Quantcast
please donate

since 1997 | by maryann johanson

Professor Marston & the Wonder Women movie review: secret identities (#LFF2017)

Mon Oct 16 2017, 10:00pm | 1 comment

The Ritual movie review: into the woods

Thu Oct 12 2017, 06:44pm | 1 comment

Breathe movie review: paralyzed but determined to be mobile (#LFF2017)

Wed Oct 11 2017, 09:11pm | 0 comments

Blade Runner 2049 movie review: a rickety retro replicant

Mon Oct 09 2017, 01:31pm | 81 comments

#Raindance2017: In Another Life, Hello Again, Maya Dardel

Sat Sep 30 2017, 07:16pm | 0 comments

Flatliners movie review: DOA

Fri Sep 29 2017, 10:55pm | 11 comments

Pecking Order documentary review: ruffled feathers and fowl play

Fri Sep 29 2017, 03:06pm | 0 comments

#Raindance2017: Black Hollow Cage, Stuck, Mukoku

Thu Sep 28 2017, 10:23pm | 2 comments

Home Again movie review: imitation of life

Wed Sep 27 2017, 06:41pm | 2 comments

American Made movie review: they’re quite bad fellas, in fact

Mon Sep 25 2017, 10:30pm | 5 comments

Kingsman: The Golden Circle movie review: deliver us from “edgy”

Mon Sep 25 2017, 03:43pm | 114 comments

Battle of the Sexes movie review: totally ace

Thu Sep 21 2017, 04:54pm | 80 comments

Friend Request movie review: Facebook, a horror story (again)

Tue Sep 19 2017, 03:58pm | 2 comments

American Assassin movie review: we’ve CIAn it all before

Sun Sep 17 2017, 09:06pm | 5 comments

Victoria & Abdul movie review: one of her best friends was brown

Fri Sep 15 2017, 05:31pm | 5 comments

My Pure Land movie review: meet a real-life heroine in a land that really doesn’t want her

Thu Sep 14 2017, 08:21pm | 1 comment

mother! movie review: from WTF to STFU

Mon Sep 11 2017, 04:30pm | 185 comments

It movie review: a series of unfortunate events

Fri Sep 08 2017, 10:49pm | 243 comments

The Vault movie review: where the money is haunted

Thu Sep 07 2017, 11:11pm | 1 comment

Ingrid Goes West movie review: an antisocial-media story

Mon Sep 04 2017, 10:28pm | 10 comments

The Limehouse Golem movie review: riffing on the Ripper

Mon Sep 04 2017, 03:35pm | 4 comments

God’s Own Country movie review: the cultivation of love

Fri Sep 01 2017, 02:42pm | 2 comments

Detroit movie review: racism 101 for white people

Thu Aug 31 2017, 09:11pm | 13 comments

Terminator 2: Judgment Day 3D movie review: he said he’d be back…

Tue Aug 29 2017, 01:20pm | 2 comments

Logan Lucky movie review: a waste of a heist

Fri Aug 25 2017, 03:53pm | 2 comments

California Typewriter documentary review: a qwerty little passion

Fri Aug 25 2017, 12:04am | 4 comments

Pilgrimage movie review: faith in a time of weaponized religion

Thu Aug 24 2017, 02:00pm | 3 comments

Ballerina (aka Leap!) movie review: lowering the barre

Mon Aug 21 2017, 07:37pm | 8 comments

La Soledad movie review: life and beauty among the ruins

Fri Aug 18 2017, 03:45pm | 0 comments

The Hitman’s Bodyguard movie review: protection racket

Fri Aug 18 2017, 08:52am | 9 comments

Step documentary review: dance into the future

Wed Aug 16 2017, 05:14pm | 3 comments

Overdrive movie review: dumb and dubious

Tue Aug 15 2017, 08:50pm | 1 comment

Atomic Blonde movie review: bland ambition

Fri Aug 11 2017, 03:03pm | 28 comments

Shin Godzilla (aka Godzilla Resurgence) movie review: big in Japan

Thu Aug 10 2017, 03:14pm | 6 comments

Annabelle: Creation movie review: common domestic demon doll

Tue Aug 08 2017, 02:41pm | 29 comments

Fun Mom Dinner movie review: stay at home, moms

Fri Aug 04 2017, 10:11pm | 0 comments

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets movie review: story of a thousand clichés

Thu Aug 03 2017, 12:23pm | 45 comments

Landline movie review: love in the time before smartphones

Fri Jul 28 2017, 08:38pm | 4 comments

The Big Sick movie review: girlfriend in a coma, the rom-com

Fri Jul 28 2017, 03:23pm | 10 comments

Hounds of Love movie review: serial-killer porn

Thu Jul 27 2017, 06:31pm | 1 comment

Birthright: A War Story documentary review: how America hates women

Fri Jul 21 2017, 09:38pm | 4 comments

Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie review: a brief look at the long and the shorts of it

Fri Jul 21 2017, 05:34pm | 2 comments

Scribe (La mécanique de l’ombre) movie review: all tapped out

Fri Jul 21 2017, 12:43pm | 0 comments

Dunkirk movie review: the power of purpose

Wed Jul 19 2017, 10:32pm | 17 comments

City of Ghosts documentary review: how to tell a story that some don’t want told

Wed Jul 19 2017, 08:47pm | 9 comments

Wish Upon movie review: be careful what movies you see about wishes you should be careful about

Fri Jul 14 2017, 09:55pm | 3 comments

The Women’s Balcony movie review: men, cross women at your peril

Fri Jul 14 2017, 06:19pm | 6 comments

Cars 3 movie review: road to nowhere

Fri Jul 14 2017, 04:10pm | 9 comments

War for the Planet of the Apes movie review: empathy for the ape

Mon Jul 10 2017, 06:15pm | 8 comments

The Midwife (Sage femme) movie review: the birth pangs of midlife renewal

Sat Jul 08 2017, 06:58pm | 2 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest