AWFJ 2018 EDA Awards winners announced

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists — of which I am a member — has announced the winners of its 2018 EDA Awards. Links here go to my reviews, with reviews to come for most if not all those I haven’t yet reviewed. (I have a lot of writing to do!)

Our most honored films are Roma (five awards), The Favourite (four awards), and Can You Ever Forgive Me? (three awards).

The winners (and nominees) are:


These awards are presented to women and/or men without gender consideration.

Best Film: Roma
other nominees:
The Favourite
Green Book
Leave No Trace

Best Director: Alfonso Cuaron – Roma
other nominees:
Debra Granik – Leave No Trace
Yorgos Lanthimos – The Favourite
Spike Lee – BlacKkKlansman
Adam McKay – Vice

Best Screenplay, Original: The Favourite – Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara
other nominees:
Eighth Grade – Bo Burnham
First Reformed – Paul Schrader
Roma – Alfonso Cuaron
Vice – Adam McKay

Best Screenplay, Adapted: Can You Ever Forgive Me? – Nicole Holofcener, Jeff White
other nominees:
Black Panther – Ryan Coogler, Joe Robert
BlacKkKlansman – Charlie Wachtel, David Rabinowitz, Spike Lee
The Hate U Give – Audrey Wells
If Beale Street Could Talk – Barry Jenkins
Leave No Trace – Debra Granik, Anne Rossellini

Best Documentary: Won’t You Be My Neighbor? – Morgan Neville
other nominees:
Free Solo – Elizabeth Chai Vasarheliyi, Jimmy Chin
Liyana – Amanda Kopp, Aaron Kopp
RBG – Julie Cohen, Betsy West
Shirkers – Sandi Tan
Three Identical Strangers – Tim Wardle

Best Animated Film: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse – Bob Perischerri, Peter Ramsay, Rodney Rothman
other nominees:
Incredibles 2 – Brad Bird
Isle of Dogs – Wes Anderson
Mary and the Witch’s Flower – Hiromasa Yonebayashi, Giles New
Ralph Breaks the Internet – Phil Johnson, Rick Moore
Smallfoot – Karey Kirkpatrick, Jason Reisig

Best Actress: Olivia Colman – The Favourite
other nominees:
Yalitza Aparacio – Roma
Glenn Close – The Wife
Viola Davis – Widows
Lady Gaga – A Star Is Born
Melissa McCarthy – Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Regina King – If Beale Street Could Talk
other nominees:
Amy Adams – Vice
Claire Foy – First Man
Thomasin McKenzie – Leave No Trace
Emma Stone – The Favourite
Rachel Weisz – The Favourite

Best Actor: Ethan Hawke – First Reformed
other nominees:
Christian Bale – Vice
Willem Dafoe – At Eternity’s Gate
Ben Foster – Leave No Trace
Rami Malek – Bohemian Rhapsody
Viggo Mortensen – Green Book

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Richard E. Grant – Can You Ever Forgive Me?
other nominees:
Mahershala Ali – Green Book
Steve Carell – Vice
Adam Driver – BlacKkKlansman
Hugh Grant – Paddington 2
Michael B. Jordan – Black Panther

Best Ensemble Cast: Black Panther – Sarah Finn, casting director
other nominees:
BlacKkKlansman – Kim Coleman, casting director
Crazy Rich Asians – Terry Taylor, casting director
The Favourite – Dixie Chassay, casting director
If Beale Street Could Talk – Cindy Tolan, casting director
Vice – Francine Maisler, casting director

Best Cinematography: Roma – Alfonso Cuaron
other nominees:
Black Panther – Rachel Morrison
The Favourite – Robbie Ryan
First Man – Linus Sandgren
If Beale Street Could Talk – James Laxton

Best Editing: Roma – Alfonso Cuaron, Adam Gough
other nominees:
Black Panther – Debbie Berman, Michael P Shawver
The Favourite – Yorgos Mavropsaridis
Vice – Hank Corwin
Widows – Joe Walker

Best Non-English-Language Film: Roma – Alfonso Cuaron, Mexico
other nominees:
Burning – Lee Chang-dong, Korea
Capernaum – Nadine Labiki, Lebanon
Cold War – Pawel Pawlikowski, Poland
Shoplifters – Hirokazu Kore-eda Japan


These awards honor women only.

Best Woman Director: Marielle Heller – Can You Ever Forgive Me?
other nominees:
Elizabeth Chomko – What They Had
Debra Granik – Leave No Trace
Tamara Jenkins – Private Life
Karyn Kusama – Destroyer
Nadine Labiki – Capernaum
Rungano Nyoni – I Am Not a Witch
Sally Potter – The Party
Lynn Ramsay – You Were Never Really Here
Chloe Zhao – The Rider

Best Woman Screenwriter: Deborah Davis – The Favourite (with Tony McNamara)
other nominees:
Diablo Cody – Tully
Debra Granik and Anne Rossellini – Leave No Trace
Nicole Holofcener – Can You Ever Forgive Me? (with Jeff Whitty)
Tamara Jenkins – Private Life
Lynne Ramsay – You Were Never Really Here
Audrey Wells – The Hate U Give
Chloe Zhao – The Rider

Best Animated Female: Elastagirl, Incredibles 2, Holly Hunter
other nominees:
Gwen Stacy, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, Hailee Steinfeld
Meechee, Smallfoot, Zendaya
Tracy Walker, Isle of Dogs, Greta Gerwig
Vanellope, Ralph Breaks the Internet, Sarah Silverman

Best Breakthrough Performance: Thomasin McKenzie – Leave No Trace
other nominees:
Yalitza Aparacio – Roma
Elsie Fisher – Eighth Grade
KiKi Layne – If Beale Street Could Talk
Letitia Wright – Black Panther

Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Film Industry: Rachel Morrison for paving the road for women cinematographers with her Oscar nomination for Mudbound and scoring as DP on Black Panther
other nominees:
• 82 women who stood on the Palais des Festivals steps at the Cannes Film Festival to protest gender inequality in festival programming
• Ava DuVernay for hiring women filmmakers for Queen Sugar and other projects
• Megan Ellison for challenging the status quo and producing projects by unique and diverse voices
• Nicole Kidman for a banner year of performances in Destroyer, Boy Erased and Aquaman, and for opening opportunity or women in production
• Shondra Rhimes, Reese Witherspoon and all the women speaking out in the #MeToo movement


Actress Defying Age and Ageism: Viola Davis – Widows
other nominees:
Glenn Close – The Wife
Nicole Kidman – Destroyer
Sissy Spacek – The Old Man & the Gun
Tea with the Dames – Eileen Atkins, Judi Dench, Joan Plowright, Maggie Smith

Bravest Performance: Olivia Colman – The Favourite
other nominees:
Toni Collette – Hereditary
Viola Davis – Widows
Nicole Kidman – Destroyer
Melissa McCarthy – Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Charlize Theron – Tully
Mary Elizabeth Winstead – All About Nina

Actress Most in Need of a New Agent: Jennifer Lawrence – Red Sparrow
other nominees:
Anna Faris – Overboard
Jennifer Garner – Peppermint
Dakota Johnson – Fifty Shades Freed
Melissa McCarthy – everything except Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Amy Schumer – I Feel Pretty

Most Egregious Age Difference Between the Lead and the Love Interest Award: Mission: Impossible – Fallout – Rebecca Ferguson and Tom Cruise
other nominees:
Mandy – Andrea Riseborough and Nicolas Cage
Overboard – Anna Faris and Eugenio Derbez
Red Sparrow – Jennifer Lawrence and Joel Edgerton
Siberia – Ana Ularu and Keanu Reeves

Remake or Sequel That Shouldn’t Have Been Made: Overboard
other nominees:
Fifty Shades Freed
The Predator
Robin Hood

AWFJ Hall of Shame Award: alleged abusers Weinstein, Moonves, CK, Rush, Franco, Singer, Rose, Lauer, et al
other nominees:
Fifty Shades Freed
The Happytime Murders
Red Sparrow

share and enjoy
If you haven’t commented here before, your first comment will be held for MaryAnn’s approval. This is an anti-spam, anti-troll measure. If you’re not a spammer or a troll, your comment will be approved, and all your future comments will post immediately.
notify of
Inline Feedbacks
view all comments