Quantcast
please donate

die hard is a xmas movie | by maryann johanson

I, Tonya movie review: a woman at war with herself

Thu Dec 14 2017, 04:53pm | 0 comments

The Rape of Recy Taylor documentary review: meet the unheralded badass black women of recent American history

Sun Dec 10 2017, 09:55pm | 0 comments

The Disaster Artist movie review: a view on ‘The Room’

Tue Dec 05 2017, 02:56pm | 14 comments

The Fencer (Miekkailija) movie review: en garde against yourself

Thu Nov 30 2017, 10:28pm | 4 comments

Jane documentary review: “girl” does a science, changes the world

Fri Nov 24 2017, 02:10pm | 3 comments

Marie Curie: The Courage of Knowledge movie review: so hot she’s radioactive

Thu Nov 23 2017, 07:53pm | 3 comments

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story documentary review: beauty is a beast

Wed Nov 22 2017, 01:46pm | 11 comments

The Man Who Invented Christmas movie review: but would Charles Dickens approve?

Tue Nov 21 2017, 01:53pm | 18 comments

Lady Bird movie review: flights of adolescent angsty (#LFF2017)

Thu Nov 09 2017, 02:21pm | 50 comments

Murder on the Orient Express movie review: strangers on a train

Mon Nov 06 2017, 07:33pm | 4 comments

#LFF2017: Blade of the Immortal, Gemini, Makala

Thu Oct 26 2017, 09:04pm | 0 comments

The Death of Stalin movie review: the great dictator

Wed Oct 25 2017, 04:53pm | 5 comments

Professor Marston & the Wonder Women movie review: secret identities (#LFF2017)

Mon Oct 16 2017, 10:00pm | 12 comments

Breathe movie review: paralyzed but determined to be mobile (#LFF2017)

Wed Oct 11 2017, 09:11pm | 0 comments

#Raindance2017: In Another Life, Hello Again, Maya Dardel

Sat Sep 30 2017, 07:16pm | 0 comments

American Made movie review: they’re quite bad fellas, in fact

Mon Sep 25 2017, 10:30pm | 5 comments

Battle of the Sexes movie review: totally ace

Thu Sep 21 2017, 04:54pm | 135 comments

Victoria & Abdul movie review: one of her best friends was brown

Fri Sep 15 2017, 05:31pm | 5 comments

It movie review: a series of unfortunate events

Fri Sep 08 2017, 10:49pm | 243 comments

The Limehouse Golem movie review: riffing on the Ripper

Mon Sep 04 2017, 03:35pm | 4 comments

Detroit movie review: racism 101 for white people

Thu Aug 31 2017, 09:11pm | 28 comments

Pilgrimage movie review: faith in a time of weaponized religion

Thu Aug 24 2017, 02:00pm | 3 comments

Ballerina (aka Leap!) movie review: lowering the barre

Mon Aug 21 2017, 07:37pm | 8 comments

Atomic Blonde movie review: bland ambition

Fri Aug 11 2017, 03:03pm | 29 comments

Annabelle: Creation movie review: common domestic demon doll

Tue Aug 08 2017, 02:41pm | 29 comments

Landline movie review: love in the time before smartphones

Fri Jul 28 2017, 08:38pm | 4 comments

Hounds of Love movie review: serial-killer porn

Thu Jul 27 2017, 06:31pm | 1 comment

Dunkirk movie review: the power of purpose

Wed Jul 19 2017, 10:32pm | 17 comments

The Beguiled movie review: horror of manners

Fri Jun 30 2017, 10:36pm | 18 comments

Wonder Woman movie review: women’s work

Thu Jun 08 2017, 10:18pm | 80 comments

Churchill movie review: stumbling over truth

Thu Jun 01 2017, 03:06pm | 9 comments

Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge (aka Dead Men Tell No Tales) movie review: yo ho no

Tue May 23 2017, 01:43pm | 43 comments

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword movie review: well I didn’t vote for him

Mon May 22 2017, 04:27pm | 13 comments

Whisky Galore! movie review: leave it in the bottle

Fri May 12 2017, 08:43pm | 6 comments

Lady Macbeth movie review: the serpent under the innocent flower

Fri Apr 28 2017, 06:42pm | 12 comments

Queen of the Desert movie review: Gertrude Bell gets forgotten again

Wed Apr 26 2017, 08:30pm | 2 comments

Letters from Baghdad documentary review: Gertrude Bell, the original Lawrence of Arabia

Fri Apr 21 2017, 12:32pm | 4 comments

The Lost City of Z movie review: archaeology was his religion

Tue Apr 18 2017, 10:26pm | 6 comments

Free Fire movie review: guns a-boring

Mon Apr 17 2017, 10:02pm | 3 comments

The Handmaiden movie review: the women pushing back against misogyny, thwarted by their own film

Fri Apr 14 2017, 05:49pm | 61 comments

Their Finest movie review: keeping calm and carrying on making movies

Wed Apr 05 2017, 02:08pm | 6 comments

Dig Two Graves movie review: and bury this deep

Fri Mar 24 2017, 09:59am | 12 comments

Another Mother’s Son movie review: punching Nazis, mom style

Thu Mar 23 2017, 06:52pm | 3 comments

Beauty and the Beast (2017) movie review: ever just the same, never a surprise

Tue Mar 14 2017, 06:34pm | 269 comments

The Ottoman Lieutenant movie review: erasing the past with sleight of cinematic hand

Fri Mar 10 2017, 06:34pm | 46 comments

Kong: Skull Island movie review: ape-ocalypse now

Mon Mar 06 2017, 03:45pm | 12 comments

The Last Laugh documentary review: punching Nazis (with comedy)

Fri Mar 03 2017, 04:48pm | 10 comments

Viceroy’s House movie review: are we condemned to repeat this?

Thu Mar 02 2017, 02:29pm | 2 comments

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Thu Feb 23 2017, 06:09pm | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 20 2017, 04:46pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest