Quantcast
your £$ support needed

part of a small rebellion | by maryann johanson

3 Days in Quiberon movie review: a star is torn

Fri Nov 16 2018, 06:59pm | 2 comments

Green Book movie review: a road frequently taken, but a lovely trip nevertheless (#LFF2018)

Thu Nov 15 2018, 09:14pm | 1 comment

A Private War movie review: this is not fake news (#LFF2018)

Tue Nov 13 2018, 07:38pm | 1 comment

They Shall Not Grow Old documentary review: more museum exhibit than movie (#LFF2018)

Sun Nov 11 2018, 08:21pm | 0 comments

Overlord movie review: underwhelmed

Thu Nov 08 2018, 02:53pm | 8 comments

The Front Runner movie review: when politics turned tabloid (#LFF2018)

Tue Nov 06 2018, 10:16pm | 4 comments

Peterloo movie review: it’s a battle just to get through it

Thu Nov 01 2018, 08:35pm | 3 comments

Bohemian Rhapsody movie review: dynamite with a laser beam

Tue Oct 30 2018, 08:23pm | 16 comments

Bad Times at the El Royale movie review: bad times indeed

Thu Oct 11 2018, 11:53am | 24 comments

First Man movie review: over the moon

Tue Oct 09 2018, 09:28pm | 7 comments

Jane Fonda in Five Acts documentary review: the political is her personal

Sun Sep 23 2018, 09:49pm | 2 comments

The Little Stranger movie review: so many ways to be haunted

Fri Sep 21 2018, 10:42am | 0 comments

The House with a Clock in Its Walls movie review: good witches and not-so-good witches

Tue Sep 18 2018, 05:39pm | 10 comments

The Miseducation of Cameron Post movie review: just as she is

Fri Sep 07 2018, 03:13pm | 5 comments

Cold War (Zimna wojna) movie review: chilly romance

Sat Sep 01 2018, 05:49pm | 5 comments

Memoir of War (La Douleur) movie review: woman on the homefront

Wed Aug 29 2018, 01:22pm | 0 comments

Alpha movie review: dog tired

Thu Aug 23 2018, 09:57pm | 28 comments

The Bookshop movie review: quiet portrait of a woman of words

Wed Aug 22 2018, 10:27pm | 9 comments

Sicilian Ghost Story movie review: grim failing tale

Fri Aug 03 2018, 02:05pm | 2 comments

Whitney documentary review: an 80s icon contemplated, venerated, mourned

Tue Jul 03 2018, 07:00pm | 1 comment

The Happy Prince movie review: in the gutter, looking at the stars

Fri Jun 15 2018, 04:18pm | 2 comments

Studio 54 documentary review: inside the velvet ropes

Wed Jun 13 2018, 11:07am | 0 comments

My Generation documentary review: when London was swinging

Thu May 31 2018, 03:36pm | 6 comments

The Breadwinner movie review: a daring girl’s adventure

Fri May 25 2018, 04:05pm | 1 comment

1945 movie review: a reckoning for the collaborators

Tue May 22 2018, 02:18pm | 0 comments

On Chesil Beach movie review: no sex, please, we’re British

Mon May 21 2018, 05:17pm | 2 comments

New Town Utopia documentary review: the future that never was

Fri May 04 2018, 10:55am | 0 comments

RBG documentary review: though she be but little she is fierce

Mon Apr 30 2018, 03:38pm | 6 comments

Mercury 13 documentary review: the even righter stuff

Mon Apr 23 2018, 10:46pm | 83 comments

Sweet Country movie review: an essential confrontation with the ugly not-so-past past

Mon Apr 23 2018, 06:27pm | 4 comments

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society movie review: the stories too painful to tell

Fri Apr 20 2018, 07:15pm | 4 comments

Funny Cow movie review: standing up for herself

Thu Apr 19 2018, 06:02pm | 0 comments

Beirut (aka The Negotiator) movie review: an American man finds absolution in the messy Middle East

Wed Apr 18 2018, 08:44pm | 14 comments

Borg vs McEnroe movie review: they get served

Tue Apr 10 2018, 08:34pm | 0 comments

Sgt. Stubby: An American Hero movie review: dogged soldier

Mon Apr 09 2018, 08:28pm | 6 comments

Crowhurst movie review: the worse things that happen at sea

Fri Mar 23 2018, 09:22pm | 0 comments

Mary Magdalene movie review: the Gospel of Mary

Fri Mar 16 2018, 02:42pm | 41 comments

The Lodgers movie review: home is where the haunting is

Tue Feb 27 2018, 08:23pm | 0 comments

November movie review: the woods are just trees, the trees are just wood

Fri Feb 23 2018, 03:39pm | 4 comments

The Mercy movie review: a sea of troubles

Thu Feb 08 2018, 06:10pm | 4 comments

Winchester movie review: she hosts dead people

Sun Feb 04 2018, 03:22pm | 10 comments

Journey’s End movie review: where the war winds blow

Fri Feb 02 2018, 10:22am | 2 comments

12 Strong movie review: America enters the “graveyard of empires”

Fri Jan 26 2018, 08:33pm | 5 comments

Phantom Thread movie review: hate couture

Thu Jan 18 2018, 03:37pm | 7 comments

Hostiles movie review: white man’s burden

Wed Jan 17 2018, 06:00pm | 44 comments

Darkest Hour movie review: a surrender to open-and-shut history

Fri Jan 12 2018, 04:26pm | 18 comments

Final Portrait movie review: the not-so-fine making of fine art

Wed Jan 10 2018, 09:31pm | 4 comments

Call Me by Your Name movie review: met a boy cute as can be…

Tue Jan 09 2018, 01:58pm | 27 comments

All the Money in the World movie review: cashed out

Tue Jan 02 2018, 10:38pm | 3 comments

The Post movie review: printing truth to power

Fri Dec 29 2017, 09:34pm | 2 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest