OFCS 2018 awards winners announced

The Online Film Critics Society — of which I am a member — has announced the winners of its 2018 awards. Links here go to my reviews, with reviews to come for most if not all those I haven’t yet reviewed. (I have a lot of writing to do!)

Our most nominated film is The Favourite (8 nominations), followed by Roma (7 nominations), and If Beale Street Could Talk (6 nominations).

The winners (and nominees) are:

Best Picture: Roma
other nominees:
If Beale Street Could Talk
First Reformed
The Favourite
You Were Never Really Here
Eighth Grade
A Star Is Born

Best Animated Feature: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse
other nominees:
Incredibles 2
Isle of Dogs
Ralph Breaks the Internet

Best Director: Alfonso Cuarón – Roma
other nominees:
Barry Jenkins – If Beale Street Could Talk
Yorgos Lanthimos – The Favourite
Spike Lee – BlacKkKlansman
Lynne Ramsay – You Were Never Really Here

Best Actor: Ethan Hawke – First Reformed
other nominees:
Christian Bale – Vice
Bradley Cooper – A Star Is Born
Joaquin Phoenix – You Were Never Really Here
John David Washington – BlacKkKlansman

Best Actress: Toni Collette – Hereditary
other nominees:
Yalitza Aparicio – Roma
Olivia Colman – The Favourite
Regina Hall – Support the Girls
Lady Gaga – A Star Is Born

Best Supporting Actor: Michael B. Jordan – Black Panther
other nominees:
Mahershala Ali – Green Book
Adam Driver – BlacKkKlansman
Richard E. Grant – Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Steven Yeun – Burning

Best Supporting Actress: Regina King – If Beale Street Could Talk
other nominees:
Elizabeth Debicki – Widows
Thomasin McKenzie – Leave No Trace
Emma Stone – The Favourite
Rachel Weisz – The Favourite

Best Original Screenplay: First Reformed – Paul Schrader
other nominees:
Eighth Grade – Bo Burnham
The Favourite – Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara
Roma – Alfonso Cuarón
Sorry to Bother You – Boots Riley

Best Adapted Screenplay: If Beale Street Could Talk – Barry Jenkins
other nominees:
BlacKkKlansman – Charlie Wachtel, David Rabinowitz, Kevin Willmott, Spike Lee
Can You Ever Forgive Me? – Nicole Holofcener, Jeff Whitty
Leave No Trace – Debra Granik, Anne Rossellini
Widows – Gillian Flynn, Steve McQueen

Best Editing: Mission: Impossible – Fallout – Eddie Hamilton
other nominees:
The Favourite – Yorgos Mavropsaridis
First Man – Tom Cross
Roma – Alfonso Cuarón, Adam Gough
Widows – Joe Walker

Best Cinematography: Roma – Alfonso Cuarón
other nominees:
Cold War (Zimna wojna) – Lukasz Zal
The Favourite – Robbie Ryan
First Man – Linus Sandgren
If Beale Street Could Talk – James Laxton

Best Original Score: If Beale Street Could Talk – Nicholas Britell
other nominees:
Black Panther – Ludwig Göransson
First Man – Justin Hurwitz
Isle of Dogs – Alexandre Desplat
Suspiria – Thom Yorke

Best Debut Feature: Ari Aster – Hereditary
other nominees:
Bo Burnham – Eighth Grade
Bradley Cooper – A Star Is Born
Carlos López Estrada – Blindspotting
Boots Riley – Sorry to Bother You

Best Film Not in the English Language: Roma
other nominees:
Cold War (Zimna wojna)

Best Documentary: Won’t You Be My Neighbor?
other nominees:
Free Solo
Minding the Gap
Three Identical Strangers

Technical Achievement Awards: (all winners)
Annihilation – Best Visual Effects
Black Panther – Best Costume Design
Mission: Impossible – Fallout – Best Stunt Coordination
A Quiet Place – Best Sound Design
A Star Is Born – Best Original Songs

Lifetime Achievement Awards: (all winners)
Roger Deakins
Spike Lee
Rita Moreno
Robert Redford
Agnès Varda

Special Achievement Awards: (all winners)
to Ryan Coogler, for Black Panther’s distinctive critical and box office appeal
to the city of Oakland, CA, for hosting 2018’s most socially and artistically compelling films about racism, Sorry to Bother You and Blindspotting

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap