Quantcast
your £$ support needed

part of a small rebellion | by maryann johanson

All About Nina movie review: a woman owning her anger

Sun Sep 30 2018, 08:43pm | 4 comments

Crazy Rich Asians movie review: a Golden Age of Hollywood romance with an overdue fresh twist

Thu Sep 06 2018, 10:28pm | 13 comments

movies by or about women opening US/Can from Wed Jul 25

Fri Jul 27 2018, 10:35pm | 0 comments

Puzzle movie review: reclaiming the pieces of her life

Fri Jul 27 2018, 09:32pm | 1 comment

93Queen documentary review: women are doing it for themselves

Wed Jul 25 2018, 09:39pm | 0 comments

The First Purge movie review: a ‘Handmaid’s Tale’ for #BlackLivesMatter

Thu Jul 05 2018, 07:12am | 34 comments

Ocean’s Eight movie review: revenge of the women

Thu Jun 14 2018, 10:27pm | 26 comments

Studio 54 documentary review: inside the velvet ropes

Wed Jun 13 2018, 11:07am | 0 comments

movies by or about women opening UK/Ire from Wed Jun 06

Fri Jun 08 2018, 03:06pm | 0 comments

A Kid Like Jake movie review: the kid is all right; the parents are freaking out

Fri Jun 01 2018, 04:10pm | 3 comments

Show Dogs movie review: everything is awful

Fri May 18 2018, 09:11pm | 18 comments

The Boy Downstairs movie review: the ex factor

Thu Feb 22 2018, 03:08pm | 1 comment

movies by or about women opening US/Can from Wed Feb 14

Fri Feb 16 2018, 10:29pm | 0 comments

The Commuter movie review: on the wrong track

Mon Jan 15 2018, 04:23pm | 10 comments

movies by or about women opening US/Can from Fri Jan 12 (updated)

Fri Jan 12 2018, 09:27pm | 0 comments

Molly’s Game movie review: absolutely aces

Fri Dec 29 2017, 10:32pm | 7 comments

Menashe movie review: the unhappy nonconformist

Wed Dec 13 2017, 03:16pm | 0 comments

Wonder movie review: learning to be nice to a paragon

Wed Nov 15 2017, 02:45pm | 1 comment

The Light of the Moon movie review: ‘victim’ is not a dirty word

Fri Nov 03 2017, 04:51pm | 0 comments

Bushwick movie review: don’t mess with Brooklyn

Mon Oct 30 2017, 09:39pm | 24 comments

Thor: Ragnarok movie review: it’s only the end of the world

Fri Oct 27 2017, 07:20pm | 11 comments

#Raindance2017: In Another Life, Hello Again, Maya Dardel

Sat Sep 30 2017, 07:16pm | 0 comments

#Raindance2017: Black Hollow Cage, Stuck, Mukoku

Thu Sep 28 2017, 10:23pm | 2 comments

Landline movie review: love in the time before smartphones

Fri Jul 28 2017, 08:38pm | 4 comments

Spider-Man: Homecoming movie review: boys and their alien toys

Fri Jul 07 2017, 12:41am | 50 comments

Colossal movie review: becoming the monster

Wed May 03 2017, 09:49pm | 7 comments

The Lost City of Z movie review: archaeology was his religion

Tue Apr 18 2017, 10:26pm | 6 comments

Fast & Furious 8 (aka The Fate of the Furious) movie review: notes from the critics’ ward

Wed Apr 12 2017, 10:09pm | 21 comments

Going in Style movie review: pabulum and circuses

Fri Apr 07 2017, 07:54pm | 0 comments

Carrie Pilby movie review: how to be an intellectual romantic

Fri Mar 31 2017, 09:30pm | 3 comments

Catfight movie review: punches not pulled

Thu Mar 09 2017, 08:57pm | 1 comment

A Cure for Wellness movie review: it ails me

Fri Feb 24 2017, 03:39pm | 6 comments

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 06 2017, 06:42pm | 0 comments

Collateral Beauty movie review: there is no beauty in this

Thu Dec 29 2016, 09:59pm | 26 comments

Sully movie review: he’s good people (and so is everyone else)

Fri Dec 02 2016, 06:24pm | 7 comments

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie review: reparo movens ad imaginem

Thu Nov 17 2016, 10:22pm | 22 comments

Doctor Strange movie review: even Marvel is now tired of origin stories

Thu Oct 27 2016, 02:31pm | 83 comments

Ordinary World (aka Geezer) movie review: from manchild to midlife crisis

Wed Oct 26 2016, 07:12pm | 3 comments

The Girl on the Train movie review: in praise of flawed women

Thu Oct 06 2016, 11:48pm | 11 comments

#LFF2016: Ma’ Rosa, Pyromaniac, All This Panic

Thu Sep 29 2016, 02:24pm | 0 comments

The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years documentary review: yeah yeah yeah

Thu Sep 15 2016, 12:44pm | 13 comments

cult classic film virgin: Sid & Nancy

Wed Aug 31 2016, 06:10pm | 1 comment

Equity movie review: a disappointing return on investment

Tue Aug 30 2016, 12:14pm | 0 comments

The Intervention and There Is a New World Somewhere movies review: women on the verge

Thu Aug 25 2016, 02:18pm | 0 comments

Ghostbusters movie review: boo yeah!

Tue Jul 12 2016, 08:05pm | 95 comments

Weiner documentary review: the unchecked narcissism of politics

Thu Jul 07 2016, 09:53pm | 3 comments

The Secret Life of Pets movie review: dogs and cats living together…

Tue Jul 05 2016, 06:01pm | 3 comments

Margarita with a Straw movie review: this ain’t no pity party

Tue Jun 14 2016, 06:43pm | 0 comments

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows movie review: shell schlock

Mon May 30 2016, 10:00pm | 87 comments

Florence Foster Jenkins movie review: don’t worry that it’s not good enough for anyone else to hear

Fri May 06 2016, 09:23pm | 4 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest