Quantcast
become a Patreon patron

maryann johanson | #BlackLivesMatter

Fanny Lye Deliver’d movie review: birth of the modern woman (#EIFF2020)

Sun Jun 28 2020, 07:43pm | 0 comments

The Last Tree movie review: boy interrupted

Wed Jun 24 2020, 01:14pm | 0 comments

Shirley movie review: lost girls gone mad

Wed Jun 10 2020, 06:46pm | 0 comments

13th documentary review: American slavery never ended; here are the receipts (#Netflix)

Sun Jun 07 2020, 06:34pm | 0 comments

The Vast of Night movie review: and vast of perspective (#AmazonPrime)

Wed Jun 03 2020, 06:43pm | 0 comments

Spaceship Earth documentary review: under the dome, and under a scrutinous eye

Mon May 11 2020, 10:09pm | 0 comments

How to Build a Girl movie review: instruction manual not included

Wed May 06 2020, 06:19pm | 0 comments

Capital in the Twenty-First Century documentary review: eat the rich (cuz they’re eating us)

Mon May 04 2020, 07:00pm | 0 comments

Bad Education movie review: school for scandal (#HBO)

Wed Apr 29 2020, 09:53pm | 0 comments

To the Stars movie review: run into the ground

Tue Apr 21 2020, 10:56pm | 0 comments

True History of the Kelly Gang movie review: toxic came the masculinity

Tue Apr 21 2020, 09:39pm | 0 comments

Beyond the Visible: Hilma af Klint documentary review: still way ahead of her time

Wed Apr 15 2020, 04:55pm | 0 comments

My Darling Vivian documentary review: from ardent lover to cold hard Cash (#SXSW2020)

Fri Mar 13 2020, 05:33pm | 0 comments

The Photograph movie review: love as a balancing act

Thu Mar 05 2020, 08:33pm | 0 comments

Dark Waters movie review: capitalism will kill ya

Thu Feb 20 2020, 08:38pm | 0 comments

Seberg movie review: inept tribute to a troubled movie star

Wed Feb 19 2020, 10:11pm | 0 comments

The Call of the Wild movie review: a very good boi (mostly)

Wed Feb 19 2020, 02:30pm | 0 comments

Emma. movie review: this queen bee has a bitter sting

Fri Feb 14 2020, 04:46pm | 0 comments

Citizen K documentary review: behind the new Cold War

Thu Feb 06 2020, 04:18pm | 0 comments

The Turning movie review: it’s screwed

Sat Jan 25 2020, 05:11pm | 0 comments

Quezon’s Game movie review: earnest historical drama struggles to tell its important tale

Thu Jan 23 2020, 05:09pm | 0 comments

Just Mercy movie review: fighting the never-ending good fight

Tue Jan 14 2020, 06:46pm | 0 comments

Little Women (2019) movie review: looking askance, with love, at a classic

Thu Dec 19 2019, 09:35am | 0 comments

What She Said: The Art of Pauline Kael documentary review: art and trash in measured quantities

Sun Dec 15 2019, 09:04pm | 0 comments

Richard Jewell movie review: innocent man, guilty movie

Thu Dec 12 2019, 04:18pm | 0 comments

A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood movie review: the importance of radical kindness (#LFF2019)

Sun Nov 24 2019, 07:57pm | 0 comments

Le Mans ’66 (aka Ford v Ferrari) movie review: when “circle back” meant something else in corporatespeak

Thu Nov 14 2019, 04:23pm | 0 comments

Harriet movie review: a true American hero finally gets her due (#LFF2019)

Tue Oct 29 2019, 07:56pm | 0 comments

The Current War movie review: fathers of invention, in conflict

Thu Oct 24 2019, 10:23pm | 0 comments

Joker movie review: sad clown, bad clown, not at all a rad clown

Wed Oct 02 2019, 08:05pm | 0 comments

Official Secrets movie review: blow all the whistles

Mon Sep 23 2019, 08:31pm | 0 comments

Downton Abbey movie review: embarrassment of riches

Thu Sep 19 2019, 09:55pm | 0 comments

Mrs Lowry & Son movie review: portrait of the artist as an abused man

Fri Sep 06 2019, 05:01pm | 0 comments

Gwen movie review: a frisson of fright on the farm

Fri Aug 16 2019, 01:56pm | 0 comments

Blinded by the Light movie review: bend it like The Boss

Sat Aug 10 2019, 06:06pm | 0 comments

Armstrong documentary review: the man we put on the Moon

Mon Jul 08 2019, 10:18pm | 0 comments

Vita & Virginia movie review: the 1920s London literary scene, drained of all passion

Sun Jul 07 2019, 09:16pm | 0 comments

Maiden documentary review: around the world in feminist ways

Sat Jun 29 2019, 12:12am | 0 comments

Apollo 11 documentary review: you are there, on the Moon (#SundanceLondon2019)

Fri Jun 28 2019, 08:42pm | 0 comments

In Fabric movie review: retail shock therapy

Wed Jun 26 2019, 09:39pm | 0 comments

X-Men: Dark Phoenix movie review: dark matter, done way too light

Wed Jun 05 2019, 10:16pm | 0 comments

Rocketman movie review: what makes a rock star, and what unmakes him

Wed May 29 2019, 09:00am | 0 comments

Trial by Fire and My Days of Mercy movies review: two (rare) new dramas about the US death penalty

Thu May 23 2019, 01:33pm | 0 comments

Tolkien movie review: it doesn’t wander, but it’s lost

Wed May 08 2019, 02:19pm | 0 comments

Red Joan movie review: it doesn’t bomb, but it fizzles

Thu Apr 18 2019, 02:51pm | 0 comments

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché documentary review: the movie pioneer you’ve never heard of

Tue Apr 16 2019, 09:39pm | 0 comments

Nervous Translation movie review: home alone, with only her imagination for company

Tue Apr 16 2019, 02:30pm | 0 comments

Wild Nights with Emily movie review: the poetess with the mostest

Fri Apr 12 2019, 05:18pm | 0 comments

Amazon Adventure 3D documentary review: historical jungle expedition, for science

Wed Apr 10 2019, 04:27pm | 0 comments

Missing Link movie review: unevolved throwback

Sat Apr 06 2019, 12:58pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest