Quantcast
become a Patreon patron

maryann johanson | takeaway only

Never Rarely Sometimes Always movie review: the secret lives of girls and women

Tue Apr 07 2020, 08:03pm | 0 comments

Trolls: World Tour movie review: a cinematic Rubicon by dint of pandemic coincidence

Tue Apr 07 2020, 04:25pm | 0 comments

The Perfect Candidate movie review: a woman’s place is everywhere

Fri Apr 03 2020, 05:15pm | 0 comments

Tape movie review: her too

Wed Apr 01 2020, 08:05pm | 0 comments

The Platform (El hoyo) movie review: bold and bitter food for thought (#Netflix)

Mon Mar 30 2020, 10:38pm | 0 comments

Bloodshot movie review: bloodshit

Thu Mar 26 2020, 07:11pm | 0 comments

Blow the Man Down movie review: redefining the femme fatale

Mon Mar 23 2020, 06:44pm | 0 comments

Corpus Christi (Boze Cialo) movie review: the accidental priest

Fri Mar 20 2020, 10:07pm | 0 comments

Lost Girls movie review: and still unfound (#Netflix)

Mon Mar 16 2020, 11:37pm | 0 comments

My Darling Vivian documentary review: from ardent lover to cold hard Cash (#SXSW2020)

Fri Mar 13 2020, 05:33pm | 0 comments

Saint Frances movie review: there will be blood — deal with it

Tue Mar 10 2020, 06:15pm | 0 comments

Swallow movie review: leaves a sour taste

Sun Mar 08 2020, 12:20pm | 0 comments

Military Wives movie review: tired choir dramedy needs to change the tune

Sat Mar 07 2020, 04:31pm | 0 comments

Onward movie review: the Pixar road goes ever on

Fri Mar 06 2020, 03:15pm | 0 comments

The Photograph movie review: love as a balancing act

Thu Mar 05 2020, 08:33pm | 0 comments

Push documentary review: why the rent is too damn high (and how to fix it)

Tue Mar 03 2020, 08:18pm | 0 comments

The Lodge movie review: stuck in miserably mushy snow

Thu Feb 27 2020, 07:44pm | 0 comments

Like a Boss movie review: it doesn’t quite fall down on the job

Sat Feb 22 2020, 07:10pm | 0 comments

Dark Waters movie review: capitalism will kill ya

Thu Feb 20 2020, 08:38pm | 0 comments

Seberg movie review: inept tribute to a troubled movie star

Wed Feb 19 2020, 10:11pm | 0 comments

The Call of the Wild movie review: a very good boi (mostly)

Wed Feb 19 2020, 02:30pm | 0 comments

A Simple Wedding movie review: spoiler, it’s not so simple

Fri Feb 14 2020, 10:02pm | 0 comments

Emma. movie review: this queen bee has a bitter sting

Fri Feb 14 2020, 04:46pm | 0 comments

Olympic Dreams movie review: coming in from the emotional cold

Thu Feb 13 2020, 11:19am | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts 2020 (92nd Academy Awards) review

Sun Feb 09 2020, 09:30pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts 2020 (92nd Academy Awards) review

Sun Feb 09 2020, 03:59pm | 0 comments

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts 2020 (92nd Academy Awards) review

Sat Feb 08 2020, 04:54pm | 0 comments

Daniel Isn’t Real movie review: or is he?

Fri Feb 07 2020, 05:27pm | 0 comments

Citizen K documentary review: behind the new Cold War

Thu Feb 06 2020, 04:18pm | 0 comments

Birds of Prey: And the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn movie review: fantabulous

Thu Feb 06 2020, 02:35pm | 0 comments

The Rhythm Section movie review: out of tune

Wed Jan 29 2020, 05:47pm | 0 comments

The Turning movie review: it’s screwed

Sat Jan 25 2020, 05:11pm | 0 comments

The Rescue movie review: China’s Coast Guard at action-thriller work

Fri Jan 24 2020, 01:55pm | 0 comments

Quezon’s Game movie review: earnest historical drama struggles to tell its important tale

Thu Jan 23 2020, 05:09pm | 0 comments

Color Out of Space movie review: pink elephant

Wed Jan 22 2020, 05:13pm | 0 comments

The Gentlemen movie review: sufficiently advanced crime

Thu Jan 16 2020, 09:52pm | 0 comments

Just Mercy movie review: fighting the never-ending good fight

Tue Jan 14 2020, 06:46pm | 0 comments

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker movie review: the galaxy isn’t far far away, it’s just very small

Thu Jan 09 2020, 08:59pm | 0 comments

Uncut Gems movie review: diamond in the blech (#LFF2019)

Tue Dec 24 2019, 04:39pm | 0 comments

Little Women (2019) movie review: looking askance, with love, at a classic

Thu Dec 19 2019, 09:35am | 0 comments

What She Said: The Art of Pauline Kael documentary review: art and trash in measured quantities

Sun Dec 15 2019, 09:04pm | 0 comments

Richard Jewell movie review: innocent man, guilty movie

Thu Dec 12 2019, 04:18pm | 0 comments

Jumanji: The Next Level movie review: this game needs to be over

Wed Dec 11 2019, 11:52am | 0 comments

Ordinary Love movie review: marriage story

Mon Dec 09 2019, 03:12pm | 0 comments

The Whistleblower movie review: action drama with a big cultural barrier to overcome

Fri Dec 06 2019, 04:24pm | 0 comments

Playmobil: The Movie movie review: a cheap ad disguised as a movie (barely)

Tue Dec 03 2019, 05:37pm | 0 comments

Frozen II movie review: the thaw sets in

Tue Dec 03 2019, 03:11pm | 0 comments

Knives Out movie review: catch your death of fun (#LFF2019)

Mon Nov 25 2019, 05:51pm | 0 comments

A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood movie review: the importance of radical kindness (#LFF2019)

Sun Nov 24 2019, 07:57pm | 0 comments

21 Bridges movie review: roads to nowhere

Sun Nov 24 2019, 03:35pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest