Quantcast
please donate

since 1997 | by maryann johanson

curated: the grim, cynical pop culture of the Trump era

Wed Aug 30 2017, 07:30pm | 14 comments

curated: Trump’s state-sponsored propaganda

Tue Aug 08 2017, 10:00pm | 1 comment

a running tally of all the artists and intellectuals hassled by border agents or actually kept out of America under Trump

Sat Jun 17 2017, 08:02pm | 22 comments

curated: ‘The Great Dictator,’ starring Donald Trump

Sat Jun 03 2017, 07:57pm | 0 comments

curated: suppression of the free press in Trump’s America turns violent

Thu May 25 2017, 05:56pm | 4 comments

curated: ‘The Simpsons’ on Trump’s first 100 days

Thu Apr 27 2017, 08:30pm | 0 comments

CHiPs movie review: they promised chip would happen, and it did

Mon Mar 27 2017, 10:22pm | 17 comments

T2 Trainspotting movie review: GenX running out of steam but chugging on

Wed Mar 22 2017, 09:31pm | 0 comments

curated: all the indie film orgs that will lose money under NEA cuts

Mon Mar 20 2017, 03:50pm | 0 comments

curated: “Trumped” (or “Springtime for Bannon”)

Mon Mar 13 2017, 06:50pm | 0 comments

curated: Gaston = Trump?

Wed Mar 08 2017, 11:34am | 3 comments

Viceroy’s House movie review: are we condemned to repeat this?

Thu Mar 02 2017, 02:29pm | 2 comments

curated: the NEA is not compatible with the Trump agenda

Thu Feb 23 2017, 06:19pm | 3 comments

curated: the accidental avant garde hilarity of Breitbart News

Mon Feb 13 2017, 04:39pm | 5 comments

curated: Christine Baranski totally down to play Betsy DeVos on SNL

Fri Feb 10 2017, 10:17am | 11 comments

curated: Hollywood talent agency ditches its Oscar party to donate $250k to ACLU

Thu Feb 09 2017, 08:04pm | 1 comment

curated: Rosie O’Donnell must play Steve Bannon on SNL

Tue Feb 07 2017, 01:47pm | 1 comment

curated: ‘The Bowling Green Massacre,’ directed by Peter Berg (starring Mark Wahlberg)

Mon Feb 06 2017, 12:01pm | 1 comment

curated: yes, of course Lady Gaga’s Super Bowl performance was political

Mon Feb 06 2017, 11:51am | 2 comments

A Good American documentary review: 9/11 didn’t have to happen

Thu Feb 02 2017, 08:51pm | 24 comments

doc ‘Chasing Asylum’ has background on Trump’s “dumb deal”

Thu Feb 02 2017, 01:26pm | 0 comments

curated: neglecting the arts and sciences is the opposite of making America great

Wed Feb 01 2017, 05:25pm | 7 comments

curated: Donald Trump and Nigel Tufnel, separated at birth?

Tue Jan 31 2017, 03:22pm | 0 comments

curated: Trump’s Muslim ban will keep Asghar Farhadi from attending Oscars

Sat Jan 28 2017, 08:47pm | 6 comments

curated: behold the White House press release trumpeting Trump’s reviews

Wed Jan 25 2017, 03:30pm | 5 comments

curated: the Netherlands trolls Trump…

Wed Jan 25 2017, 02:00pm | 2 comments

curated: journalism is not a crime

Wed Jan 25 2017, 01:55pm | 1 comment

curated: the truth about Trump’s White House

Tue Jan 24 2017, 10:59pm | 1 comment

curated: ‘Doctor Who’ predicted “alternative facts” 40 years ago

Mon Jan 23 2017, 01:43pm | 14 comments

curated: Donald Trump wants to end the open Internet in the US

Mon Jan 23 2017, 01:40pm | 0 comments

Antarctica: Ice and Sky (aka Ice and the Sky) (La glace et le ciel) documentary review: how we know we are burning the planet

Fri Jan 20 2017, 08:54pm | 0 comments

it’s the hope I can’t stand…

Fri Jan 20 2017, 04:09pm | 26 comments

curated: Trump plans to cut support for the arts…

Thu Jan 19 2017, 05:38pm | 0 comments

curated: Vogon poetry to honor Donald Trump

Wed Jan 18 2017, 02:38pm | 4 comments

curated: an open letter from the American press to Donald Trump

Wed Jan 18 2017, 02:35pm | 0 comments

curated: actors are allowed to speak publicly about their political opinions

Mon Jan 16 2017, 04:45pm | 8 comments

curated: yes, the press *is* the opposition party

Mon Jan 16 2017, 04:43pm | 0 comments

curated: Trump’s inauguration, or an episode of ‘The Twilight Zone’?

Mon Jan 16 2017, 04:41pm | 1 comment

curated: all the ways in which journalism will be subverted in Trump’s America

Fri Jan 13 2017, 07:25pm | 2 comments

curated: did a 1950s TV Western predict Donald Trump?

Tue Jan 10 2017, 12:08pm | 32 comments

curated: the Meryl Streep Golden Globes speech in which she smacks Donald Trump

Mon Jan 09 2017, 08:35pm | 47 comments

curated: why it matters that entertainers are snubbing Donald Trump

Mon Jan 02 2017, 04:22pm | 2 comments

curated: the Rockettes don’t want to be forced to dance for Donald Trump

Sun Dec 25 2016, 12:19am | 5 comments

curated: satire, now more than ever

Sun Dec 25 2016, 12:13am | 1 comment

curated: why it’s no surprise that Teen Vogue is covering Donald Trump

Mon Dec 19 2016, 08:06pm | 0 comments

curated: the relationship between authoritarianism and entertainment

Wed Dec 07 2016, 08:58am | 5 comments

curated: Pussy Riot has a warning for the US

Mon Dec 05 2016, 06:17am | 0 comments

curated: get a free ebook copy of Sinclair Lewis’s ‘It Can’t Happen Here’

Sun Dec 04 2016, 04:36pm | 1 comment

A United Kingdom movie review: a love that changed the world

Fri Nov 25 2016, 06:29pm | 6 comments

curated: the US press are a bunch of spineless toadies

Tue Nov 22 2016, 02:16pm | 2 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest