Quantcast
become a Patreon patron

cultural vandal | by maryann johanson

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts 2019 (91st Academy Awards) review

Wed Feb 20 2019, 01:20pm | 0 comments

Fighting with My Family movie review: real fake

Tue Feb 19 2019, 05:49pm | 0 comments

The Mule movie review: the old man and the drugs

Tue Jan 29 2019, 10:48pm | 0 comments

On the Basis of Sex movie review: Notorious RBG’s origin story

Thu Jan 03 2019, 07:54pm | 0 comments

Welcome to Marwen movie review: toying with our sympathy

Wed Dec 19 2018, 09:51pm | 0 comments

Mary Queen of Scots movie review: not so good to be the queen…

Fri Dec 14 2018, 02:00pm | 0 comments

movies for the resistance: Schindler’s List

Mon Dec 03 2018, 05:18pm | 0 comments

3 Days in Quiberon movie review: a star is torn

Fri Nov 16 2018, 06:59pm | 2 comments

Green Book movie review: a road frequently taken, but a lovely trip nevertheless (#LFF2018)

Thu Nov 15 2018, 09:14pm | 1 comment

A Private War movie review: this is not fake news (#LFF2018)

Tue Nov 13 2018, 07:38pm | 1 comment

The Front Runner movie review: when politics turned tabloid (#LFF2018)

Tue Nov 06 2018, 10:16pm | 4 comments

Peterloo movie review: it’s a battle just to get through it

Thu Nov 01 2018, 08:35pm | 3 comments

Bohemian Rhapsody movie review: dynamite with a laser beam

Tue Oct 30 2018, 08:23pm | 16 comments

Beautiful Boy movie review: emotionally wrenching drug depiction (#LFF2018)

Thu Oct 25 2018, 04:33pm | 0 comments

First Man movie review: over the moon

Tue Oct 09 2018, 09:28pm | 7 comments

The Rider movie review: when the work that makes a man is taken away

Wed Sep 12 2018, 05:01pm | 2 comments

Memoir of War (La Douleur) movie review: woman on the homefront

Wed Aug 29 2018, 01:22pm | 0 comments

The Happy Prince movie review: in the gutter, looking at the stars

Fri Jun 15 2018, 04:18pm | 2 comments

Borg vs McEnroe movie review: they get served

Tue Apr 10 2018, 08:34pm | 0 comments

Sgt. Stubby: An American Hero movie review: dogged soldier

Mon Apr 09 2018, 08:28pm | 6 comments

Crowhurst movie review: the worse things that happen at sea

Fri Mar 23 2018, 09:22pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts 2018 (90th Academy Awards) review

Sun Mar 04 2018, 07:53pm | 1 comment

The 15:17 to Paris movie review: hell on wheels

Mon Feb 12 2018, 07:00pm | 7 comments

The Mercy movie review: a sea of troubles

Thu Feb 08 2018, 06:10pm | 4 comments

Winchester movie review: she hosts dead people

Sun Feb 04 2018, 03:22pm | 10 comments

12 Strong movie review: America enters the “graveyard of empires”

Fri Jan 26 2018, 08:33pm | 5 comments

Darkest Hour movie review: a surrender to open-and-shut history

Fri Jan 12 2018, 04:26pm | 18 comments

Final Portrait movie review: the not-so-fine making of fine art

Wed Jan 10 2018, 09:31pm | 4 comments

All the Money in the World movie review: cashed out

Tue Jan 02 2018, 10:38pm | 3 comments

Molly’s Game movie review: absolutely aces

Fri Dec 29 2017, 10:32pm | 7 comments

The Post movie review: printing truth to power

Fri Dec 29 2017, 09:34pm | 2 comments

I, Tonya movie review: a woman at war with herself

Thu Dec 14 2017, 04:53pm | 5 comments

The Disaster Artist movie review: a view on ‘The Room’

Tue Dec 05 2017, 02:56pm | 15 comments

The Fencer (Miekkailija) movie review: en garde against yourself

Thu Nov 30 2017, 10:28pm | 4 comments

Marie Curie: The Courage of Knowledge movie review: so hot she’s radioactive

Thu Nov 23 2017, 07:53pm | 3 comments

The Man Who Invented Christmas movie review: but would Charles Dickens approve?

Tue Nov 21 2017, 01:53pm | 19 comments

Only the Brave movie review: the men who tame wildfires

Tue Nov 14 2017, 02:27pm | 4 comments

The Death of Stalin movie review: the great dictator

Wed Oct 25 2017, 04:53pm | 6 comments

Professor Marston & the Wonder Women movie review: secret identities (#LFF2017)

Mon Oct 16 2017, 10:00pm | 12 comments

Breathe movie review: paralyzed but determined to be mobile (#LFF2017)

Wed Oct 11 2017, 09:11pm | 1 comment

#Raindance2017: In Another Life, Hello Again, Maya Dardel

Sat Sep 30 2017, 07:16pm | 0 comments

American Made movie review: they’re quite bad fellas, in fact

Mon Sep 25 2017, 10:30pm | 5 comments

Battle of the Sexes movie review: totally ace

Thu Sep 21 2017, 04:54pm | 137 comments

Victoria & Abdul movie review: one of her best friends was brown

Fri Sep 15 2017, 05:31pm | 5 comments

My Pure Land movie review: meet a real-life heroine in a land that really doesn’t want her

Thu Sep 14 2017, 08:21pm | 1 comment

Detroit movie review: racism 101 for white people

Thu Aug 31 2017, 09:11pm | 28 comments

La Soledad movie review: life and beauty among the ruins

Fri Aug 18 2017, 03:45pm | 0 comments

The Big Sick movie review: girlfriend in a coma, the rom-com

Fri Jul 28 2017, 03:23pm | 12 comments

Hounds of Love movie review: serial-killer porn

Thu Jul 27 2017, 06:31pm | 1 comment

Dunkirk movie review: the power of purpose

Wed Jul 19 2017, 10:32pm | 17 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest