Quantcast
become a Patreon patron

film criticism by maryann johanson | since 1997

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm movie review: punching way the hell up (#AmazonPrime)

Thu Oct 22 2020, 11:31pm | 3 comments

All In: The Fight for Democracy documentary review: the pushback against voter suppression (#AmazonPrime)

Fri Oct 02 2020, 09:24pm | 0 comments

I Am Woman movie review: more a purr than a roar

Thu Oct 01 2020, 10:40pm | 0 comments

The Binge: Years and Years (#BBC/#HBO)

Thu Sep 24 2020, 04:23pm | 0 comments

H Is for Happiness movie review: Q is for Quirk, F is for Forced

Tue Sep 22 2020, 07:49pm | 0 comments

Blackbird movie review: the bell tolls, ever so tastefully

Mon Sep 21 2020, 09:49pm | 1 comment

Mulan (2020) movie review: girl (and film) at war with the world (#DisneyPlus)

Fri Sep 11 2020, 09:47pm | 11 comments

Bill & Ted Face the Music movie review: not-so-strange things are afoot…

Sat Aug 29 2020, 08:10pm | 12 comments

She Dies Tomorrow movie review: when it feels like we all die tomorrow

Wed Aug 19 2020, 06:44pm | 0 comments

The Secret Garden movie review: weedy with misplaced eeriness

Fri Aug 07 2020, 05:07pm | 0 comments

The Secret: Dare to Dream movie review: I’m positive this is awful

Tue Aug 04 2020, 10:53pm | 0 comments

Radioactive movie review: science, bitch (#AmazonPrime)

Sat Aug 01 2020, 06:28pm | 0 comments

Last and First Men movie review: a sobering message from the future (#EIFF2020)

Thu Jul 23 2020, 03:15pm | 0 comments

The Sunlit Night movie review: room to breathe and think in wide-open spaces

Wed Jul 15 2020, 06:30pm | 0 comments

The Old Guard movie review: saving the world, one century at a time (#Netflix)

Thu Jul 09 2020, 06:22pm | 0 comments

Little Girl (Petite Fille) documentary review: what little girls are made of (#EIFF2020)

Thu Jul 09 2020, 02:01pm | 0 comments

To Kid or Not to Kid and Seahorse: The Dad Who Gave Birth documentaries review: childfree or child-bound?

Wed Jul 01 2020, 06:36pm | 0 comments

Fanny Lye Deliver’d movie review: birth of the modern woman (#EIFF2020)

Sun Jun 28 2020, 07:43pm | 0 comments

My Spy movie review: and you can keep him, little girl (#AmazonPrime)

Thu Jun 25 2020, 01:51pm | 0 comments

Miss Juneteenth movie review: ordinary lives drawn with extraordinary grace

Wed Jun 17 2020, 02:52pm | 0 comments

Shirley movie review: lost girls gone mad

Wed Jun 10 2020, 06:46pm | 0 comments

The Vast of Night movie review: and vast of perspective (#AmazonPrime)

Wed Jun 03 2020, 06:43pm | 0 comments

The Lovebirds movie review: breaking up on the run (#Netflix)

Thu May 28 2020, 09:19pm | 0 comments

Inheritance movie review: ill fortune

Tue May 26 2020, 10:00pm | 0 comments

Lucky Grandma movie review: brittle old lady

Fri May 22 2020, 03:55pm | 0 comments

Becoming documentary review: hope floats (#Netflix)

Tue May 12 2020, 09:39pm | 0 comments

How to Build a Girl movie review: instruction manual not included

Wed May 06 2020, 06:19pm | 0 comments

The Assistant movie review: the realities of being a girl

Tue Apr 28 2020, 09:49pm | 0 comments

To the Stars movie review: run into the ground

Tue Apr 21 2020, 10:56pm | 0 comments

Extra Ordinary movie review: oh, the mundanity!

Sat Apr 18 2020, 10:13pm | 0 comments

Endings, Beginnings movie review: when it ends is the best part

Thu Apr 16 2020, 10:10pm | 0 comments

Beyond the Visible: Hilma af Klint documentary review: still way ahead of her time

Wed Apr 15 2020, 04:55pm | 0 comments

Who You Think I Am movie review: on the Internet, no one knows you’re a sexy French lady

Fri Apr 10 2020, 07:45pm | 0 comments

Never Rarely Sometimes Always movie review: the secret lives of girls and women

Tue Apr 07 2020, 08:03pm | 0 comments

Trolls: World Tour movie review: a cinematic Rubicon by dint of pandemic coincidence

Tue Apr 07 2020, 04:25pm | 0 comments

The Perfect Candidate movie review: a woman’s place is everywhere

Fri Apr 03 2020, 05:15pm | 0 comments

Tape movie review: her too

Wed Apr 01 2020, 08:05pm | 0 comments

Blow the Man Down movie review: redefining the femme fatale

Mon Mar 23 2020, 06:44pm | 0 comments

Lost Girls movie review: and still unfound (#Netflix)

Mon Mar 16 2020, 11:37pm | 0 comments

My Darling Vivian documentary review: from ardent lover to cold hard Cash (#SXSW2020)

Fri Mar 13 2020, 05:33pm | 0 comments

Saint Frances movie review: there will be blood — deal with it

Tue Mar 10 2020, 06:15pm | 0 comments

Swallow movie review: leaves a sour taste

Sun Mar 08 2020, 12:20pm | 0 comments

Military Wives movie review: tired choir dramedy needs to change the tune

Sat Mar 07 2020, 04:31pm | 0 comments

The Photograph movie review: love as a balancing act

Thu Mar 05 2020, 08:33pm | 0 comments

Push documentary review: why the rent is too damn high (and how to fix it)

Tue Mar 03 2020, 08:18pm | 0 comments

The Lodge movie review: stuck in miserably mushy snow

Thu Feb 27 2020, 07:44pm | 0 comments

Like a Boss movie review: it doesn’t quite fall down on the job

Sat Feb 22 2020, 07:10pm | 0 comments

Seberg movie review: inept tribute to a troubled movie star

Wed Feb 19 2020, 10:11pm | 0 comments

A Simple Wedding movie review: spoiler, it’s not so simple

Fri Feb 14 2020, 10:02pm | 0 comments

Emma. movie review: this queen bee has a bitter sting

Fri Feb 14 2020, 04:46pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts