Quantcast
your £$ support needed

part of a small rebellion | by maryann johanson

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald movie review: the crimes of this movie, though…

Tue Nov 20 2018, 01:09pm | 4 comments

3 Days in Quiberon movie review: a star is torn

Fri Nov 16 2018, 06:59pm | 2 comments

A Private War movie review: this is not fake news (#LFF2018)

Tue Nov 13 2018, 07:38pm | 1 comment

Widows movie review: the women left to clean up men’s messes (#LFF2018)

Fri Nov 09 2018, 08:58pm | 3 comments

The Front Runner movie review: when politics turned tabloid (#LFF2018)

Tue Nov 06 2018, 10:16pm | 4 comments

Prospect movie review: frontier sci-fi with a working-class vibe

Sat Nov 03 2018, 05:11pm | 0 comments

Peterloo movie review: it’s a battle just to get through it

Thu Nov 01 2018, 08:35pm | 3 comments

Bohemian Rhapsody movie review: dynamite with a laser beam

Tue Oct 30 2018, 08:23pm | 16 comments

What They Had movie review: family ties and lies

Sun Oct 28 2018, 09:21am | 0 comments

Beautiful Boy movie review: emotionally wrenching drug depiction (#LFF2018)

Thu Oct 25 2018, 04:33pm | 0 comments

Sadie movie review: coming of age the hard way

Sat Oct 13 2018, 11:48am | 0 comments

Pili movie review: the trials of women are many, and universal

Fri Oct 12 2018, 12:51pm | 0 comments

Bad Times at the El Royale movie review: bad times indeed

Thu Oct 11 2018, 11:53am | 24 comments

First Man movie review: over the moon

Tue Oct 09 2018, 09:28pm | 7 comments

A Star Is Born movie review: a perfect movie in all ways

Mon Oct 01 2018, 05:18pm | 25 comments

Little Women movie review: sisters weird

Thu Sep 27 2018, 09:40am | 10 comments

The Little Stranger movie review: so many ways to be haunted

Fri Sep 21 2018, 10:42am | 0 comments

Lost Child (aka Tatterdemalion) movie review: little devil? or little boy?

Fri Sep 14 2018, 02:51pm | 0 comments

The Rider movie review: when the work that makes a man is taken away

Wed Sep 12 2018, 05:01pm | 2 comments

Cold War (Zimna wojna) movie review: chilly romance

Sat Sep 01 2018, 05:49pm | 5 comments

Memoir of War (La Douleur) movie review: woman on the homefront

Wed Aug 29 2018, 01:22pm | 0 comments

The Children Act movie review: objections, sustained

Fri Aug 24 2018, 04:23pm | 1 comment

The Bookshop movie review: quiet portrait of a woman of words

Wed Aug 22 2018, 10:27pm | 9 comments

Dog Days movie review: a mangy mongrel of a movie

Wed Aug 08 2018, 08:47pm | 17 comments

Sicilian Ghost Story movie review: grim failing tale

Fri Aug 03 2018, 02:05pm | 2 comments

Puzzle movie review: reclaiming the pieces of her life

Fri Jul 27 2018, 09:32pm | 1 comment

Apostasy movie review: witness to the oppression of religion

Thu Jul 26 2018, 04:53pm | 5 comments

The Receptionist movie review: unpretty woman

Fri Jul 20 2018, 02:16pm | 0 comments

Maquia: When the Promised Flower Blooms movie review: the tragedy of the immortal

Wed Jun 27 2018, 02:08pm | 3 comments

The Happy Prince movie review: in the gutter, looking at the stars

Fri Jun 15 2018, 04:18pm | 2 comments

Hereditary movie review: the haunting is coming from inside the family (#SundanceLondon2018)

Tue Jun 05 2018, 02:40pm | 8 comments

A Kid Like Jake movie review: the kid is all right; the parents are freaking out

Fri Jun 01 2018, 04:10pm | 3 comments

The Breadwinner movie review: a daring girl’s adventure

Fri May 25 2018, 04:05pm | 1 comment

1945 movie review: a reckoning for the collaborators

Tue May 22 2018, 02:18pm | 0 comments

On Chesil Beach movie review: no sex, please, we’re British

Mon May 21 2018, 05:17pm | 2 comments

They movie review: the most important decision of their young life

Tue May 08 2018, 07:00pm | 1 comment

Beast movie review: a monstrous love

Wed Apr 25 2018, 06:00pm | 2 comments

Sweet Country movie review: an essential confrontation with the ugly not-so-past past

Mon Apr 23 2018, 06:27pm | 4 comments

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society movie review: the stories too painful to tell

Fri Apr 20 2018, 07:15pm | 4 comments

Every Day movie review: a slightly more challenging teen romance

Fri Apr 20 2018, 12:31pm | 0 comments

Funny Cow movie review: standing up for herself

Thu Apr 19 2018, 06:02pm | 0 comments

Beirut (aka The Negotiator) movie review: an American man finds absolution in the messy Middle East

Wed Apr 18 2018, 08:44pm | 14 comments

The Titan movie review: bad science, worse science fiction

Wed Apr 18 2018, 02:10pm | 2 comments

Custody (Jusqu’à la garde) movie review: family ties, slashered

Thu Apr 12 2018, 05:49pm | 2 comments

Borg vs McEnroe movie review: they get served

Tue Apr 10 2018, 08:34pm | 0 comments

A Quiet Place movie review: hushed horror

Tue Apr 03 2018, 10:31pm | 25 comments

Journeyman movie review: men and all the feels

Wed Mar 28 2018, 07:13pm | 0 comments

I Kill Giants movie review: the terrible burden of secret fears

Wed Mar 28 2018, 11:48am | 12 comments

Crowhurst movie review: the worse things that happen at sea

Fri Mar 23 2018, 09:22pm | 0 comments

Midnight Sun movie review: Cupid’s shot in the dark

Fri Mar 23 2018, 11:30am | 2 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest