Quantcast
please donate

biast | by maryann johanson

botox, breast implants, and dye jobs…

Sun May 02 2010, 04:52pm | 10 comments

even lady action heroes get the blues…

Sun Apr 25 2010, 11:51pm | 17 comments

Hit Girl hysteria…

Mon Apr 19 2010, 11:46am | 5 comments

it’s our culture of misogyny…

Mon Apr 12 2010, 04:35am | 7 comments

Jennifer Aniston may not want your help…

Sun Apr 04 2010, 07:07pm | 4 comments

win an Oscar, lose your husband?

Sun Mar 28 2010, 02:50pm | 2 comments

the Liz Lemoning of American pop culture…

Sun Mar 21 2010, 12:04pm | 12 comments

question of the day: Is geek culture female friendly?

Fri Mar 19 2010, 11:22am | 7 comments

Kathryn Bigelow’s Oscar win doesn’t *really* count…

Sun Mar 14 2010, 01:43pm | 4 comments

female directors barely exist…

Mon Mar 08 2010, 10:31pm | 0 comments

imagine if men were all but invisible onscreen…

Sun Feb 28 2010, 04:30pm | 0 comments

why do women pay to see crappy movies?

Sun Feb 21 2010, 03:07pm | 9 comments

pop culture misogyny so bad, even men notice it…

Sun Feb 14 2010, 01:59pm | 7 comments

‘Vanity Fair’ can recognize sexism and unfair treatment of women in Hollywood…

Mon Feb 08 2010, 12:12am | 3 comments

TV’s still very very bad for women writers…

Sun Jan 31 2010, 08:05pm | 3 comments

the destruction of humanity is not a woman’s fault, dammit…

Sun Jan 24 2010, 12:03pm | 322 comments

maybe it’s men who “just aren’t funny”…

Sun Jan 17 2010, 03:44pm | 19 comments

is Kathryn Bigelow female enough?…

Sun Jan 10 2010, 03:43pm | 16 comments

trailer break: ‘Sex and the City 2’

Mon Jan 04 2010, 12:05pm | 3 comments

feminist insists she isn’t one…

Sun Jan 03 2010, 05:42pm | 13 comments

women get vocal about men’s Hollywood power…

Sun Dec 20 2009, 08:48pm | 8 comments

everyone knows women directors are disasters at the box office…

Sun Dec 13 2009, 02:46pm | 3 comments

another female film critic departs…

Sat Dec 05 2009, 06:03pm | 17 comments

sex doesn’t sell, it turns out…

Sat Nov 28 2009, 07:28pm | 3 comments

the continued invisibility of women in Hollywood…

Sun Nov 22 2009, 12:52pm | 13 comments

women do *so* go to the movies…

Sat Nov 14 2009, 04:21pm | 14 comments

the Super Bowl for women will be hosted by men…

Sun Nov 08 2009, 01:04pm | 24 comments

yet more bullshit “explanations” for why there aren’t more movies about women…

Sun Nov 01 2009, 12:17pm | 69 comments

it’s hip to have no hips…

Sat Oct 24 2009, 06:38pm | 34 comments

some men get it, some men still don’t…

Sat Oct 17 2009, 03:40pm | 0 comments

the secret of Hollywood success? cheat women

Sun Oct 11 2009, 06:00pm | 0 comments

why is Hollywood defending a rapist?

Sat Oct 03 2009, 12:06pm | 27 comments

cooties alert for the Oscars!

Sat Sep 26 2009, 11:01am | 0 comments

is it “obsessive” to want to tell stories about women?

Sun Sep 20 2009, 10:17am | 15 comments

someone else notices that movies are hardly ever about women as people…

Sat Sep 12 2009, 11:21am | 1 comment

what if a gal doesn’t want movies as her mistress?

Sat Sep 05 2009, 08:49pm | 6 comments

Sandra Bullock needs to know her place…

Sat Aug 29 2009, 10:46am | 0 comments

time-traveling husbands are implausible, but aliens who like cat food aren’t?

Sat Aug 22 2009, 10:30am | 5 comments

Katherine Heigl would just shut up if she knew what was good for her…

Sat Aug 15 2009, 11:07am | 2 comments

no girl critics allowed…

Sat Aug 08 2009, 10:37am | 0 comments

old women are old, even when they’re not…

Sat Aug 01 2009, 10:07am | 0 comments

Judd Apatow doesn’t know what sexism is…

Sun Jul 26 2009, 01:27pm | 6 comments

there’s gonna be girls at Comic Con…

Sat Jul 18 2009, 12:10pm | 0 comments

yes, girls like movies too…

Sat Jul 11 2009, 07:40am | 1 comment

sixty-seven cents on the dollar would be an improvement…

Sat Jul 04 2009, 11:09am | 0 comments

trailer break: ‘Amelia’

Mon Jun 29 2009, 11:37am | 6 comments

no girls need apply…

Sat Jun 27 2009, 12:59pm | 41 comments

men, bless their blinded little hearts, really, really don’t get it…

Fri Jun 12 2009, 05:59pm | 20 comments

my new column: “The Week in Women”

Sat Jan 17 2009, 12:40pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest