Quantcast
become a Patreon patron

cultural vandal | by maryann johanson

a Patreon thank-you video

Thu Mar 21 2019, 05:10pm | 0 comments

gendered abuse I have received

Thu Mar 21 2019, 04:44pm | 166 comments

“(fictional) notes from The British Museum #11” now live (late!)

Tue Mar 19 2019, 08:28pm | 0 comments

having a gone day

Fri Mar 15 2019, 08:31pm | 0 comments

me on feminist film criticism

Tue Mar 12 2019, 04:32pm | 0 comments

my flash-fiction project “(fictional) notes from The British Museum” continues

Fri Mar 08 2019, 09:38pm | 0 comments

2019’s film ranked (a teaser)

Tue Mar 05 2019, 02:58pm | 0 comments

another installment of (fictional) notes from The British Museum

Sun Mar 03 2019, 08:48pm | 0 comments

my picks for tonight’s 91st Academy Awards (the Oscars for 2018’s films) (winners indicated)

Mon Feb 25 2019, 09:19pm | 0 comments

more (fictional) notes from The British Museum

Sat Feb 23 2019, 08:42pm | 0 comments

have some more (fictional) notes from The British Museum

Sat Feb 16 2019, 11:08am | 0 comments

(fictional) notes from The British Museum continue…

Fri Feb 08 2019, 01:05pm | 0 comments

yet more (fictional) notes from The British Museum

Fri Feb 01 2019, 12:06pm | 0 comments

because nothing evokes the spirit of the Christmas Baby Jesus like hate mail

Sun Jan 27 2019, 10:18pm | 0 comments

still more (fictional) notes from The British Museum

Fri Jan 25 2019, 08:31pm | 0 comments

Patreon-patron-only content has arrived

Fri Jan 25 2019, 02:38pm | 0 comments

more (fictional) notes from The British Museum

Thu Jan 17 2019, 09:06pm | 0 comments

I’m on BBC World Service’s “The Arts Hour” again today, Saturday, January 12th

Sat Jan 12 2019, 11:59am | 0 comments

more (fictional) notes from The British Museum

Thu Jan 10 2019, 10:07pm | 0 comments

AWFJ 2018 EDA Awards winners announced

Thu Jan 10 2019, 09:48pm | 0 comments

introducing weekly flash fiction for Patreon patrons

Fri Jan 04 2019, 10:18pm | 0 comments

OFCS 2018 awards winners announced

Wed Jan 02 2019, 10:15pm | 0 comments

I am no longer using Facebook to promote my work; here are some alternatives for following me

Thu Dec 20 2018, 01:20pm | 0 comments

online critics pick ‘Mission: Impossible – Fallout’ as best film of 2018 in HeyUGuys poll

Wed Dec 19 2018, 04:25pm | 0 comments

new Patreon tiers and rewards (and a note to current PayPal donors)

Thu Dec 06 2018, 05:41pm | 0 comments

say hello to the “movies for the resistance” and “on Netflix globally” pages

Thu Dec 06 2018, 05:01pm | 0 comments

Marvel’s Avengers S.T.A.T.I.O.N. is coming to London!

Wed Nov 21 2018, 02:29pm | 1 comment

readers’ choice: should I review ‘The Nutcracker and the Four Realms’? vote at Patreon (final)

Sat Nov 03 2018, 08:11am | 0 comments

I’m hosting a postscreening Q&A re ‘Dead in a Week’ on Sunday in London…

Fri Oct 26 2018, 06:38pm | 2 comments

Google+ is shutting down…

Tue Oct 09 2018, 09:16am | 1 comment

I’m on BBC World Service’s “The Arts Hour” again this Sunday, October 7th

Thu Oct 04 2018, 11:56am | 2 comments

Where Are the Women? goes to Ravencon

Fri Sep 21 2018, 07:31pm | 5 comments

why not buy Flick Filosopher a beer for its 21st birthday?

Sat Sep 08 2018, 01:17pm | 16 comments

I’ve just finished watching Netflix’s ‘Queer Eye’…

Thu Aug 23 2018, 04:09pm | 14 comments

no, I have not reviewed ‘Sorry to Bother You’; yes, I would love to

Thu Aug 09 2018, 01:47pm | 16 comments

very light posting at the moment…

Sun Jun 24 2018, 01:22pm | 0 comments

2018 Webby Award winners (which I help pick)

Wed Apr 25 2018, 10:55am | 4 comments

Flick Filosopher now on Apple News

Mon Mar 12 2018, 09:59pm | 5 comments

my picks for tonight’s 90th Academy Awards (the Oscars for 2017’s films) (winners indicated)

Mon Mar 05 2018, 04:55am | 9 comments

should I live-tweet a reread of ‘Ready Player One’… (update: results in)

Sun Mar 04 2018, 02:00pm | 7 comments

I’m on BBC World Service’s “The Arts Hour” again this Sunday, March 4th

Wed Feb 28 2018, 05:26pm | 3 comments

Jesus Christ is now following me on Letterboxd!

Tue Jan 16 2018, 10:18pm | 5 comments

AWFJ 2017 EDA Awards winners announced

Tue Jan 09 2018, 08:54pm | 5 comments

I’m highlighting female participation in a film with each new review

Fri Jan 05 2018, 01:44pm | 6 comments

OFCS 2017 awards winners announced

Thu Dec 28 2017, 09:09pm | 0 comments

curated: online critics pick ‘Get Out’ as best film of 2017 in HeyUGuys poll

Wed Dec 20 2017, 12:19pm | 0 comments

I’m on BBC Radio 4’s “Front Row” this Friday, December 22nd

Wed Dec 20 2017, 12:09pm | 2 comments

I’m doing National Novel Writing Month! (updated)

Fri Dec 01 2017, 04:39pm | 12 comments

I’m on BBC World Service’s “The Arts Hour” again this Sunday, November 12th

Fri Nov 10 2017, 10:04pm | 1 comment

Berlin movie posters

Fri Oct 20 2017, 09:30pm | 3 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest