Quantcast
become a Patreon patron

rare female film critic | by maryann johanson

curated: going to the theater sounds as bad as going to the movies these days…

Wed Aug 14 2019, 04:10pm | 0 comments

curated: we are the frogs slowly boiling in a soup of hatred and lack of compassion

Sun Jul 28 2019, 05:29pm | 0 comments

curated: Natalie Portman announced as Thor, and the manbaby fanboys are freaking out

Sun Jul 21 2019, 09:47pm | 0 comments

curated: bonding over movies is in our genes

Fri Jul 19 2019, 09:02pm | 0 comments

herewith the ‘Cats’ trailer, because OMG

Fri Jul 19 2019, 04:08am | 0 comments

curated: “The Dominance of the White Male Critic”

Sat Jul 06 2019, 02:11pm | 0 comments

curated: Mark Rylance quits Royal Shakespeare Company over BP sponsorship

Sun Jun 23 2019, 06:28pm | 0 comments

curated: fundie Christians demand Netflix cancel Amazon Prime’s Good Omens

Thu Jun 20 2019, 01:56pm | 0 comments

curated: an all-male creative team for a Bene Gesserit TV series?

Sat Jun 15 2019, 10:41pm | 0 comments

the dystopia is here, part 2

Sat Jun 15 2019, 04:00pm | 0 comments

the dystopia is here

Thu Jun 13 2019, 02:08pm | 0 comments

curated: how has no one made a movie about Aloha Wanderwell yet?!

Fri May 24 2019, 08:11pm | 0 comments

curated: always be nyuk-nyuk-ing Nazis

Wed May 22 2019, 09:10pm | 0 comments

curated: were the works attributed to Shakespeare written by a woman?

Mon May 13 2019, 03:36pm | 0 comments

curated: a brief history of spoilers

Fri May 03 2019, 02:08pm | 0 comments

curated: explaining Captain Marvel’s vitally important, gamechanging character arc

Fri Apr 05 2019, 11:00am | 0 comments

curated: toys of Japanese monsters giving press conferences to apologize for destroying cities

Wed Mar 13 2019, 11:16am | 0 comments

curated: White Savior: The Movie Trailer

Wed Mar 13 2019, 10:49am | 0 comments

curated: the arts contribute more to the US economy than agriculture or transportation

Wed Mar 13 2019, 10:06am | 0 comments

curated: all worldbuilding is political…

Fri Mar 01 2019, 09:49am | 0 comments

curated: Emma Thompson’s powerful #MeToo letter to Skydance re John Lasseter’s “second chance”

Tue Feb 26 2019, 01:04pm | 0 comments

curated: it’s not only *digital* journalism that the free market kills…

Mon Feb 04 2019, 01:42pm | 0 comments

curated: YouTube bans videos showing dangerous pranks and stunts

Thu Jan 17 2019, 02:06pm | 0 comments

curated: the da Vinci money-laundering scam to benefit Trump that will make a great movie

Tue Jan 08 2019, 02:09pm | 0 comments

curated: Trump’s misunderstanding of ‘Game of Thrones’ is totally emblematic of our culture today

Mon Jan 07 2019, 04:51pm | 0 comments

curated: “What It’s Like to Be a Female Movie Critic in the #MeToo Era”

Wed Jan 02 2019, 01:47pm | 0 comments

behold 20th Century Fox’s brand-new Christmas trailer… for ‘Die Hard’

Wed Dec 19 2018, 12:20pm | 0 comments

curated: the #MeToo scandal surrounding Geoffrey Rush

Tue Dec 18 2018, 08:58pm | 0 comments

curated: “Using data to determine if Die Hard is a Christmas movie”

Tue Dec 18 2018, 10:54am | 0 comments

curated: long-lost Kit Harington/Toothless audition tapes surface

Fri Dec 14 2018, 09:21am | 0 comments

curated: ‘Die Hard’ IS a Christmas movie

Fri Dec 14 2018, 09:11am | 0 comments

curated: “Movies Starring Women Earn More Than Male-Led Films”

Wed Dec 12 2018, 12:06pm | 0 comments

curated: Rose Macaulay, author, influenced Orwell and Huxley, forgotten and erased

Mon Dec 10 2018, 10:00am | 0 comments

curated: teaching cinema in the age of #MeToo

Fri Nov 30 2018, 11:28am | 0 comments

curated: Jodie Whittaker is getting paid the same as the male Doctors

Sun Oct 07 2018, 12:42pm | 5 comments

curated: contemplating ‘The Good Place’…

Sun Oct 07 2018, 12:40pm | 3 comments

curated: writers and musicians are being denied visas for professional visits to the UK

Thu Aug 09 2018, 02:01pm | 2 comments

curated: was an unidentified Cape Cod murder victim an extra in ‘Jaws’?

Tue Aug 07 2018, 08:25pm | 1 comment

curated: as long as Hollywood is dominated by white men…

Thu Aug 02 2018, 10:19pm | 0 comments

curated: racist science fiction and Donald Trump

Tue Jul 31 2018, 04:29pm | 10 comments

curated: vampire capitalists are killing journalism

Tue Jul 24 2018, 10:25pm | 4 comments

curated: NPR erases the work of a woman journalist… in a story about her work

Fri Jul 13 2018, 08:01am | 6 comments

curated: the con artist impersonating the (few) powerful women of Hollywood

Thu Jul 12 2018, 10:23pm | 0 comments

curated: Brie Larson wants more diverse film critics; white dudes unhappy

Thu Jun 14 2018, 02:18pm | 7 comments

curated: even when women film critics exist, we’re ignored by gatekeepers

Mon Jun 11 2018, 06:46pm | 3 comments

curated: horrible “fans” hound Kelly Marie Tran off Instagram

Tue Jun 05 2018, 11:51am | 5 comments

curated: Lando Calrissian, space vlogger

Fri Jun 01 2018, 05:47pm | 0 comments

curated: now I *really* want to see Lord & Miller’s Han Solo movie

Sun May 27 2018, 07:40pm | 4 comments

curated: ‘Show Dogs’ gets recut following complaints it helps pedophiles

Fri May 25 2018, 12:36pm | 2 comments

curated: has the Internet killed cultural criticism?

Sat May 12 2018, 09:03pm | 14 comments

   see all recent posts

Pin It on Pinterest