Quantcast
become a Patreon patron

precarious since 1997 | by maryann johanson

Tolkien movie review: it doesn’t wander, but it’s lost

Wed May 08 2019, 02:19pm | 0 comments

Avengers: Endgame movie review: with a bang *and* a whimper

Wed May 01 2019, 05:16pm | 0 comments

Bel Canto movie review: Stockholm syndrome, a love story

Fri Apr 26 2019, 12:17pm | 0 comments

William movie review: weird — and dangerous — science

Thu Apr 25 2019, 04:39pm | 0 comments

The Silence movie review: I have only the faintest of muted praise (#Netflix)

Tue Apr 23 2019, 09:29pm | 0 comments

Greta movie review: twisted sisterhood

Fri Apr 19 2019, 03:27pm | 0 comments

Red Joan movie review: it doesn’t bomb, but it fizzles

Thu Apr 18 2019, 02:51pm | 0 comments

Dagenham movie review: lost in London

Wed Apr 17 2019, 07:52pm | 0 comments

Nervous Translation movie review: home alone, with only her imagination for company

Tue Apr 16 2019, 02:30pm | 0 comments

Pet Sematary (2019) movie review: bad things happen when you leave the city

Wed Apr 03 2019, 05:27pm | 0 comments

The White Crow movie review: nothing to crow about

Fri Mar 29 2019, 02:22pm | 0 comments

Out of Blue movie review: murder most muted

Fri Mar 22 2019, 09:19pm | 0 comments

The Crossing (Guo Chun Tian) movie review: smuggler’s blahs

Fri Mar 22 2019, 03:35pm | 0 comments

The Fight movie review: a woman’s struggle is real…

Sat Mar 16 2019, 05:01pm | 0 comments

Five Feet Apart movie review: love/sick teen romance

Thu Mar 14 2019, 02:53pm | 0 comments

Doctor Who: “Logopolis” Fathom Event review: it’s the end, but the moment has been prepared for

Wed Mar 06 2019, 02:03pm | 0 comments

Everybody Knows (Todos lo saben) movie review: weak wedding whodunnit

Mon Mar 04 2019, 09:27pm | 0 comments

The Aftermath movie review: don’t mention the war…

Fri Mar 01 2019, 09:59pm | 0 comments

Serenity movie review: gonna need a bigger nope

Thu Feb 28 2019, 01:41pm | 0 comments

Capernaum movie review: a child’s real-life horror

Fri Feb 22 2019, 03:17pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts 2019 (91st Academy Awards) review

Wed Feb 20 2019, 01:20pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts 2019 (91st Academy Awards) review

Tue Feb 19 2019, 09:13pm | 0 comments

If Beale Street Could Talk movie review: a velvet fist of love and strength

Fri Feb 08 2019, 08:48pm | 0 comments

Burning (Beoning) movie review: same old Mr Nice Guy

Thu Jan 31 2019, 02:48pm | 0 comments

The Mule movie review: the old man and the drugs

Tue Jan 29 2019, 10:48pm | 0 comments

Nina movie review: dreary would-be sexual melodrama

Fri Jan 25 2019, 01:02pm | 0 comments

Glass movie review: superhero ’splaining

Tue Jan 22 2019, 11:18pm | 0 comments

Destroyer movie review: holding out for an antiheroine

Sat Jan 19 2019, 09:14pm | 0 comments

On the Basis of Sex movie review: Notorious RBG’s origin story

Thu Jan 03 2019, 07:54pm | 0 comments

Polina movie review: what it takes to dance ballet

Thu Dec 20 2018, 03:54pm | 0 comments

Mary Queen of Scots movie review: not so good to be the queen…

Fri Dec 14 2018, 02:00pm | 0 comments

movies for the resistance: Schindler’s List

Mon Dec 03 2018, 05:18pm | 0 comments

Creed II movie review: a bout of familiarity

Fri Nov 30 2018, 02:58pm | 0 comments

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald movie review: the crimes of this movie, though…

Tue Nov 20 2018, 01:09pm | 10 comments

3 Days in Quiberon movie review: a star is torn

Fri Nov 16 2018, 06:59pm | 2 comments

A Private War movie review: this is not fake news (#LFF2018)

Tue Nov 13 2018, 07:38pm | 1 comment

Widows movie review: the women left to clean up men’s messes (#LFF2018)

Fri Nov 09 2018, 08:58pm | 4 comments

The Front Runner movie review: when politics turned tabloid (#LFF2018)

Tue Nov 06 2018, 10:16pm | 4 comments

Prospect movie review: frontier sci-fi with a working-class vibe

Sat Nov 03 2018, 05:11pm | 0 comments

Peterloo movie review: it’s a battle just to get through it

Thu Nov 01 2018, 08:35pm | 3 comments

Bohemian Rhapsody movie review: dynamite with a laser beam

Tue Oct 30 2018, 08:23pm | 16 comments

What They Had movie review: family ties and lies

Sun Oct 28 2018, 09:21am | 0 comments

Beautiful Boy movie review: emotionally wrenching drug depiction (#LFF2018)

Thu Oct 25 2018, 04:33pm | 0 comments

Sadie movie review: coming of age the hard way

Sat Oct 13 2018, 11:48am | 0 comments

Pili movie review: the trials of women are many, and universal

Fri Oct 12 2018, 12:51pm | 0 comments

Bad Times at the El Royale movie review: bad times indeed

Thu Oct 11 2018, 11:53am | 24 comments

First Man movie review: over the moon

Tue Oct 09 2018, 09:28pm | 7 comments

A Star Is Born movie review: a perfect movie in all ways

Mon Oct 01 2018, 05:18pm | 25 comments

Little Women movie review: sisters weird

Thu Sep 27 2018, 09:40am | 10 comments

The Little Stranger movie review: so many ways to be haunted

Fri Sep 21 2018, 10:42am | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest