Quantcast
become a Patreon patron

rare female film critic | by maryann johanson

crappy TV is a universal human constant (and other adventures in social networking)

Wed Jan 30 2013, 10:33pm | 0 comments

you won’t be able to unsee this horrifying and yet mesmerizing 1980s Hobbit book art (and other adventures in social networking)

Tue Jan 29 2013, 11:15pm | 0 comments

only men do SF/F adventuring, of course (and other adventures in social networking)

Mon Jan 28 2013, 11:14pm | 0 comments

Movie 43 flops because of bad weather and grumpy critics — all true! (and other adventures in social networking)

Sun Jan 27 2013, 10:22pm | 0 comments

monsters invade thrift store paintings! (and other adventures in social networking)

Sat Jan 26 2013, 11:25pm | 0 comments

Inigo Montoya upsets air travelers (and other adventures in social networking)

Fri Jan 25 2013, 02:04am | 0 comments

Benedict Cumberbatch, unsexy (and other adventures in social networking)

Thu Jan 24 2013, 12:15am | 6 comments

Downton Abbey a threat to the Left, Fox News desperately wants to believe (and other adventures in social networking)

Wed Jan 23 2013, 12:48am | 0 comments

the cool reason why J.K. Rowling isn’t a billionaire anymore (and other adventures in social networking)

Tue Jan 22 2013, 12:40am | 0 comments

how I knew Star Trek: Voyager was going to suck (and other adventures in social networking)

Sun Jan 20 2013, 11:14pm | 9 comments

because only horny straight guys buy tech… (and other adventures in social networking)

Fri Jan 18 2013, 11:51pm | 0 comments

journalmalism caused the Manti Te’o fiasco (and other adventures in social networking)

Fri Jan 18 2013, 01:20am | 0 comments

the audacity of Lena Dunham (and other adventures in social networking)

Wed Jan 16 2013, 11:57pm | 2 comments

Bela Lugosi as Jesus will blow your mind (and other adventures in social networking)

Tue Jan 15 2013, 10:23pm | 13 comments

the 19th-century painting that inspired blockbuster movie posters (and other adventures in social networking)

Mon Jan 14 2013, 10:41pm | 0 comments

hey, remember what happened to Wash in Serenity? (and other adventures in social networking)

Mon Jan 14 2013, 01:12am | 5 comments

fun stuff from FlickFilosopher stats week of Jan 5-11 2013

Sun Jan 13 2013, 02:56pm | 0 comments

corporate journalmalism at its finest (and other adventures in social networking)

Fri Jan 11 2013, 10:57pm | 0 comments

Hollywood’s *real* bias (and other adventures in social networking)

Thu Jan 10 2013, 11:50pm | 0 comments

Fox News ignores “hottest year on record” story (and other adventures in social networking)

Wed Jan 09 2013, 11:53pm | 4 comments

OFCS and AWFJ announce 2012 award winners (and other adventures in social networking)

Wed Jan 09 2013, 12:12am | 0 comments

Raiders of the Lost Ark. in black and white. total cinemagasm (and other adventures in social networking)

Fri Dec 21 2012, 01:20am | 0 comments

this is the abuse that women who dare to speak online face

Thu Dec 20 2012, 11:44am | 0 comments

beer here! Game of Thrones beer here! (and other adventures in social networking)

Thu Dec 20 2012, 01:41am | 0 comments

no, Hollywood is not to blame for Newtown (and other adventures in social networking)

Tue Dec 18 2012, 11:09pm | 0 comments

the Doctor meets Dali… (and other adventures in social networking)

Mon Dec 17 2012, 11:57pm | 0 comments

once again, The Onion has the pulse of the nation (and other adventures in social networking)

Fri Dec 14 2012, 11:49pm | 0 comments

the worst reality-TV lawsuit ever? (and other adventures in social networking)

Fri Dec 14 2012, 01:08am | 0 comments

why media embargoes are a buzzkill (and other adventures in social networking)

Thu Dec 13 2012, 12:19am | 0 comments

just go ahead and download Neil Finn’s lovely Hobbit tune now (and other adventures in social networking)

Tue Dec 11 2012, 11:39pm | 0 comments

it’s like Bret Easton Ellis just can’t help being a sexist jerk (and other adventures in social networking)

Mon Dec 10 2012, 10:51pm | 0 comments

Psy singing about killing people is, of course, way worse than *actually* killing people (and other adventures in social networking)

Sun Dec 09 2012, 10:16pm | 0 comments

NYC as Middle Earth — welcome to the Mines of Astoria (and other adventures in social networking)

Sat Dec 08 2012, 11:15pm | 0 comments

bow before the sci-fi nativity (and other adventures in social networking)

Sat Dec 08 2012, 12:25am | 0 comments

the yin/yang of Han Solo and Mal Reynolds (and other adventures in social networking)

Fri Dec 07 2012, 01:41am | 2 comments

how not to do feminism and film (and other adventures in social networking)

Wed Dec 05 2012, 11:20pm | 0 comments

if crap sells, who needs critics? (and other adventures in social networking)

Tue Dec 04 2012, 10:58pm | 0 comments

telecommunications in America: crappy and overpriced (and other adventures in social networking)

Tue Dec 04 2012, 12:38am | 0 comments

final video production diary for the first Hobbit film (and other adventures in social networking)

Fri Nov 30 2012, 11:38pm | 0 comments

filthy hobbitses… (and other adventures in social networking)

Thu Nov 29 2012, 11:55pm | 0 comments

Skyfall is saying something profound to UK audiences (and other adventures in social networking)

Thu Nov 29 2012, 12:06am | 0 comments

piracy funds movies and music? (and other adventures in social networking)

Wed Nov 28 2012, 12:15am | 0 comments

even film isn’t on film anymore (and other adventures in social networking)

Sun Nov 25 2012, 11:44pm | 0 comments

imagine a David Cronenberg Return of the Jedi (and other adventures in social networking)

Sat Nov 24 2012, 02:03am | 0 comments

Sigourney Weaver did Alien like it was Shakespeare (and other adventures in social networking)

Thu Nov 22 2012, 11:51pm | 0 comments

male film critic is affected by misogyny, so now it’s news (and other adventures in social networking)

Thu Nov 22 2012, 08:33am | 0 comments

I found the worst thing about Twilight (and other adventures in social networking)

Sun Nov 18 2012, 11:08pm | 0 comments

Honey Boo Boo in trash (and other adventures in social networking)

Sun Nov 18 2012, 12:14am | 4 comments

Tom Hanks knows what Doctor Who is (and other adventures in social networking)

Fri Nov 16 2012, 10:59pm | 2 comments

Benedict Cumberbatch + Monty Python — this is real (and other adventures in social networking)

Thu Nov 15 2012, 11:54pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest