Quantcast
become a Patreon patron

maryann johanson, ruining movies since 1997

Joker movie review: sad clown, bad clown, not at all a rad clown

Wed Oct 02 2019, 08:05pm | 0 comments

Luce movie review: whom to believe, and what that says about us

Mon Sep 30 2019, 06:15pm | 0 comments

Official Secrets movie review: blow all the whistles

Mon Sep 23 2019, 08:31pm | 0 comments

Phoenix (Føniks) movie review: but will she rise again?

Fri Sep 13 2019, 04:50pm | 0 comments

Hustlers movie review: with hearts of steel

Thu Sep 12 2019, 01:51pm | 0 comments

Mrs Lowry & Son movie review: portrait of the artist as an abused man

Fri Sep 06 2019, 05:01pm | 0 comments

It: Chapter Two movie review: it doesn’t float

Wed Sep 04 2019, 05:37pm | 0 comments

Gwen movie review: a frisson of fright on the farm

Fri Aug 16 2019, 01:56pm | 0 comments

Brian Banks movie review: calling out corruption, mildly

Thu Aug 15 2019, 06:28pm | 0 comments

Vita & Virginia movie review: the 1920s London literary scene, drained of all passion

Sun Jul 07 2019, 09:16pm | 0 comments

Midsommar movie review: välkommen to weird Ikea

Fri Jul 05 2019, 05:59pm | 0 comments

Endzeit (Ever After) movie review: there will come soft rains

Fri Jun 21 2019, 10:15pm | 0 comments

X-Men: Dark Phoenix movie review: dark matter, done way too light

Wed Jun 05 2019, 10:16pm | 0 comments

Rocketman movie review: what makes a rock star, and what unmakes him

Wed May 29 2019, 09:00am | 0 comments

Trial by Fire and My Days of Mercy movies review: two (rare) new dramas about the US death penalty

Thu May 23 2019, 01:33pm | 0 comments

Tolkien movie review: it doesn’t wander, but it’s lost

Wed May 08 2019, 02:19pm | 0 comments

Avengers: Endgame movie review: with a bang *and* a whimper

Wed May 01 2019, 05:16pm | 0 comments

Bel Canto movie review: Stockholm syndrome, a love story

Fri Apr 26 2019, 12:17pm | 0 comments

William movie review: weird — and dangerous — science

Thu Apr 25 2019, 04:39pm | 0 comments

The Silence movie review: I have only the faintest of muted praise (#Netflix)

Tue Apr 23 2019, 09:29pm | 0 comments

Greta movie review: twisted sisterhood

Fri Apr 19 2019, 03:27pm | 0 comments

Red Joan movie review: it doesn’t bomb, but it fizzles

Thu Apr 18 2019, 02:51pm | 0 comments

Dagenham movie review: lost in London

Wed Apr 17 2019, 07:52pm | 0 comments

Nervous Translation movie review: home alone, with only her imagination for company

Tue Apr 16 2019, 02:30pm | 0 comments

Pet Sematary (2019) movie review: bad things happen when you leave the city

Wed Apr 03 2019, 05:27pm | 0 comments

The White Crow movie review: nothing to crow about

Fri Mar 29 2019, 02:22pm | 0 comments

Out of Blue movie review: murder most muted

Fri Mar 22 2019, 09:19pm | 0 comments

The Crossing (Guo Chun Tian) movie review: smuggler’s blahs

Fri Mar 22 2019, 03:35pm | 0 comments

The Fight movie review: a woman’s struggle is real…

Sat Mar 16 2019, 05:01pm | 0 comments

Five Feet Apart movie review: love/sick teen romance

Thu Mar 14 2019, 02:53pm | 0 comments

Doctor Who: “Logopolis” Fathom Event review: it’s the end, but the moment has been prepared for

Wed Mar 06 2019, 02:03pm | 0 comments

Everybody Knows (Todos lo saben) movie review: weak wedding whodunnit

Mon Mar 04 2019, 09:27pm | 0 comments

The Aftermath movie review: don’t mention the war…

Fri Mar 01 2019, 09:59pm | 0 comments

Serenity movie review: gonna need a bigger nope

Thu Feb 28 2019, 01:41pm | 0 comments

Capernaum movie review: a child’s real-life horror

Fri Feb 22 2019, 03:17pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts 2019 (91st Academy Awards) review

Wed Feb 20 2019, 01:20pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts 2019 (91st Academy Awards) review

Tue Feb 19 2019, 09:13pm | 0 comments

If Beale Street Could Talk movie review: a velvet fist of love and strength

Fri Feb 08 2019, 08:48pm | 0 comments

Burning (Beoning) movie review: same old Mr Nice Guy

Thu Jan 31 2019, 02:48pm | 0 comments

The Mule movie review: the old man and the drugs

Tue Jan 29 2019, 10:48pm | 0 comments

Nina movie review: dreary would-be sexual melodrama

Fri Jan 25 2019, 01:02pm | 0 comments

Glass movie review: superhero ’splaining

Tue Jan 22 2019, 11:18pm | 0 comments

Destroyer movie review: holding out for an antiheroine

Sat Jan 19 2019, 09:14pm | 0 comments

On the Basis of Sex movie review: Notorious RBG’s origin story

Thu Jan 03 2019, 07:54pm | 0 comments

Polina movie review: what it takes to dance ballet

Thu Dec 20 2018, 03:54pm | 0 comments

Mary Queen of Scots movie review: not so good to be the queen…

Fri Dec 14 2018, 02:00pm | 0 comments

movies for the resistance: Schindler’s List

Mon Dec 03 2018, 05:18pm | 0 comments

Creed II movie review: a bout of familiarity

Fri Nov 30 2018, 02:58pm | 0 comments

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald movie review: the crimes of this movie, though…

Tue Nov 20 2018, 01:09pm | 10 comments

3 Days in Quiberon movie review: a star is torn

Fri Nov 16 2018, 06:59pm | 2 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest