 22 2017, 11:40pm | 6 comments

Wakefield movie review: man of the house (emeritus)

Fri May 26 2017, 03:35pm | 14 comments

The Levelling movie review: down on the farm

Fri May 12 2017, 03:21pm | 1 comment

Lady Macbeth movie review: the serpent under the innocent flower

Fri Apr 28 2017, 06:42pm | 12 comments

Clash (Eshtebak) movie review: the view from inside social upheaval

Fri Apr 21 2017, 02:54pm | 0 comments

The Handmaiden movie review: the women pushing back against misogyny, thwarted by their own film

Fri Apr 14 2017, 05:49pm | 59 comments

Bokeh movie review: blurry, lonely lives at the end of the world

Thu Mar 30 2017, 06:22pm | 20 comments

Dig Two Graves movie review: and bury this deep

Fri Mar 24 2017, 09:59am | 12 comments

Personal Shopper movie review: shadows of sorrow

Fri Mar 17 2017, 04:37pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Thu Feb 23 2017, 06:09pm | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 20 2017, 04:46pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 06 2017, 06:42pm | 0 comments

The Salesman movie review: marriage, Iranian style

Wed Feb 01 2017, 04:16pm | 2 comments

Moonlight movie review: the empathy machine in action (but only if you’re watching)

Wed Nov 16 2016, 04:44pm | 25 comments

Fire Song movie review: finding a path through a broken world

Tue Nov 08 2016, 02:33pm | 0 comments

Girls Lost (Pojkarna) movie review: girls found

Fri Nov 04 2016, 01:01pm | 0 comments

Aquarius movie review: home is where the fight is

Fri Oct 28 2016, 08:58pm | 0 comments

Autumn Lights movie review: women make men feel things

Wed Oct 26 2016, 02:57pm | 0 comments

#LFF2016: Spaceship, Divines, Lupe Under the Sun

Tue Oct 04 2016, 08:17pm | 2 comments

#LFF2016: Ma’ Rosa, Pyromaniac, All This Panic

Thu Sep 29 2016, 02:24pm | 0 comments

#LFF2016: Down Under, Indivisible, Wild

Thu Sep 22 2016, 10:55pm | 0 comments

#LFF2016: A Date for Mad Mary, Chasing Asylum, The Dreamed Ones

Tue Sep 20 2016, 06:41pm | 0 comments

The Intervention and There Is a New World Somewhere movies review: women on the verge

Thu Aug 25 2016, 02:18pm | 0 comments

The Childhood of a Leader movie review: the history of the world, part Europe

Fri Aug 19 2016, 08:34pm | 2 comments

Microbe & Gasoline movie review: adolescent angst (subtitled)

Wed Aug 03 2016, 05:14pm | 0 comments

Disorder (aka Maryland) movie review: security blank

Mon Jul 25 2016, 08:16pm | 4 comments

Parched movie review: women finding water in a desert of men’s making

Fri Jun 17 2016, 08:12pm | 0 comments

Margarita with a Straw movie review: this ain’t no pity party

Tue Jun 14 2016, 06:43pm | 0 comments

Approaching the Unknown movie review: no life on the way to Mars

Tue Jun 07 2016, 08:56pm | 4 comments

Victoria movie review: no cutting to the chase here

Wed May 25 2016, 02:35pm | 7 comments

Welcome to Happiness movie review: leave it in the closet

Fri May 20 2016, 10:16pm | 0 comments

Sculpting Time: The Films of Andrei Tarkovsky movie retrospective review: tragedy, trauma, and torment, Russian-style

Fri May 20 2016, 04:57pm | 3 comments

Louder Than Bombs movie review: good grief?

Mon May 02 2016, 07:56pm | 1 comment

Requiem for the American Dream and The Divide documentaries review: economic inequality for all

Wed Apr 27 2016, 08:51pm | 2 comments

The Survivalist movie review: whatever it takes

Tue Apr 19 2016, 01:45pm | 0 comments

The Brand New Testament (Le tout nouveau testament) movie review: the divine feminine

Mon Apr 18 2016, 04:15pm | 1 comment

The Keeper of Lost Causes (Kvinden i buret) and The Absent One (Fasandraeberne) movies review: good clean nasty Nordic noir

Fri Apr 15 2016, 03:48pm | 2 comments

Midnight Special movie review: let the children use it

Fri Apr 08 2016, 03:17pm | 2 comments

Black Mountain Poets movie review: rhyme and unreason

Fri Apr 01 2016, 05:03pm | 2 comments

Ran (4K restoration) movie rating: green light

Fri Apr 01 2016, 11:42am | 2 comments

Marguerite movie review: is ignorance bliss?

Thu Mar 31 2016, 11:17am | 1 comment

Mojave movie rating: red light

Fri Mar 25 2016, 08:01am | 4 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest