Quantcast
your £$ support needed

part of a small rebellion | by maryann johanson

curated: writers and musicians are being denied visas for professional visits to the UK

Thu Aug 09 2018, 02:01pm | 0 comments

curated: was an unidentified Cape Cop murder victim an extra in ‘Jaws’?

Tue Aug 07 2018, 08:25pm | 0 comments

curated: as long as Hollywood is dominated by white men…

Thu Aug 02 2018, 10:19pm | 0 comments

curated: racist science fiction and Donald Trump

Tue Jul 31 2018, 04:29pm | 3 comments

curated: vampire capitalists are killing journalism

Tue Jul 24 2018, 10:25pm | 4 comments

curated: NPR erases the work of a woman journalist… in a story about her work

Fri Jul 13 2018, 08:01am | 6 comments

curated: the con artist impersonating the (few) powerful women of Hollywood

Thu Jul 12 2018, 10:23pm | 0 comments

curated: Brie Larson wants more diverse film critics; white dudes unhappy

Thu Jun 14 2018, 02:18pm | 7 comments

curated: even when women film critics exist, we’re ignored by gatekeepers

Mon Jun 11 2018, 06:46pm | 3 comments

curated: horrible “fans” hound Kelly Marie Tran off Instagram

Tue Jun 05 2018, 11:51am | 5 comments

curated: Lando Calrissian, space vlogger

Fri Jun 01 2018, 05:47pm | 0 comments

curated: now I *really* want to see Lord & Miller’s Han Solo movie

Sun May 27 2018, 07:40pm | 4 comments

curated: ‘Show Dogs’ gets recut following complaints it helps pedophiles

Fri May 25 2018, 12:36pm | 2 comments

curated: has the Internet killed cultural criticism?

Sat May 12 2018, 09:03pm | 14 comments

curated: how the Hollywood old boys’ club gets perpetuated

Wed May 09 2018, 08:31pm | 2 comments

curated: the propaganda films that served Britain well in WWII are hurting in the Brexit era

Wed May 09 2018, 03:03pm | 5 comments

curated: the best should-be meme you’ll see today starring Tilda Swinton and Mads Mikkelsen

Mon Apr 30 2018, 12:16pm | 0 comments

curated: on the diversity of fans, Part 7,862,971, Marvel Edition

Sat Apr 28 2018, 10:00am | 0 comments

curated: the proposed TV interview show for men taken down by #MeToo

Thu Apr 26 2018, 08:34am | 2 comments

curated: based-on-fact movie replaces real-life woman hero with invented idiot man protagonist

Wed Apr 11 2018, 11:22am | 2 comments

curated: the implosion of Channel Awesome

Mon Apr 02 2018, 02:11pm | 64 comments

curated: why we need more female film critics, part 54,335

Sat Mar 31 2018, 04:51pm | 0 comments

curated: Claire Foy paid less than her male costar on ‘The Crown’

Wed Mar 14 2018, 10:48am | 3 comments

curated: a group of women buy The Weinstein Company (updated)

Wed Mar 07 2018, 09:47am | 1 comment

curated: time to sweep the bad movies out of Hollywood, along with the bad men

Mon Mar 05 2018, 03:07pm | 7 comments

curated: how the new members of the Academy are changing the Oscars

Mon Mar 05 2018, 03:05pm | 0 comments

curated: what it took to get the ballet stuff right in ‘Red Sparrow’

Mon Mar 05 2018, 03:03pm | 0 comments

curated: can Paramount be trusted to find its own ass? (a contemplation on the strange release of ‘Annihilation’)

Fri Mar 02 2018, 02:51pm | 27 comments

curated: funny how people object to ‘Call Me by Your Name’s age gap when they let these straight romances slide

Thu Mar 01 2018, 11:12am | 0 comments

curated: the importance of ‘Black Panther’s commentary on museums and colonialism

Sat Feb 24 2018, 08:05pm | 0 comments

curated: Tess Raser’s “Wakanda Curriculum” for middle-schoolers (and everyone else)

Thu Feb 22 2018, 05:46pm | 5 comments

BAFTA 2018 winners announced

Mon Feb 19 2018, 01:39pm | 1 comment

curated: the fake Crocodile Dundee sequel trailers are how you do viral marketing in 2018

Mon Feb 05 2018, 01:57pm | 1 comment

curated: ‘Saving Private Ryan’ with all the men edited out

Thu Jan 18 2018, 01:28pm | 4 comments

curated: Star Wars actors mock fan who recut film to remove women

Wed Jan 17 2018, 08:06pm | 0 comments

curated: meet Leia Skywalker and Prince Luke

Tue Jan 16 2018, 10:20pm | 0 comments

curated: the ‘Last Jedi’ fan edit that eliminates the women

Mon Jan 15 2018, 11:49pm | 11 comments

curated: White House journalists need to start burning bridges like Michael Wolff did

Thu Jan 11 2018, 03:58pm | 2 comments

curated: Hollywood dudes now just flat out admitting they don’t know the difference between sex and violence

Wed Jan 10 2018, 08:24pm | 1 comment

curated: what the men didn’t say at the Golden Globes

Tue Jan 09 2018, 06:06pm | 0 comments

curated: the underlying reason for all those vague male complaints about ‘The Last Jedi’

Tue Jan 09 2018, 06:03pm | 2 comments

curated: women are making absolutely zero progress in Hollywood

Fri Jan 05 2018, 01:08pm | 0 comments

curated: women in Hollywood are doing “disaster feminism”

Wed Jan 03 2018, 11:56am | 0 comments

curated: Star Trek Continues E11: “To Boldly Go: Part II” (the last one ever)

Mon Jan 01 2018, 06:10pm | 0 comments

curated: what if Kevin in ‘Home Alone’ is actually dead?

Thu Dec 28 2017, 02:41pm | 2 comments

curated: why Vice Admiral Holdo is so important a character

Fri Dec 22 2017, 01:30pm | 4 comments

curated: stories matter

Thu Dec 21 2017, 02:17pm | 2 comments

curated: online critics pick ‘Get Out’ as best film of 2017 in HeyUGuys poll

Wed Dec 20 2017, 12:19pm | 0 comments

curated: ‘The Room’ is getting a wide release in the US

Tue Dec 19 2017, 04:37pm | 1 comment

curated: somehow, spinster Jane Austen was able to imagine marriage

Mon Dec 18 2017, 12:59pm | 4 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest