Quantcast
become a Patreon patron

film criticism by maryann johanson | since 1997

Totally Under Control documentary review: detailing Trump’s coronavirus catastrophe

Thu Oct 15 2020, 09:35pm | 2 comments

All In: The Fight for Democracy documentary review: the pushback against voter suppression (#AmazonPrime)

Fri Oct 02 2020, 09:24pm | 0 comments

I Am Woman movie review: more a purr than a roar

Thu Oct 01 2020, 10:40pm | 0 comments

The Binge: Years and Years (#BBC/#HBO)

Thu Sep 24 2020, 04:23pm | 0 comments

Mulan (2020) movie review: girl (and film) at war with the world (#DisneyPlus)

Fri Sep 11 2020, 09:47pm | 11 comments

She Dies Tomorrow movie review: when it feels like we all die tomorrow

Wed Aug 19 2020, 06:44pm | 0 comments

Starting at Zero: Reimagining Education in America documentary review: brave new day care?

Fri Aug 14 2020, 08:45pm | 0 comments

Radioactive movie review: science, bitch (#AmazonPrime)

Sat Aug 01 2020, 06:28pm | 0 comments

First Cow movie review: new world, same as the old world

Thu Jul 23 2020, 09:25pm | 0 comments

John Lewis: Good Trouble documentary review: how to bend the arc of history

Mon Jul 20 2020, 09:27pm | 0 comments

The Old Guard movie review: saving the world, one century at a time (#Netflix)

Thu Jul 09 2020, 06:22pm | 0 comments

Anthropocene: The Human Epoch documentary review: the destruction of our planet, in pictures (#EIFF2020)

Mon Jul 06 2020, 04:51pm | 0 comments

To Kid or Not to Kid and Seahorse: The Dad Who Gave Birth documentaries review: childfree or child-bound?

Wed Jul 01 2020, 06:36pm | 0 comments

Miss Juneteenth movie review: ordinary lives drawn with extraordinary grace

Wed Jun 17 2020, 02:52pm | 0 comments

Shirley movie review: lost girls gone mad

Wed Jun 10 2020, 06:46pm | 0 comments

13th documentary review: American slavery never ended; here are the receipts (#Netflix)

Sun Jun 07 2020, 06:34pm | 0 comments

Lucky Grandma movie review: brittle old lady

Fri May 22 2020, 03:55pm | 0 comments

Becoming documentary review: hope floats (#Netflix)

Tue May 12 2020, 09:39pm | 0 comments

How to Build a Girl movie review: instruction manual not included

Wed May 06 2020, 06:19pm | 0 comments

The Assistant movie review: the realities of being a girl

Tue Apr 28 2020, 09:49pm | 0 comments

To the Stars movie review: run into the ground

Tue Apr 21 2020, 10:56pm | 0 comments

Beyond the Visible: Hilma af Klint documentary review: still way ahead of her time

Wed Apr 15 2020, 04:55pm | 0 comments

Never Rarely Sometimes Always movie review: the secret lives of girls and women

Tue Apr 07 2020, 08:03pm | 0 comments

The Perfect Candidate movie review: a woman’s place is everywhere

Fri Apr 03 2020, 05:15pm | 0 comments

Tape movie review: her too

Wed Apr 01 2020, 08:05pm | 0 comments

Blow the Man Down movie review: redefining the femme fatale

Mon Mar 23 2020, 06:44pm | 0 comments

Lost Girls movie review: and still unfound (#Netflix)

Mon Mar 16 2020, 11:37pm | 0 comments

The Photograph movie review: love as a balancing act

Thu Mar 05 2020, 08:33pm | 0 comments

The Lodge movie review: stuck in miserably mushy snow

Thu Feb 27 2020, 07:44pm | 0 comments

A Simple Wedding movie review: spoiler, it’s not so simple

Fri Feb 14 2020, 10:02pm | 0 comments

Emma. movie review: this queen bee has a bitter sting

Fri Feb 14 2020, 04:46pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts 2020 (92nd Academy Awards) review

Sun Feb 09 2020, 09:30pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts 2020 (92nd Academy Awards) review

Sun Feb 09 2020, 03:59pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts 2020 (92nd Academy Awards) review

Sat Feb 08 2020, 04:54pm | 0 comments

Birds of Prey: And the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn movie review: fantabulous

Thu Feb 06 2020, 02:35pm | 0 comments

The Rhythm Section movie review: out of tune

Wed Jan 29 2020, 05:47pm | 0 comments

The Turning movie review: it’s screwed

Sat Jan 25 2020, 05:11pm | 0 comments

Little Women (2019) movie review: looking askance, with love, at a classic

Thu Dec 19 2019, 09:35am | 0 comments

Ordinary Love movie review: marriage story

Mon Dec 09 2019, 03:12pm | 0 comments

The Whistleblower movie review: action drama with a big cultural barrier to overcome

Fri Dec 06 2019, 04:24pm | 0 comments

Frozen II movie review: the thaw sets in

Tue Dec 03 2019, 03:11pm | 0 comments

A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood movie review: the importance of radical kindness (#LFF2019)

Sun Nov 24 2019, 07:57pm | 0 comments

The Cave and For Sama documentaries review: life inside a war zone

Tue Nov 19 2019, 07:52pm | 0 comments

Making Waves: The Art of Cinematic Sound documentary review: why movies sound so great (even if you never noticed before)

Thu Nov 07 2019, 04:22pm | 0 comments

Harriet movie review: a true American hero finally gets her due (#LFF2019)

Tue Oct 29 2019, 07:56pm | 0 comments

Abominable movie review: a bit of a snow job

Sun Oct 13 2019, 10:59am | 0 comments

Good Posture movie review: growing up, still deferred

Sat Oct 05 2019, 02:28pm | 0 comments

Phoenix (Føniks) movie review: but will she rise again?

Fri Sep 13 2019, 04:50pm | 0 comments

Hustlers movie review: with hearts of steel

Thu Sep 12 2019, 01:51pm | 0 comments

Blinded by the Light movie review: bend it like The Boss

Sat Aug 10 2019, 06:06pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts