Quantcast
please donate

since 1997 | by maryann johanson

Professor Marston & the Wonder Women movie review: secret identities (#LFF2017)

Mon Oct 16 2017, 10:00pm | 1 comment

Breathe movie review: paralyzed but determined to be mobile (#LFF2017)

Wed Oct 11 2017, 09:11pm | 0 comments

#Raindance2017: In Another Life, Hello Again, Maya Dardel

Sat Sep 30 2017, 07:16pm | 0 comments

American Made movie review: they’re quite bad fellas, in fact

Mon Sep 25 2017, 10:30pm | 5 comments

Battle of the Sexes movie review: totally ace

Thu Sep 21 2017, 04:54pm | 89 comments

Victoria & Abdul movie review: one of her best friends was brown

Fri Sep 15 2017, 05:31pm | 5 comments

It movie review: a series of unfortunate events

Fri Sep 08 2017, 10:49pm | 243 comments

The Limehouse Golem movie review: riffing on the Ripper

Mon Sep 04 2017, 03:35pm | 4 comments

Detroit movie review: racism 101 for white people

Thu Aug 31 2017, 09:11pm | 13 comments

Pilgrimage movie review: faith in a time of weaponized religion

Thu Aug 24 2017, 02:00pm | 3 comments

Ballerina (aka Leap!) movie review: lowering the barre

Mon Aug 21 2017, 07:37pm | 8 comments

Atomic Blonde movie review: bland ambition

Fri Aug 11 2017, 03:03pm | 28 comments

Annabelle: Creation movie review: common domestic demon doll

Tue Aug 08 2017, 02:41pm | 29 comments

Landline movie review: love in the time before smartphones

Fri Jul 28 2017, 08:38pm | 4 comments

Hounds of Love movie review: serial-killer porn

Thu Jul 27 2017, 06:31pm | 1 comment

Dunkirk movie review: the power of purpose

Wed Jul 19 2017, 10:32pm | 17 comments

The Beguiled movie review: horror of manners

Fri Jun 30 2017, 10:36pm | 18 comments

Wonder Woman movie review: women’s work

Thu Jun 08 2017, 10:18pm | 80 comments

Churchill movie review: stumbling over truth

Thu Jun 01 2017, 03:06pm | 9 comments

Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge (aka Dead Men Tell No Tales) movie review: yo ho no

Tue May 23 2017, 01:43pm | 40 comments

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword movie review: well I didn’t vote for him

Mon May 22 2017, 04:27pm | 13 comments

Whisky Galore! movie review: leave it in the bottle

Fri May 12 2017, 08:43pm | 6 comments

Lady Macbeth movie review: the serpent under the innocent flower

Fri Apr 28 2017, 06:42pm | 12 comments

Queen of the Desert movie review: Gertrude Bell gets forgotten again

Wed Apr 26 2017, 08:30pm | 2 comments

Letters from Baghdad documentary review: Gertrude Bell, the original Lawrence of Arabia

Fri Apr 21 2017, 12:32pm | 4 comments

The Lost City of Z movie review: archaeology was his religion

Tue Apr 18 2017, 10:26pm | 6 comments

Free Fire movie review: guns a-boring

Mon Apr 17 2017, 10:02pm | 3 comments

The Handmaiden movie review: the women pushing back against misogyny, thwarted by their own film

Fri Apr 14 2017, 05:49pm | 59 comments

Their Finest movie review: keeping calm and carrying on making movies

Wed Apr 05 2017, 02:08pm | 6 comments

Dig Two Graves movie review: and bury this deep

Fri Mar 24 2017, 09:59am | 12 comments

Another Mother’s Son movie review: punching Nazis, mom style

Thu Mar 23 2017, 06:52pm | 3 comments

Beauty and the Beast (2017) movie review: ever just the same, never a surprise

Tue Mar 14 2017, 06:34pm | 269 comments

The Ottoman Lieutenant movie review: erasing the past with sleight of cinematic hand

Fri Mar 10 2017, 06:34pm | 46 comments

Kong: Skull Island movie review: ape-ocalypse now

Mon Mar 06 2017, 03:45pm | 10 comments

The Last Laugh documentary review: punching Nazis (with comedy)

Fri Mar 03 2017, 04:48pm | 10 comments

Viceroy’s House movie review: are we condemned to repeat this?

Thu Mar 02 2017, 02:29pm | 2 comments

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Thu Feb 23 2017, 06:09pm | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 20 2017, 04:46pm | 0 comments

The Great Wall movie review: not to be torn down

Fri Feb 17 2017, 11:21am | 8 comments

20th Century Women movie review: sometimes it’s hard to be a woman

Tue Feb 07 2017, 12:49pm | 1 comment

Denial movie review: a film for the resistance

Mon Jan 30 2017, 10:14pm | 0 comments

Under the Shadow movie review: evil on the wind, and in the home

Thu Jan 26 2017, 08:18pm | 0 comments

Gold movie review: this mine is tapped out

Wed Jan 25 2017, 12:49pm | 0 comments

Antarctica: Ice and Sky (aka Ice and the Sky) (La glace et le ciel) documentary review: how we know we are burning the planet

Fri Jan 20 2017, 08:54pm | 0 comments

The Founder movie review: look at what the golden arches hath wrought

Mon Jan 16 2017, 09:36pm | 5 comments

Silence movie review: not golden

Mon Jan 09 2017, 07:29pm | 22 comments

Live by Night movie review: criminal tedium

Thu Jan 05 2017, 08:43pm | 5 comments

Operation Avalanche movie review: to the moon?

Thu Jan 05 2017, 03:18pm | 10 comments

Hidden Figures movie review: triumph of the black girl geeks

Thu Dec 22 2016, 08:56pm | 23 comments

A United Kingdom movie review: a love that changed the world

Fri Nov 25 2016, 06:29pm | 6 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest