Quantcast
please donate

since 1997 | by maryann johanson

Professor Marston & the Wonder Women movie review: secret identities (#LFF2017)

Mon Oct 16 2017, 10:00pm | 1 comment

Breathe movie review: paralyzed but determined to be mobile (#LFF2017)

Wed Oct 11 2017, 09:11pm | 0 comments

Blade Runner 2049 movie review: a rickety retro replicant

Mon Oct 09 2017, 01:31pm | 81 comments

#Raindance2017: In Another Life, Hello Again, Maya Dardel

Sat Sep 30 2017, 07:16pm | 0 comments

#Raindance2017: Black Hollow Cage, Stuck, Mukoku

Thu Sep 28 2017, 10:23pm | 2 comments

Battle of the Sexes movie review: totally ace

Thu Sep 21 2017, 04:54pm | 80 comments

My Pure Land movie review: meet a real-life heroine in a land that really doesn’t want her

Thu Sep 14 2017, 08:21pm | 1 comment

mother! movie review: from WTF to STFU

Mon Sep 11 2017, 04:30pm | 185 comments

God’s Own Country movie review: the cultivation of love

Fri Sep 01 2017, 02:42pm | 2 comments

Detroit movie review: racism 101 for white people

Thu Aug 31 2017, 09:11pm | 13 comments

La Soledad movie review: life and beauty among the ruins

Fri Aug 18 2017, 03:45pm | 0 comments

Scribe (La mécanique de l’ombre) movie review: all tapped out

Fri Jul 21 2017, 12:43pm | 0 comments

Dunkirk movie review: the power of purpose

Wed Jul 19 2017, 10:32pm | 17 comments

War for the Planet of the Apes movie review: empathy for the ape

Mon Jul 10 2017, 06:15pm | 8 comments

The Midwife (Sage femme) movie review: the birth pangs of midlife renewal

Sat Jul 08 2017, 06:58pm | 2 comments

The Beguiled movie review: horror of manners

Fri Jun 30 2017, 10:36pm | 18 comments

Megan Leavey movie review: a soldier and her dog

Fri Jun 23 2017, 03:15pm | 7 comments

The Bad Batch movie review: a girl walks into dystopia alone

Fri Jun 23 2017, 03:08am | 2 comments

The Journey movie review: a civil end to war

Thu Jun 15 2017, 07:27pm | 0 comments

Churchill movie review: stumbling over truth

Thu Jun 01 2017, 03:06pm | 9 comments

The Levelling movie review: down on the farm

Fri May 12 2017, 03:21pm | 1 comment

Unlocked movie review: the spy who broke the female mold

Fri May 05 2017, 06:24pm | 0 comments

Lowriders movie review: slow and furious

Thu May 04 2017, 04:59pm | 9 comments

Below Her Mouth movie review: not that there’s anything wrong with that

Fri Apr 28 2017, 09:52pm | 1 comment

Lady Macbeth movie review: the serpent under the innocent flower

Fri Apr 28 2017, 06:42pm | 12 comments

Queen of the Desert movie review: Gertrude Bell gets forgotten again

Wed Apr 26 2017, 08:30pm | 2 comments

Unforgettable movie review: toxic femininity

Mon Apr 24 2017, 06:31pm | 3 comments

Clash (Eshtebak) movie review: the view from inside social upheaval

Fri Apr 21 2017, 02:54pm | 0 comments

The Lost City of Z movie review: archaeology was his religion

Tue Apr 18 2017, 10:26pm | 6 comments

The Handmaiden movie review: the women pushing back against misogyny, thwarted by their own film

Fri Apr 14 2017, 05:49pm | 59 comments

City of Tiny Lights movie review: mushy modern noir

Thu Apr 06 2017, 05:06pm | 3 comments

Aftermath movie review: a series of unfortunate events

Thu Apr 06 2017, 01:52pm | 1 comment

Snowden movie review: the system’s self-correction

Mon Apr 03 2017, 09:47pm | 0 comments

Bokeh movie review: blurry, lonely lives at the end of the world

Thu Mar 30 2017, 06:22pm | 19 comments

Another Mother’s Son movie review: punching Nazis, mom style

Thu Mar 23 2017, 06:52pm | 3 comments

Mean Dreams movie review: Paxton et justitia

Sun Mar 19 2017, 08:05pm | 0 comments

Personal Shopper movie review: shadows of sorrow

Fri Mar 17 2017, 04:37pm | 0 comments

The Ottoman Lieutenant movie review: erasing the past with sleight of cinematic hand

Fri Mar 10 2017, 06:34pm | 46 comments

The Chamber movie review: hell and high water

Fri Mar 10 2017, 03:37pm | 2 comments

My Life as a Zucchini (aka My Life as a Courgette) movie review: nutritious, filling, and delicious

Mon Mar 06 2017, 12:10pm | 0 comments

Viceroy’s House movie review: are we condemned to repeat this?

Thu Mar 02 2017, 02:29pm | 2 comments

Logan movie review: wounded Wolverine, dangerous beast

Mon Feb 27 2017, 10:08pm | 45 comments

Patriots Day movie review: blurry portrait of a city

Mon Feb 27 2017, 05:33pm | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Thu Feb 23 2017, 06:09pm | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 20 2017, 04:46pm | 0 comments

XX movie review: women filmmakers bring a feminine bent to horror

Fri Feb 17 2017, 12:49am | 5 comments

Fifty Shades Darker movie review: where is the fantasy?

Tue Feb 14 2017, 11:13am | 36 comments

The Salesman movie review: marriage, Iranian style

Wed Feb 01 2017, 04:16pm | 2 comments

Denial movie review: a film for the resistance

Mon Jan 30 2017, 10:14pm | 0 comments

The White King movie review: a boy’s-eye view on dystopia

Thu Jan 26 2017, 10:26pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest