Quantcast
your £$ support needed

part of a small rebellion | by maryann johanson

Matangi/Maya/M.I.A. documentary review: the multiple identities of a modern artist

Wed Sep 26 2018, 10:18pm | 0 comments

Jane Fonda in Five Acts documentary review: the political is her personal

Sun Sep 23 2018, 09:49pm | 2 comments

Cold War (Zimna wojna) movie review: chilly romance

Sat Sep 01 2018, 05:49pm | 3 comments

movies by or about women opening US/Can from Fri Jun 29

Sat Jun 30 2018, 09:29am | 0 comments

The Breadwinner movie review: a daring girl’s adventure

Fri May 25 2018, 04:05pm | 1 comment

2018 Webby Award winners (which I help pick)

Wed Apr 25 2018, 10:55am | 4 comments

Mercury 13 documentary review: the even righter stuff

Mon Apr 23 2018, 10:46pm | 83 comments

I Kill Giants movie review: the terrible burden of secret fears

Wed Mar 28 2018, 11:48am | 12 comments

In the Land of Pomegranates documentary review: is the Middle East fixable?

Sun Mar 11 2018, 10:09pm | 0 comments

curated: the Lonely Island song we didn’t get to see at the Oscars

Tue Mar 06 2018, 12:06pm | 6 comments

curated: how the new members of the Academy are changing the Oscars

Mon Mar 05 2018, 03:05pm | 0 comments

my picks for tonight’s 90th Academy Awards (the Oscars for 2017’s films) (winners indicated)

Mon Mar 05 2018, 04:55am | 9 comments

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts 2018 (90th Academy Awards) review

Mon Mar 05 2018, 12:15am | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts 2018 (90th Academy Awards) review

Sun Mar 04 2018, 07:53pm | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts 2018 (90th Academy Awards) review

Sun Mar 04 2018, 03:06pm | 3 comments

A Fantastic Woman movie review: the horror of grief denied

Fri Mar 02 2018, 12:43pm | 0 comments

Icarus documentary review: on athletes’ compromised wings

Wed Feb 28 2018, 10:18pm | 1 comment

I’m on BBC World Service’s “The Arts Hour” again this Sunday, March 4th

Wed Feb 28 2018, 05:26pm | 3 comments

November movie review: the woods are just trees, the trees are just wood

Fri Feb 23 2018, 03:39pm | 4 comments

Darkest Hour movie review: a surrender to open-and-shut history

Fri Jan 12 2018, 04:26pm | 18 comments

things Hollywood men could have said at the Golden Globes

Tue Jan 09 2018, 10:00pm | 6 comments

The Fencer (Miekkailija) movie review: en garde against yourself

Thu Nov 30 2017, 10:28pm | 4 comments

at the 20th anniversary of ‘Titanic,’ where are all the knockoffs?

Wed Nov 29 2017, 05:08pm | 10 comments

A Murder in Mansfield documentary review: a reconciliation with tragedy (#DOCNYC2017)

Mon Nov 13 2017, 09:25pm | 0 comments

Home Again movie review: imitation of life

Wed Sep 27 2017, 06:41pm | 2 comments

My Pure Land movie review: meet a real-life heroine in a land that really doesn’t want her

Thu Sep 14 2017, 08:21pm | 1 comment

Terminator 2: Judgment Day 3D movie review: he said he’d be back…

Tue Aug 29 2017, 01:20pm | 2 comments

My Life as a Zucchini (aka My Life as a Courgette) movie review: nutritious, filling, and delicious

Mon Mar 06 2017, 12:10pm | 0 comments

highlights from #Oscars2017

Mon Feb 27 2017, 10:38pm | 0 comments

my picks for tonight’s 89th Academy Awards (the Oscars for 2016’s films)

Mon Feb 27 2017, 05:10am | 17 comments

Oscar Nominated Live Action Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Thu Feb 23 2017, 06:09pm | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 20 2017, 04:46pm | 0 comments

curated: free outdoor screening of ‘The Salesman’ in London on Feb 26th

Thu Feb 16 2017, 04:09pm | 0 comments

curated: time to get #HollywoodSoMale trending

Thu Feb 16 2017, 04:03pm | 0 comments

curated: Hollywood talent agency ditches its Oscar party to donate $250k to ACLU

Thu Feb 09 2017, 08:04pm | 1 comment

curated: ‘Hidden Figures’ is now the year’s top-grossing Oscar nominee

Tue Feb 07 2017, 01:45pm | 2 comments

20th Century Women movie review: sometimes it’s hard to be a woman

Tue Feb 07 2017, 12:49pm | 1 comment

Oscar Nominated Documentary Shorts (89th Academy Awards) review

Mon Feb 06 2017, 06:42pm | 0 comments

The Salesman movie review: marriage, Iranian style

Wed Feb 01 2017, 04:16pm | 2 comments

curated: Trump’s Muslim ban will keep Asghar Farhadi from attending Oscars

Sat Jan 28 2017, 08:47pm | 6 comments

Gold movie review: this mine is tapped out

Wed Jan 25 2017, 12:49pm | 0 comments

Sully movie review: he’s good people (and so is everyone else)

Fri Dec 02 2016, 06:24pm | 7 comments

Moonlight movie review: the empathy machine in action (but only if you’re watching)

Wed Nov 16 2016, 04:44pm | 25 comments

Before the Flood documentary review: DiCaprio takes celebrity climate-change advocacy to a new level (#LFF2016)

Wed Nov 02 2016, 12:54pm | 0 comments

I, Daniel Blake movie review: this is our shame

Tue Oct 25 2016, 12:05pm | 2 comments

#LFF2016: Ma’ Rosa, Pyromaniac, All This Panic

Thu Sep 29 2016, 02:24pm | 0 comments

Hell or High Water movie review: there will be blood

Tue Sep 13 2016, 04:35pm | 10 comments

Ben-Hur movie review: it’s fine, everything is fine

Fri Sep 09 2016, 02:38pm | 9 comments

War Dogs movie review: sob havoc over this gun fun run

Wed Aug 17 2016, 11:58am | 6 comments

from Facebook: the new AMPAS members are only a small step in the right direction

Thu Jun 30 2016, 08:32pm | 0 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest