Quantcast
your £$ support needed

part of a small rebellion | by maryann johanson

The Rider movie review: when the work that makes a man is taken away

Wed Sep 12 2018, 05:01pm | 2 comments

The Miseducation of Cameron Post movie review: just as she is

Fri Sep 07 2018, 03:13pm | 5 comments

Alpha movie review: dog tired

Thu Aug 23 2018, 09:57pm | 20 comments

The Darkest Minds movie review: seeking a prom date for the end of the world

Fri Aug 10 2018, 05:24pm | 4 comments

Sicilian Ghost Story movie review: grim failing tale

Fri Aug 03 2018, 02:05pm | 2 comments

Apostasy movie review: witness to the oppression of religion

Thu Jul 26 2018, 04:53pm | 5 comments

The Breadwinner movie review: a daring girl’s adventure

Fri May 25 2018, 04:05pm | 1 comment

On Chesil Beach movie review: no sex, please, we’re British

Mon May 21 2018, 05:17pm | 2 comments

Jeune Femme (aka Montparnasse Bienvenüe) movie review: the heroine of her own life

Fri May 18 2018, 12:08pm | 0 comments

They movie review: the most important decision of their young life

Tue May 08 2018, 07:00pm | 1 comment

Every Day movie review: a slightly more challenging teen romance

Fri Apr 20 2018, 12:31pm | 0 comments

Love, Simon movie review: call me by your screen name

Fri Apr 06 2018, 03:21pm | 5 comments

Blockers movie review: the kids are all right

Fri Mar 30 2018, 09:40pm | 1 comment

I Kill Giants movie review: the terrible burden of secret fears

Wed Mar 28 2018, 11:48am | 12 comments

Midnight Sun movie review: Cupid’s shot in the dark

Fri Mar 23 2018, 11:30am | 2 comments

The Lodgers movie review: home is where the haunting is

Tue Feb 27 2018, 08:23pm | 0 comments

Call Me by Your Name movie review: met a boy cute as can be…

Tue Jan 09 2018, 01:58pm | 27 comments

I, Tonya movie review: a woman at war with herself

Thu Dec 14 2017, 04:53pm | 5 comments

Lady Bird movie review: flights of adolescent angsty (#LFF2017)

Thu Nov 09 2017, 02:21pm | 53 comments

#Raindance2017: Black Hollow Cage, Stuck, Mukoku

Thu Sep 28 2017, 10:23pm | 2 comments

My Pure Land movie review: meet a real-life heroine in a land that really doesn’t want her

Thu Sep 14 2017, 08:21pm | 1 comment

It movie review: a series of unfortunate events

Fri Sep 08 2017, 10:49pm | 247 comments

Step documentary review: dance into the future

Wed Aug 16 2017, 05:14pm | 3 comments

Landline movie review: love in the time before smartphones

Fri Jul 28 2017, 08:38pm | 4 comments

Spider-Man: Homecoming movie review: boys and their alien toys

Fri Jul 07 2017, 12:41am | 50 comments

Megan Leavey (aka Rex) movie review: a soldier and her dog

Fri Jun 23 2017, 03:15pm | 7 comments

Wonder Woman movie review: women’s work

Thu Jun 08 2017, 10:18pm | 80 comments

Dough movie review: it’s a bit too unleavened

Fri Jun 02 2017, 03:40pm | 0 comments

Raw movie review: girly gory allegory

Wed Apr 19 2017, 02:22pm | 8 comments

Carrie Pilby movie review: how to be an intellectual romantic

Fri Mar 31 2017, 09:30pm | 3 comments

Mean Dreams movie review: Paxton et justitia

Sun Mar 19 2017, 08:05pm | 0 comments

My Life as a Zucchini (aka My Life as a Courgette) movie review: nutritious, filling, and delicious

Mon Mar 06 2017, 12:10pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 20 2017, 04:46pm | 0 comments

20th Century Women movie review: sometimes it’s hard to be a woman

Tue Feb 07 2017, 12:49pm | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 06 2017, 06:42pm | 0 comments

The White King movie review: a boy’s-eye view on dystopia

Thu Jan 26 2017, 10:26pm | 0 comments

A Monster Calls movie review: the monster is within us all

Tue Jan 03 2017, 09:37pm | 11 comments

Best and Most Beautiful Things documentary review: hacking “normal”

Thu Dec 08 2016, 10:35am | 1 comment

Moana movie review: the hero with a thousand faces finally has a female one

Tue Nov 22 2016, 01:02pm | 11 comments

Moonlight movie review: the empathy machine in action (but only if you’re watching)

Wed Nov 16 2016, 04:44pm | 25 comments

Fire Song movie review: finding a path through a broken world

Tue Nov 08 2016, 02:33pm | 0 comments

Girls Lost (Pojkarna) movie review: girls found

Fri Nov 04 2016, 01:01pm | 0 comments

#LFF2016: Spaceship, Divines, Lupe Under the Sun

Tue Oct 04 2016, 08:17pm | 2 comments

Urban Hymn movie review: the healing power of music

Thu Sep 29 2016, 04:04pm | 4 comments

#LFF2016: Ma’ Rosa, Pyromaniac, All This Panic

Thu Sep 29 2016, 02:24pm | 0 comments

#LFF2016: Down Under, Indivisible, Wild

Thu Sep 22 2016, 10:55pm | 0 comments

#LFF2016: A Date for Mad Mary, Chasing Asylum, The Dreamed Ones

Tue Sep 20 2016, 06:41pm | 0 comments

The Girl with All the Gifts movie review: I believe the children are our future…

Mon Sep 19 2016, 08:50pm | 18 comments

Kubo and the Two Strings movie review: quest for family

Mon Sep 12 2016, 01:25pm | 11 comments

Margarita with a Straw movie review: this ain’t no pity party

Tue Jun 14 2016, 06:43pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest