Quantcast
please donate

since 1997 | by maryann johanson

Friend Request movie review: Facebook, a horror story (again)

Tue Sep 19 2017, 03:58pm | 2 comments

Ballerina (aka Leap!) movie review: lowering the barre

Mon Aug 21 2017, 07:37pm | 8 comments

Shin Godzilla (aka Godzilla Resurgence) movie review: big in Japan

Thu Aug 10 2017, 03:14pm | 6 comments

Dough movie review: it’s a bit too unleavened

Fri Jun 02 2017, 03:40pm | 0 comments

The Handmaiden movie review: the women pushing back against misogyny, thwarted by their own film

Fri Apr 14 2017, 05:49pm | 59 comments

Snowden movie review: the system’s self-correction

Mon Apr 03 2017, 09:47pm | 0 comments

My Life as a Zucchini (aka My Life as a Courgette) movie review: nutritious, filling, and delicious

Mon Mar 06 2017, 12:10pm | 0 comments

Patriots Day movie review: blurry portrait of a city

Mon Feb 27 2017, 05:33pm | 1 comment

20th Century Women movie review: sometimes it’s hard to be a woman

Tue Feb 07 2017, 12:49pm | 1 comment

A Good American documentary review: 9/11 didn’t have to happen

Thu Feb 02 2017, 08:51pm | 24 comments

Denial movie review: a film for the resistance

Mon Jan 30 2017, 10:14pm | 0 comments

Under the Shadow movie review: evil on the wind, and in the home

Thu Jan 26 2017, 08:18pm | 0 comments

Gold movie review: this mine is tapped out

Wed Jan 25 2017, 12:49pm | 0 comments

The Founder movie review: look at what the golden arches hath wrought

Mon Jan 16 2017, 09:36pm | 5 comments

La La Land movie review: city of stars, shining just for us

Fri Jan 13 2017, 10:35pm | 14 comments

Zero Days documentary review: the code war has begun

Thu Jan 12 2017, 12:58pm | 5 comments

Silence movie review: not golden

Mon Jan 09 2017, 07:29pm | 22 comments

Live by Night movie review: criminal tedium

Thu Jan 05 2017, 08:43pm | 5 comments

Operation Avalanche movie review: to the moon?

Thu Jan 05 2017, 03:18pm | 10 comments

Monster Trucks movie review: what a car-tastrophe

Wed Jan 04 2017, 08:43pm | 7 comments

A Monster Calls movie review: the monster is within us all

Tue Jan 03 2017, 09:37pm | 11 comments

Collateral Beauty movie review: there is no beauty in this

Thu Dec 29 2016, 09:59pm | 13 comments

Passengers movie review: lost in sexist space

Sat Dec 24 2016, 10:56pm | 351 comments

Hidden Figures movie review: triumph of the black girl geeks

Thu Dec 22 2016, 08:56pm | 23 comments

Sing movie review: hey, kids, let’s put on a show!

Mon Dec 19 2016, 01:07pm | 4 comments

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story movie review: the high price of hope

Fri Dec 16 2016, 02:57pm | 31 comments

Office Christmas Party movie review: messtivities

Tue Dec 13 2016, 10:45pm | 3 comments

Best and Most Beautiful Things documentary review: hacking “normal”

Thu Dec 08 2016, 10:35am | 1 comment

Frank & Lola movie review: the pain of men (it’s all women’s fault)

Thu Dec 08 2016, 08:49am | 8 comments

Miss Sloane movie review: what a piece of work is she

Mon Dec 05 2016, 10:59pm | 1 comment

Sully movie review: he’s good people (and so is everyone else)

Fri Dec 02 2016, 06:24pm | 7 comments

The Edge of Seventeen movie review: bleed for this

Thu Dec 01 2016, 02:53pm | 13 comments

Lo and Behold, Reveries of the Connected World documentary review: digital crazy quilt

Tue Nov 29 2016, 09:47pm | 1 comment

A United Kingdom movie review: a love that changed the world

Fri Nov 25 2016, 06:29pm | 6 comments

Bad Santa 2 movie review: been there, done that, licked the candy cane lasciviously

Thu Nov 24 2016, 02:52pm | 0 comments

Nanny Culture documentary review: not exactly Mary Poppins

Thu Nov 24 2016, 01:06pm | 0 comments

Moana movie review: the hero with a thousand faces finally has a female one

Tue Nov 22 2016, 01:02pm | 11 comments

Allied movie review: movie spies with delicious old-fashioned mystique

Mon Nov 21 2016, 02:08pm | 5 comments

A Street Cat Named Bob movie review: pussyfooting around reality

Fri Nov 18 2016, 09:35pm | 0 comments

The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble documentary review: stronger and (more danceable) together

Fri Nov 18 2016, 04:05pm | 0 comments

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie review: reparo movens ad imaginem

Thu Nov 17 2016, 10:22pm | 22 comments

Moonlight movie review: the empathy machine in action (but only if you’re watching)

Wed Nov 16 2016, 04:44pm | 25 comments

Bleed for This movie review: entirely bloodless

Mon Nov 14 2016, 08:28pm | 1 comment

Arrival movie review: how to talk to aliens and expand your consciousness

Tue Nov 08 2016, 10:11pm | 70 comments

The Uncondemned documentary review: the horrors of Rwanda, on trial

Mon Nov 07 2016, 05:34pm | 0 comments

The Accountant movie review: by the numbers but outside the lines

Fri Nov 04 2016, 05:26pm | 0 comments

Girls Lost (Pojkarna) movie review: girls found

Fri Nov 04 2016, 01:01pm | 0 comments

The Eagle Huntress documentary review: badass girl is badass even without embellishments to her story (#LFF2016)

Thu Nov 03 2016, 06:15pm | 0 comments

Before the Flood documentary review: DiCaprio takes celebrity climate-change advocacy to a new level (#LFF2016)

Wed Nov 02 2016, 12:54pm | 0 comments

Michael Moore in TrumpLand movie review: hope and humanity in a dark hour

Mon Oct 31 2016, 08:14pm | 2 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest