Quantcast
your £$ support needed

part of a small rebellion | by maryann johanson

Hostiles movie review: white man’s burden

Wed Jan 17 2018, 06:00pm | 33 comments

Darkest Hour movie review: a surrender to open-and-shut history

Fri Jan 12 2018, 04:26pm | 18 comments

Call Me by Your Name movie review: met a boy cute as can be…

Tue Jan 09 2018, 01:58pm | 27 comments

All the Money in the World movie review: cashed out

Tue Jan 02 2018, 10:38pm | 3 comments

Molly’s Game movie review: absolutely aces

Fri Dec 29 2017, 10:32pm | 7 comments

The Post movie review: printing truth to power

Fri Dec 29 2017, 09:34pm | 2 comments

The Unseen movie review: when the see it/skip it recommendation is right in the title

Fri Dec 15 2017, 09:26am | 2 comments

Menashe movie review: the unhappy nonconformist

Wed Dec 13 2017, 03:16pm | 0 comments

Love Is Thicker Than Water movie review: so, love is a sludge, then?

Fri Dec 01 2017, 02:57pm | 1 comment

The Fencer (Miekkailija) movie review: en garde against yourself

Thu Nov 30 2017, 10:28pm | 4 comments

Marie Curie: The Courage of Knowledge movie review: so hot she’s radioactive

Thu Nov 23 2017, 07:53pm | 3 comments

Wonder movie review: learning to be nice to a paragon

Wed Nov 15 2017, 02:45pm | 1 comment

Only the Brave movie review: the men who tame wildfires

Tue Nov 14 2017, 02:27pm | 4 comments

Inconceivable movie review: nanny dearest

Tue Nov 07 2017, 09:26pm | 2 comments

The Light of the Moon movie review: ‘victim’ is not a dirty word

Fri Nov 03 2017, 04:51pm | 0 comments

It Comes at Night movie review: and it never leaves

Fri Nov 03 2017, 02:27pm | 1 comment

#LFF2017: Blade of the Immortal, Gemini, Makala

Thu Oct 26 2017, 09:04pm | 0 comments

The Snowman movie review: winter blunderland

Tue Oct 17 2017, 02:29pm | 17 comments

Professor Marston & the Wonder Women movie review: secret identities (#LFF2017)

Mon Oct 16 2017, 10:00pm | 12 comments

Breathe movie review: paralyzed but determined to be mobile (#LFF2017)

Wed Oct 11 2017, 09:11pm | 1 comment

Blade Runner 2049 movie review: a rickety retro replicant

Mon Oct 09 2017, 01:31pm | 140 comments

#Raindance2017: In Another Life, Hello Again, Maya Dardel

Sat Sep 30 2017, 07:16pm | 0 comments

#Raindance2017: Black Hollow Cage, Stuck, Mukoku

Thu Sep 28 2017, 10:23pm | 2 comments

Battle of the Sexes movie review: totally ace

Thu Sep 21 2017, 04:54pm | 137 comments

My Pure Land movie review: meet a real-life heroine in a land that really doesn’t want her

Thu Sep 14 2017, 08:21pm | 1 comment

mother! movie review: from WTF to STFU

Mon Sep 11 2017, 04:30pm | 282 comments

God’s Own Country movie review: the cultivation of love

Fri Sep 01 2017, 02:42pm | 2 comments

Detroit movie review: racism 101 for white people

Thu Aug 31 2017, 09:11pm | 28 comments

La Soledad movie review: life and beauty among the ruins

Fri Aug 18 2017, 03:45pm | 0 comments

Scribe (La mécanique de l’ombre) movie review: all tapped out

Fri Jul 21 2017, 12:43pm | 0 comments

Dunkirk movie review: the power of purpose

Wed Jul 19 2017, 10:32pm | 17 comments

War for the Planet of the Apes movie review: empathy for the ape

Mon Jul 10 2017, 06:15pm | 8 comments

The Midwife (Sage femme) movie review: the birth pangs of midlife renewal

Sat Jul 08 2017, 06:58pm | 2 comments

The Beguiled movie review: horror of manners

Fri Jun 30 2017, 10:36pm | 18 comments

Megan Leavey (aka Rex) movie review: a soldier and her dog

Fri Jun 23 2017, 03:15pm | 7 comments

The Bad Batch movie review: a girl walks into dystopia alone

Fri Jun 23 2017, 03:08am | 2 comments

The Journey movie review: a civil end to war

Thu Jun 15 2017, 07:27pm | 0 comments

Churchill movie review: stumbling over truth

Thu Jun 01 2017, 03:06pm | 9 comments

The Levelling movie review: down on the farm

Fri May 12 2017, 03:21pm | 1 comment

Unlocked movie review: the spy who broke the female mold

Fri May 05 2017, 06:24pm | 0 comments

Lowriders movie review: slow and furious

Thu May 04 2017, 04:59pm | 9 comments

Below Her Mouth movie review: not that there’s anything wrong with that

Fri Apr 28 2017, 09:52pm | 3 comments

Lady Macbeth movie review: the serpent under the innocent flower

Fri Apr 28 2017, 06:42pm | 12 comments

Queen of the Desert movie review: Gertrude Bell gets forgotten again

Wed Apr 26 2017, 08:30pm | 12 comments

Unforgettable movie review: toxic femininity

Mon Apr 24 2017, 06:31pm | 3 comments

Clash (Eshtebak) movie review: the view from inside social upheaval

Fri Apr 21 2017, 02:54pm | 0 comments

The Lost City of Z movie review: archaeology was his religion

Tue Apr 18 2017, 10:26pm | 6 comments

The Handmaiden movie review: the women pushing back against misogyny, thwarted by their own film

Fri Apr 14 2017, 05:49pm | 81 comments

City of Tiny Lights movie review: mushy modern noir

Thu Apr 06 2017, 05:06pm | 3 comments

Aftermath movie review: a series of unfortunate events

Thu Apr 06 2017, 01:52pm | 2 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest