Quantcast
become a Patreon patron

maryann johanson | takeaway only

My Darling Vivian documentary review: from ardent lover to cold hard Cash (#SXSW2020)

Fri Mar 13 2020, 05:33pm | 0 comments

Push documentary review: why the rent is too damn high (and how to fix it)

Tue Mar 03 2020, 08:18pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts 2020 (92nd Academy Awards) review

Sun Feb 09 2020, 09:30pm | 0 comments

Citizen K documentary review: behind the new Cold War

Thu Feb 06 2020, 04:18pm | 0 comments

What She Said: The Art of Pauline Kael documentary review: art and trash in measured quantities

Sun Dec 15 2019, 09:04pm | 0 comments

The Cave and For Sama documentaries review: life inside a war zone

Tue Nov 19 2019, 07:52pm | 0 comments

Making Waves: The Art of Cinematic Sound documentary review: why movies sound so great (even if you never noticed before)

Thu Nov 07 2019, 04:22pm | 0 comments

The Cat Rescuers documentary review: being the change you want to see in the world

Thu Oct 17 2019, 07:44pm | 0 comments

Bethany Hamilton: Unstoppable documentary review: she was born to surf

Thu Oct 17 2019, 05:04pm | 0 comments

Armstrong documentary review: the man we put on the Moon

Mon Jul 08 2019, 10:18pm | 0 comments

Maiden documentary review: around the world in feminist ways

Sat Jun 29 2019, 12:12am | 0 comments

Apollo 11 documentary review: you are there, on the Moon (#SundanceLondon2019)

Fri Jun 28 2019, 08:42pm | 0 comments

Free Trip to Egypt documentary review: busting through bigotry

Tue Jun 11 2019, 09:42pm | 0 comments

XY Chelsea documentary review: the truth will out

Fri May 24 2019, 05:14pm | 0 comments

Homecoming: A Film by Beyoncé documentary review: Beychella inside and out (#Netflix)

Tue May 14 2019, 09:43pm | 0 comments

Hail Satan? documentary review: the devil you say

Thu Apr 18 2019, 06:06pm | 0 comments

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché documentary review: the movie pioneer you’ve never heard of

Tue Apr 16 2019, 09:39pm | 0 comments

Amazon Adventure 3D documentary review: historical jungle expedition, for science

Wed Apr 10 2019, 04:27pm | 0 comments

Blowin’ Up documentary review: women getting shit done

Mon Apr 01 2019, 10:25pm | 0 comments

The Brink documentary review: a nasty piece of work

Thu Mar 28 2019, 09:53pm | 0 comments

Children of the Snow Land documentary review: an epic journey… to and from school

Wed Mar 13 2019, 08:37pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts 2019 (91st Academy Awards) review

Tue Feb 19 2019, 10:19pm | 0 comments

Hale County This Morning, This Evening documentary review: a flow of time and hope

Fri Jan 18 2019, 06:34pm | 0 comments

Voices of the Sea documentary review: when home cannot nurture a family

Fri Jan 11 2019, 01:57pm | 0 comments

Family in Transition documentary review: weathering change at home (#DOCNYC2018)

Fri Nov 30 2018, 08:05pm | 0 comments

Under the Wire documentary review: journalists under fire in Syria

Wed Nov 14 2018, 05:06pm | 0 comments

They Shall Not Grow Old documentary review: more museum exhibit than movie (#LFF2018)

Sun Nov 11 2018, 08:21pm | 0 comments

Weed the People documentary review: do-it-yourself medicine in 21st-century America

Fri Oct 26 2018, 09:00pm | 1 comment

Fahrenheit 11/9 documentary review: America is burning (#LFF2018)

Tue Oct 23 2018, 08:34pm | 8 comments

Science Fair documentary review: these kids today, with their changing the world…

Fri Sep 28 2018, 12:52pm | 0 comments

Matangi/Maya/M.I.A. documentary review: the multiple identities of a modern artist

Wed Sep 26 2018, 10:18pm | 0 comments

Jane Fonda in Five Acts documentary review: the political is her personal

Sun Sep 23 2018, 09:49pm | 2 comments

Tea with the Dames (aka Nothing Like a Dame) documentary review: legends speak

Thu Sep 20 2018, 09:45pm | 0 comments

Do You Trust This Computer? documentary review: artificial intelligence is already here

Fri Aug 17 2018, 09:53pm | 0 comments

93Queen documentary review: women are doing it for themselves

Wed Jul 25 2018, 09:39pm | 0 comments

Whitney documentary review: an 80s icon contemplated, venerated, mourned

Tue Jul 03 2018, 07:00pm | 1 comment

Eating Animals documentary review: where’s the beef (coming from)?

Fri Jun 15 2018, 10:38pm | 0 comments

Studio 54 documentary review: inside the velvet ropes

Wed Jun 13 2018, 11:07am | 0 comments

Westwood: Punk, Icon, Activist documentary review: counterculture’s wise elder woman

Sun Jun 10 2018, 04:25pm | 2 comments

Half the Picture documentary review: a woman’s place is behind the camera (#SundanceLondon2018)

Fri Jun 08 2018, 08:07pm | 1 comment

McQueen documentary review: the tragedy of the fashion provocateur

Fri Jun 08 2018, 01:47pm | 0 comments

My Generation documentary review: when London was swinging

Thu May 31 2018, 03:36pm | 6 comments

Saving Brinton documentary review: the man with a mission to rescue a slice of cinema history

Thu May 17 2018, 04:18pm | 1 comment

New Town Utopia documentary review: the future that never was

Fri May 04 2018, 10:55am | 0 comments

The Judge documentary review: social (and legal) justice warrior

Thu May 03 2018, 08:21pm | 2 comments

RBG documentary review: though she be but little she is fierce

Mon Apr 30 2018, 03:38pm | 6 comments

Mercury 13 documentary review: the even righter stuff

Mon Apr 23 2018, 10:46pm | 83 comments

Even When I Fall documentary review: a big enough tent for all

Wed Apr 11 2018, 06:43pm | 0 comments

In the Land of Pomegranates documentary review: is the Middle East fixable?

Sun Mar 11 2018, 10:09pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts 2018 (90th Academy Awards) review

Mon Mar 05 2018, 12:15am | 1 comment

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest