Quantcast
become a Patreon patron

maryann johanson | #BlackLivesMatter

Anthropocene: The Human Epoch documentary review: the destruction of our planet, in pictures (#EIFF2020)

Mon Jul 06 2020, 04:51pm | 0 comments

Disclosure documentary review: what the sorry state of trans representation onscreen means for everyone (#Netflix)

Sat Jul 04 2020, 08:51pm | 0 comments

Family Romance, LLC. movie review: coming to your emotional rescue

Fri Jul 03 2020, 04:05pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, US/Can, Jun 30–Jul 03

Thu Jul 02 2020, 03:01pm | comments off

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, UK/Ire, Jun 29–Jul 03

Thu Jul 02 2020, 01:29pm | comments off

To Kid or Not to Kid and Seahorse: The Dad Who Gave Birth documentaries review: childfree or child-bound?

Wed Jul 01 2020, 06:36pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, US/Can, Jun 23–26

Sun Jun 28 2020, 11:09pm | comments off

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, UK/Ire, Jun 22–26

Sun Jun 28 2020, 09:42pm | comments off

Fanny Lye Deliver’d movie review: birth of the modern woman (#EIFF2020)

Sun Jun 28 2020, 07:43pm | 0 comments

My Spy movie review: and you can keep him, little girl (#AmazonPrime)

Thu Jun 25 2020, 01:51pm | 0 comments

as I’ve been saying: YES, the cultural context and content of a film MATTERS

Thu Jun 25 2020, 11:53am | 0 comments

The Last Tree movie review: boy interrupted

Wed Jun 24 2020, 01:14pm | 0 comments

I pledge not to review any new movie available only in cinemas as long as COVID-19 remains a danger

Thu Jun 18 2020, 07:40pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, US/Can, Jun 16–19

Wed Jun 17 2020, 09:04pm | comments off

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, UK/Ire, Jun 15–16

Wed Jun 17 2020, 06:33pm | comments off

Miss Juneteenth movie review: ordinary lives drawn with extraordinary grace

Wed Jun 17 2020, 02:52pm | 0 comments

7500 movie review: never your in-flight movie (#AmazonPrime)

Tue Jun 16 2020, 08:34pm | 0 comments

Artemis Fowl movie review: falls foul of itself (#DisneyPlus)

Sun Jun 14 2020, 10:20pm | 0 comments

Sometimes Always Never movie review: only very intermittently

Fri Jun 12 2020, 01:57pm | 0 comments

I’m on BBC World Service’s “The Arts Hour” again this Saturday, June 13th

Thu Jun 11 2020, 01:46pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, US/Can, Jun 09–12

Wed Jun 10 2020, 10:58pm | comments off

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, UK/Ire, Jun 08–12

Wed Jun 10 2020, 10:30pm | comments off

Shirley movie review: lost girls gone mad

Wed Jun 10 2020, 06:46pm | 0 comments

2040 documentary review: can we remake the world in 20 years? (spoiler: yes)

Mon Jun 08 2020, 08:41pm | 0 comments

13th documentary review: American slavery never ended; here are the receipts (#Netflix)

Sun Jun 07 2020, 06:34pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, US/Can, Jun 05

Wed Jun 03 2020, 10:11pm | comments off

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, UK/Ire, Jun 01–05

Wed Jun 03 2020, 09:35pm | comments off

The Vast of Night movie review: and vast of perspective (#AmazonPrime)

Wed Jun 03 2020, 06:43pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, US/Can, May 25–29

Sat May 30 2020, 07:02pm | comments off

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, UK/Ire, May 25–29

Fri May 29 2020, 05:50pm | comments off

The Lovebirds movie review: breaking up on the run (#Netflix)

Thu May 28 2020, 09:19pm | 0 comments

Inheritance movie review: ill fortune

Tue May 26 2020, 10:00pm | 0 comments

Lucky Grandma movie review: brittle old lady

Fri May 22 2020, 03:55pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, US/Can, May 19–22

Thu May 21 2020, 06:38pm | comments off

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, UK/Ire, May 18–22

Thu May 21 2020, 03:37pm | comments off

Scoob! movie review: Scooby dooby don’t

Tue May 19 2020, 07:42pm | 0 comments

Becoming documentary review: hope floats (#Netflix)

Tue May 12 2020, 09:39pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, US/Can, May 12–15

Tue May 12 2020, 05:57pm | comments off

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, UK/Ire, May 11–17

Tue May 12 2020, 12:15pm | comments off

Spaceship Earth documentary review: under the dome, and under a scrutinous eye

Mon May 11 2020, 10:09pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, US/Can, May 05–08

Wed May 06 2020, 08:26pm | comments off

How to Build a Girl movie review: instruction manual not included

Wed May 06 2020, 06:19pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, UK/Ire, May 04

Tue May 05 2020, 10:32pm | comments off

Capital in the Twenty-First Century documentary review: eat the rich (cuz they’re eating us)

Mon May 04 2020, 07:00pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, US/Can, Apr 28–May 02

Wed Apr 29 2020, 10:32pm | comments off

Bad Education movie review: school for scandal (#HBO)

Wed Apr 29 2020, 09:53pm | 0 comments

new and ongoing dvd/blu/vod releases, UK/Ire, Apr 27–May 02

Wed Apr 29 2020, 03:28pm | comments off

The Assistant movie review: the realities of being a girl

Tue Apr 28 2020, 09:49pm | 0 comments

Extraction movie review: meet the sociopathic white savior (#Netflix)

Mon Apr 27 2020, 10:01pm | 0 comments

Planet of the Humans documentary review: we’ve done it, and we’ve been doing it for centuries

Thu Apr 23 2020, 06:26pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest